We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #84 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here overnight after a short run down from Orlando my wife and kids loved it my oldest said its the best shower he had ever been in staff were helpful dinner was good and happy hour for residents free drink can't be bad would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    1,293
    653
    350
    516
See reviews for
488
1,388
357
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Miami and were happy we chose the Catalina again! The staff is always very friendly and helpful! It's very clean and the food is great. We love the roof top pool and couldn't believe how helpful everyone was from offering cold water, to sunscreen and fresh towels after a swim! The lounge chairs on the beach were very comfortable as well! We really can't complain at all about the stay! I have already recommended the Catalina to many friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Julie D,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback for all of our guests to read! I am very glad that you had an amazing time while staying with us! Our staff provided great service while you were here and that is what we like to hear! Which restaurant did you eat at? Maxine's or Kung Fu? The pool attendants are eager to help you and to provide everything you need to make sure that you enjoy yourself while your hanging out! We can't wait to host your next stay to South Beach!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Catalina is quaint, loud, and fun. But for me, I love the Dorset next door (also managed by the Catalina staff) The rooms and hallways are dark, funky, and cool. The beds are really nice, with memory foam mattresses, and the shower was large enough for two. ~wink~

The location is execellent. You will not need a car.
Also, the hotel provides free lounge chairs on the beach for guests. A nice value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the Dorset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmettoAndMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Carolinafellow,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad that you had a good time while staying with us!! Our decor and style is funky and unique. I am glad that you found out that the shower was large enough for two- *wink wink* :)

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I planned a vacation for my girlfriend on a budget! At first, I planned on taking her to the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia. However, she wanted to go someplace warm! After looking at all of our options I planned a trip to Miami on a budget! I booked the Catalina Hotel. We used their Transfers to and from the airport. This was included in the hotel fees. Once we arrived we were upgraded to a larger room since it was her Birthday! It was the Rock Star Room! Very Nice, it overlooked the tree lined couertyard between two buildings. It had a small balcony as well. Very quiet! We did walk thru their restaurant to get to the elevator to get to our room. We thought it was super cool. The first night we used Tyrelle to book their party bus to Set Club. It was a fixed price per person and included all we could drink for two hours (Great Bartenders Adrian and Chloe!) and VIP entrance to the club. We had a great time! We could walk back to the Hotel as well. The next morning we used the Hotel Bikes to travel the streets of Miami. The bikes were included as well. We found a small boutique hotel The Berkeley. Which had a small Beach Cafe outside and had brunch outside for under $35.00!
We went to the roof top pool for Happy Hour which was included in price of hotel.
The hotel has outside seating to hang out. We enjoyed chilling outside, while I enjoyed a Stoogey. We Ordered a Pizza from Groovey's $14.00 with the works and chilled in the room the rest of the evening! The bedding in the room was super comfortable as well!
We used the bikes the next day as well as the beach chairs also included by the hotel!
The last day we were able to store our luggage so we could enjoy our last day in South Beach! Overall, I'd recommand Catalina Hotel to anyone traveling to Miami! Happy Birthday Baby!

Room Tip: Rock Star Room very big and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryJr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Gregory,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely happy to read that you changed your plans to go to Philly to come to South Beach! Our complimentary shuttle is loved by all of our guests! It's a great money saving service! Tyrell is great and provides great services to all of our guests. Adrian and Chloe are absolutely amazing bartenders! Our beach cruisers are great to use when you want to take your time and see South Beach- and they are FREE. It;s nice to sit outside the hotel and people watch. There's a lot of eye candy out there! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived on the 29th December and stayed till new years day, 3 girls. We very very impressed with the efficiency and the welcoming atmosphere. The staff are helpful, warm friendly and a good laugh. Particularly Tyrell and Jonathan at the front desks who went that extra mile to assist us through out our trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back. Thanks to everyone at Catalina for a great NYE!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Shabz2012,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are very glad that you had a wonderful time while staying with us!! From being greeting by a warm welcome to the service that Tyrell and Jonathan gave you- we are very glad that you would recommend this hotel! We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here from the 18th for a few days prior to christmas. After a long flight from the uk we were collected by their courtesy bus from the airport.


I was quite surprised at check in. I have never stayed at a hotel that took so many security precautions with photocopies of all kinds and deposits for breakages as well as charging for the full cost for the room. The guy at check in was slightly off putting and was not friendly, I even commented that this was usually all done when we check out.

We had 2 rooms and they were in the Maxine part of the building. The lift was off putting and the corridor but the rooms were a pleasant surprise. Very comfortable and clean with modern decor.

Both pools were good but the roof top pool was best with great double loungers and a bar.

The hotel is very close to the beach and you have complimentary loungers but umbrellas are extra. They will even run you there and they also offer free bikes for you to hire.

We ate at Maxine's for breakfast and lunch and the food and service were excellent. Staff could not do enough for us. We ate on ocean drive too but I think Maxine's was much better quality. They had different entertainment each evening. The happy hour was great and we really enjoyed it.

I went to check out around 9 am and what a different experience, the 2 ladies could not have been more polite and helpful. Wish they had been on when we arrived

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzyfish67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Fizzyfish67,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback with us! We are glad that you had a nice stay with us!! I am glad that you had a nice time while staying with us! We apologize that you were not familiar with our check in process. Due to many past experiences with guests we have to take those kinds of safety precautions. Do you remember the name of the front desk agent that was assisting you? I would like to find out why you were not given amazing service by him. We do offer complimentary lounge chairs as the beach, and glad that you were able to take advantage! Maxine does have amazing food, and their service is up to par! Their breakfast tacos are so delicious! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bordello Chic? Nope, just cheap bordello style that's ridiculously over-priced. Comments in other reviews are right:
--VERY unhelpful front desk staff: they promised to call when our room was ready for check-in but never did.
-- We paid for an "executive suite" but got a tacky "accessible" room that smelled of the same disinfectant used in night club VIP rooms. Basically room was dark and smelly.
-- Wifi didn't work in room.
-- Nice rooftop pool area with palapas but ground level pool felt dark and moldy.
-- This place might be fun for lifestyle events, but it's not suitable for tourist/business visits of more than one night. And it's not good for families.
-- Sneaky resort fee added to bill upon check out. RIPOFF!

Room Tip: stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Raherold,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback! I am sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us!!! I apologize greatly that the front desk did not call you when your room was ready. Do you remember the agent that was assisting you with your check- in? I would like to find out why your request was not fulfilled. Did you call the front desk in regards to the WiFi not working in your room. Perhaps it was an issue with your computer and our password setting. We like to give our guests the options to enjoy both ambiances of the pool. Our rooftop pool is for those who would like to enjoy the sun and catch some rays and our bamboo pool is for those who want to relax and take a swim. We offer the best of both worlds. We cater to all kinds of guests from families, to couples, to the single party goers, etc. We are sorry that the hotel was not fit for you. Our resort fee is stated at the point of check in. It includes all of the amenities that you like to enjoy- R/T shuttle, cocktail hour, beach chairs, beach cruisers, etc.

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing