We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalina Hotel Miami Beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #91 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went to the Catalina Hotel in Miami Florida Dec 14-18 and I had such a wonderful experience!! Its 3 hotels and we stayed in the Maxine Bistro. The rooms are a decent size and the location is amazing!! Right in walking distance to everything!! There were so many perks including a free happy hour at all 3 of the hotels from 7-8,free bike rentals, free beach towels and 2 free beach chairs. They had a party bus that came each night and took you (for a small fee) to one of the hottest clubs that night. Our last night we went to the rootop bar where we met the coolest bartender/person we had met the entire trip named Keith. He was very personable and made us feel so comfortable. The pool guy George was very helpful too when we needed to get things for the beach. Overall the stay was amazing, the only down side was the paying to park overnight. For the location though I guess that's the norm. Will def be coming back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spring W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hello Spring W,

We are very pleased that you chose to share your feedback with us! We are very glad to read that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us!! We are definitely walking distance from everything, and it's very convenient for our guests. I am very glad to read that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful amenities!! Keith is such a wonderful asset to our team! He knows how to make our guests trip memorable! And he makes really delicious cocktails! I will let both him and George know of your kind praise! We hope that we can host your stay again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,684)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,455 - 2,461 of 4,684 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Catalina for a weekend to meet our friends and celebrate a birthday. We loved the look and the feel of the hotel. It is in the perfect location and close to everything. We got the El Grande room and it was fantastic, especially for a South Beach hotel where you would expect small rooms. The room was big like the name would imply. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. Eat at the sushi bar and make sure to order the rock shrimp before heading out. Great valet team also. Well done Catalina!!!!
- Ryan

Room Tip: Get the EL Grande room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaFox24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hello SeaFox24,

Your feedback is so greatly appreciated! I am very glad to read that you thought that The Catalina is an awesome place to stay! We are glad that you chose to stay with us for your weekend getaway! Our location is great! In the heart of South Beach, yet far enough to sleep tight! Our El Grande rooms are very spacious and comfortable! The rock shrimp at Kung Fu Kitchen & Sushi is absolutely amazing! So yummmy!!! We would hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had such a great experience at the Catalina! Everyone who worked there was so helpful and nice. I also really enjoyed the rooftop pool!!! The food and drinks were amazing and the service was impeccable. If you like to just have a relaxed weekend, you can shop at the Lincoln Road Mall outdoor shops down the street and go to the beach or pool. OR if you like a night of partying, you can go to the best night clubs in the world on Collins Ave or Washington Ave and then go to the Catalina's 24 hour restaurant before you go to sleep. I'm going to stay here every time I go to South Beach! Love this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hello Lisa,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad that you had such a great experience while staying with us! Our staff works really hard to give each and every guest the service that they deserve. Our rooftop pool is such a wonderful place to go up and catch some rays while sipping on a delicious cocktail! We love to hear about our returning guests! We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived at the Catalina hotel with an infant. We had no idea this is NOT the type of place you want to bring children to. The check in was incredibly slow, the hallways dirty. And we had no idea that there would be a loud party going on until 2AM the first night (a Sunday!) and midnight the second night. The music was so loud it felt like we were blasting music in our own room! This place is perfect if you want to party, but not if you are a young family. The only nice things are the p,ace was the super friendly concierge and bar tender.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoJsandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Good Afternoon TwoJsandR,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! I am extremely sorry to read that you didn't have an amazing time while staying with us! I am very sorry that the check in process took a little longer then expected. I will let the front desk manager know about the noise that you experienced while you were with us. Do you remember the name of the Concierge and the bartender that provided excellent service?

Have a wonderful weekend!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Arrived there around 3 am in the morning after being behind the wheel for 9 hours. I was wrecked and i even mentioned that to the girl behind the desk. She could not care less, and her movements were slow motion, did i just not told her im absolutely exhausted? Was tempted to ask if she is doing that on purpose.
Good value? Thats what we thought until they charged us 64 dollars for parking a car for two days. On the receipt that i got for parking they mentioned that they are not responsible if my car is broken into, stolen, damaged etc etc. So all they they are responsible of is ripping people off.
Room? Brothel.
The minute i stepped int that room i thought there must be some kind of mistake. The sealing was painted red, the walls were white and in the middle of the room was big hideous red lamp that glowed horrible dull red light. Windows? Yes, if you can consider those small holes under the sealing windows. View was great too, was able to see what other guests on the other side were doing. TV was from last century and for some reason was put somewhere under the sealing as well. Very very cheap. I was sure im gonna hear people having one night stands in the next room. I felt i was gonna spend the night in brothel. Shower was cold, and only after 10 minutes when i was done the warm water started to come.
After the horrible first impression i tried to calm down, after all its cheap and it serves its point. All i need is good night sleep after that long drive. Around 8 or 9 am in the morning i heard noises coming from second floor, jumping and banging. And they continued till 11. So idea about getting a good rest was gone as well. When I went to the customer service and told them i have a long drive tomorrow again and i need my rest can you make sure it will not happen again? She just smiled me her fake smile and told me to call the security if i don't like something.
I wanted to check out straight away but my priority that day was seeing as much of Miami as possible. But still looking back to those two days in Miami i cant help thinking about that horrible Hotel and how much better the whole experience could have been somewhere else.
The rooftop pool? In the evening of the second night we decided to make the best of it and go explore the rooftop pool. they had closed it early cause it was raining outside.
Yes the location is good but believe me if I say there is loads of hotels around that location.
Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fenneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Good Afternoon Fenneki,

Your feedback matters and we are happy that you chose to share it with us! I am terribly sorry to read that you were not given the best service from our front desk attendant at the time of check in! Do you happen to remember her name? If not, what she looked like? In regards to parking, we charge $32 per night per car. We allow you to take the car in and out as many times in a day that you would like. Valet parking is not mandatory but we do offer a great rate. The lots and garages that are around us charge a little less- about $20 or so, but if you want to take your car out you will have to pay $20 each time. The Red ceiling and White walls are The Catalina style. We go for a more unique, funky look and the majority of our guests love it. I am sorry but I don't see that our front desk agent would tell you to call security about the issue with the noise on the second floor. Our security guards do not come in until the night time and all of our staff is well aware of that. All of our guests are here for different purposes. Some come for business, others to party and others to relax. A lot of our guests get excited and eager to explore Miami so at times they might show their excitement. We are sorry that The Catalina was not a hotel fit for you.

Have a great weekend!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is centrally located a street back from the beach. I think its the more elegant part of South Miami. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the happy hour is awesome and the bar tender recommended and mixed some delightful and delicious drinks for us. There is a free airport shuttle as parking is outrageously expensive @ $32 per night. The rooms are clean and the decor is mixed art deco and modern minimalism. Love the atmosphere in the front restaurant, outdoor tables and entertainment. Free wifi also.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hello Barbara,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are conveniently located one block from the beach and from many other things as well- Lincoln Rd, convention center, restaurants, shops, etc. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the service that you received from our staff! Our bartenders are always mixing up new recipes for our guests to sip on! They have some great cocktails! :) Please come back soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just spend 5 nights at the catalina.....great location......the staff were very pleasant .....the peoples maning the front desk were very helpfull and always tried to help you out......i was staying at the maxime building.....the rooms had nothing out of the ordinary,nothing fancy.....but they were clean...with confortable bed......and free wi-fi in the room......basic but acceptable.

The only negative point that i found was the extra $16 a day service charge that they add to your hotel bill....a real money grab if you want my opinion.....unfortunately it seen to be a new trend in sobe......unfortunate. They do rent bicycle for free but the condition of those bikes is so deplorable that it's precarious to ride on them......they could spend some of that service charge on new bikes.

Overall i did enjoy my stay at this hotel....contrary to what other peoples said my room was very quiet....i didn't hear the music coming from the restaurant......beach is 5 minutes away....they do have chair and umbrella free of charge on the beach......

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglenest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hello Eaglenest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad that you chose to stay with us for your 5 night getaway! I am happy to read that you were satisfied with the location of the property as well as with the staff that was serving you! We do charge a $15 resort fee that includes all of the amenities that you like to enjoy- cocktail hour, bikes, beach chairs/towels, shuttle, etc. We have all of our bikes serviced on a weekly basis. The look of the bikes aren't brand new. We replace our bikes when we have bikes that are not able to be fixed. They do stay outside so with the weather they start to not look so good- but they are in great/ safe working condition. Please come back and stay with us again soon! We look forward in hosting you!

Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,277 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,933 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#70 of 210 in Miami Beach
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $99 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing