We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$328
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $309/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$270
$209
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$279
$224
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$249
$233
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (5,003)
Filter reviews
5,003 results
Traveler rating
1,848
1,451
736
383
585
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,848
1,451
736
383
585
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourrooftop poolmaxine buildingkung fusouth beachfree drinkssushi restaurantfree shuttlefree beach chairsbachelorette partylincoln roadocean driveart decodorsetmaxinesmiamibartender
Filter
Updating list...
2,703 - 2,708 of 5,003 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a little get-away without the kids. I am six months pregnant, so rest was somewhat important to me. We also wanted a location within walking distance to all the main attractions.

Catalina had an amazing deal that week and we booked it. The location is perfect - within walking distance to Lincoln, California and Espaniola Way - good pedestrian streets. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to several sister-hotel locations on the South Beach strip. Additionally, they offer a shuttle service to the airport, which came in handy.

We got lucky and ended up in the Dorset building of the hotel. Our room was D105 - the last one to the right of the bar. It was away from all the noise. If you are traveling with children and need to be away from the noise, ask for the room around that area.

The decor is minimal and functional. The rooms are furnished with a contemporary IKEA feel; nothing too fancy. Don't expect any expensive furniture or an executive look - these rooms are very basic. We couldn't really open the window curtains because our window faced another hotel room. Our room had a separate bathroom and a walk-in shower. Although the renovations were done, the bathroom felt really old. Shower was very spacious. Counter space for the sink was not huge.

The hotel has 2 pools: we laid out on the roof of the Dorset building one day, which had nice pool-side beds. There is also beach access. You can get beach cards and towels at the downstairs bamboo pool. Beware, you can get longe chairs on the beach, but umbrellas and tents will cost you extra.

There is a happy hour 7-8 at the hotel (all bars). They only include vodka and rum with all the mixers. You can't get anything fancy, but can sit down for a drink before dinner. The restaurants to the hotel also have some happy hour snacks. All three hotel restaurants had very poor reviews on Yelp so we didn't eat at any of them.

Staff is extremely courteous and friendly. We always got good service. The concierge was very helpful as well.

There are a few nice eateries around the hotel - there is a french cafe 2 blocks north on Collins with the most amazing baked goods. There is also a small coffee shop in the loby, but we never ordered from there.

Room Tip: Dorset building room D105 was very quiet - away from all the noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Good Afternoon A S,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful extensive feedback for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you chose to stay with us on your getaway! Our location is prime! We are in the middle of all of the action- yet far enough to get a great nights rest! Our amenities are loved by all of our guests! The complimentary R/T shuttle is a money saver- and who doesn't like to save money! Both of our pools are great! The rooftop pool is great if you want to enjoy the Florida sun and get a tan and the bamboo pool is great after a long day in the sun- to just go and lounge around with the nice breeze that passes through. Our complimentary cocktail hour is also one of our guests favorites! It's a great way to mingle and get to know your neighbors. We would of hoped that you would have given our restaurants a try. They offer a wide variety of things to chose from. We are very glad to read that you were given the great service that you deserve!! We would hope to have you stay with us again, on your next getaway to South Beach!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

cheap place and it reflects. looks shady and there were small bugs flying/walking around in the bathroom. you have to get into another building close by named maxine and walk through a bar and an old elevator to get to your room.. loud and just don't feel good. if you are travelling with family, not recommended. if you are travelling with someone you don't care, and just spend the night, go for it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coder888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Hello Coder888,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am sorry that you experienced little bugs in your bathroom. Did you inform the front desk or the manager about the incident? If so, do you remember who you spoke with? We are a 3 building hotel and depending on the room type that you booked determines which building you will be in.

Happy New Year!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I thought the catalina was a perfect setting for our introduction to miami.
close to all amenities - all in walking distance, great rooftop pool (the lower bamboo pool was a little disappointing), great service from the staff in the bar/restaurant and a superb selection of drinks in the happy hour! :)

the only fault I can think of is, as mentioned, the lower bamboo pool as it felt a little neglected. the sun couldn't get through the tree canopy which meant no sunbathing and no pool time! - it was far too cold with no pool heating and no sun!)
the lift/corridor areas between the guest rooms were in need of a little TLC too.

other than that, great place! I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenfriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Good Afternoon Helenfriar,

Thank you for posting your wonderful feedback for our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that your stay was perfect!!! I see that you enjoyed it all, from the rooftop pool, to the amenities that we offer, to the service. We want our guests to be able to enjoy the best of both pools. Some guests want to enjoy the sun while they are in the pool and other want to have more shade. I am sorry that the ground floor pool wasn't your style.

We hope to see you soon!

Happy New Year!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel for all ages. Stayed here with my girlfriend, brother and parents and we all had a great time. The rooftop pool is superb and a sun trap! The bamboo pool isn't as good but could see its use when the temperature gets up!
The food available at Maxine's is great and real value considering the other restaurants nearby.
The section of beach is also really great. It's 5 mins walk and there's also a buggy ride to get there is you don't fancy it.
The only complaint is the distance to ocean drive, it's a good 20 mins walk but this hotel is superb!
Also the free drinks 7-8 is great!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as value for money and a great laugh before heading out

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Hello Stuart,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! The Catalina is a place for all ages. We have many families, couples, singles, business people, etc come to stay here. The rooftop pool is a great place to hangout and catch some rays. The bamboo pool is also great. It all depends on what you are looking for. Some people want to take a dip in the pool with less sun around, others only want sun. So we offer the best of both worlds. :) Maxine's food is delicious! They have such a huge menu to choose from- and you can never go wrong. Everything is just so tasty! I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities!! All of our guests seem to love those. We hope to see you soon!

Happy New Year!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

For price 54$ you get clean room with fresh towels. ( in our room we had 8 towels)
Nice pool on the roof.I do not recommended room on first floor, very noisy and smells like sushi.
Great location. Parking lot is not free. 32 $

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odavidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Hello Odavidov,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!!! I am very glad to read that you had a nice time while staying with us! Our location is great and all of our guests love it. We are in the middle of it all. We do offer valet parking to our guests at $32 per night with as many in's and out's as you'd like. Valet parking is not mandatory. There are several lots, garages and street parking as well. We would hope to be able to host your next visit to South Beach!

Happy New Year!!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews