We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms have character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #86 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The rooms have character”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you like the nightlife this hotel has 2 bars that are open 24/7. Rooms are ok-they have been recently renovated. Thin walls though, can hear voices from other rooms. Bathrooms are very small. Hallways smell musty. Can't tell you a price since I used airline points to purchase it. Only a block or 2 from Lincoln Road mall.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace43526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello Ace,

Thanks for posting your feedback for all guests to read! The Catalina actually has 4 bars, for all of your sipping needs. We also offer complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM at all of them. Were you able to enjoy and sip on some comp cocktails? If so, what bar were you at? I am sorry that you found the hallways to smell musty. We use odor eliminating products daily in all of our hallways. We are also working on changing the carpets in the hallways.
We are conveniently located smack in the middle of everything. Walking distance if not a 5 minute cab ride away from all of the action! :)

Have a wonderful day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    1,323
    660
    356
    529
See reviews for
503
1,424
368
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've done my research and read previous reviews of the Catalina so it came as no surprise to me that our room was small. To be honest though, there really isn't any room to swing a cat in the rooms here!

While the Catalina was clean and compact the room was, um, different given that the ceiling was red and the lampshade red and half way down from the ceiling. I felt like I was staying in a bordello!

The beds (Tempur mattresses, I believe) were comfortable. That said, I don't think that house keeping cleans underneath them that well as my Dad found a spare Panasonic remote control hiding but I guess that is because there is no room for housekeeping to maneouvre. Bizarrely there was a portable AC unit by one of the beds that only worked intermittently so I work up drenched in sweat quite regularly. The room (215) was incredibly small and had a limited view of the pool. This combined with the 'redness' of the room made it all seem very claustrophobic.

The bathroom was clean and had a lovely raincloud shower. The Catalina claims to be an environmentally friendly hotel because of it's sheet/towel changing policy but is happy to waste plenty of water as there isn't a plug in the hand basin in the rooms and toilets in the communal areas.

The hotel does Happy Hour betwen 7pm and 8pm with most drinks being free. The bartender is from London and a real character (black lady with fantastic hair, unsure of her name), you can talk for ages with her. That said, the hotel should take some responsibility for the behaviour of their patrons. 1 girl was comatose in the bar area and 1 man who was clearly on something was allowed to carry on acting in a truly odd manner. The same girl was escorted out by her husband then vomited outside, in front of everybody. The Cockney bar tender gave her a sick bag and sluiced the pavement down. Above and beyond the call of duty in my opinion!

Did I like the Catalina? Yes. It is a quirky, boutique style hotel in a good location. The rooms are a bit odd but again, quirky in a good way. The size is too small but tolerable for 1 night with 3 adults sharing 1 room.

I think this is a lively hotel aimed at the 'clubbing' generation. I would definitely stay here again if it was for a short stay. Anything longer I would choose a different hotel. Miami is a great city with a sexy, European vibe and I would love to visit again.

Tip - Ask for a quiet room as the location of some would be very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as some rooms WILL experience A LOT of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good Morning Esmel,

Thank you for being so kind to post your honest feedback for our future guests to read! I am sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! I am sorry that you found your room to be small. The Catalina offers many different size rooms to accommodate each and every guest. Perhaps the room that you chose was not large enough for you. We only use the best mattresses- Tempur Pedic. All of our guests love them and say that they end up spending more time relaxing in the bed then they would of thought. Did you speak with the front desk or the operator to see if it was possible to change you to another room? If so, who did you speak with? The bartender that you are speaking of is Jade- she is amazing!! All of our guests love the drinks she makes and her eccentric energy! When you decide to come back to The Catalina please let me know! I would love to personally handle your reservation!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently two of my friends and I stayed at The Catalina South Beach (ages 26-27). We were very disappointed when we arrived in our "On a Budget" room to find that it was nothing like the picture with white and red accents, rather, brown tones, with a musty smell, damp sheets, a dirty bathroom, A/C rumbling loud enough to wake you in your sleep and door keys that would not work.
Fortunately, the staff there, specifically Tyrell were more than accommodating, and were ready to make our experience much more enjoyable. We were upgraded to a business suite, and I will say that these rooms are spacious & clean with nice decor and comfortable beds, located in the Dorset Building.
Be aware that there are three seperate buildings to this hotel located beside each other, the Dorset is located to the right and houses the Sushi restaurant as well as the rooftop pool and we felt that this was the best building to be in, the main hotel houses the lobby, the bar where Happy Hour is located, as well as more rooms, and the third building to the left has Maxine's restuarant in it, as well as the Bamboo pool and inside seating to eat/ drink - this was the building that our first room was located in, so stay clear!
Happy Hour is well worth it, the drinks are very strong, and you walk away feeling as though you were really given something for free, the staff seem to enjoy working there, and are very easy to talk to.

The downfall is the area, if you're looking for the South Beach vibe, you wont find it here, the hotels surrounding The Catalina are rundown, and although they look like they were once being renovated they now look abandoned. There is no colour until nightfall when some of the hotels light up but even then we were left wanting more.

The hotel is in walking distance to shopping on Lincoln road, Walgreens, a Liquor Store so this was nice. You can also walk to Ocean Drive which takes about 20 minutes. Once you get to Ocean Drive you feel like you're finally in Miami, this is where you want to party.

Be aware that The Catalina has club promoters working there, and they will try and get you to pay them so they take you to clubs and give you free drinks, Frank is the best promoter but we didn't always get what we were promised, having to move to a different club the first night because the free drinks we were told we'd get was no longer being offered, and clubs dont get busy till after 1, so when you go out around 11 with the promoters you often walk into dead clubs....

Finally, try and plan your trip for a time other than Hurricane Season, we learned the hard way that September does get a lot of rain, and although it didn't ruin the trip entirely, we didn't quite get the hot sunny beach weather everyday that we had planned for!

Room Tip: Rooms located in the Main Building will be the loudest... Rooms in the Dorset Building seem the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctaylo_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback! I am sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! I apologize that you were not able to get the room that you originally booked. I am extremely glad that Tyrell was able to assist you in changing your room and got you an upgrade! Each restaurant and bar on property provides complimentary cocktail hour to all guests from 7-8PM. The hotel to our right is an upcoming hotel that is going to be amazing! They are currently working on it and it it not abandoned. We have the Claremont to our left and they just finished renovating the interior of that hotel. They really improved it and made it really cute. The outside is not landscaped which makes it look not as cute. A lot of our guests that stay here love our location. We are in the middle of everything! Unfortunately, September is rainy season here in South Florida. We hope that you would give The Catalina another chance! IF you ever come to South Beach again please let me know, I would love to handle your reservation!

Have a great evening!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent a few nights at the Catalina last week. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the happy hour and the restaurant. The location is very good. Room was very clean. The only one disadvantage was - if you want to go to the pool, you have to go to another building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lijana535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good Afternoon Lijana,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely happy that you had a great time while staying with us! Glad that you enjoyed happy hour and the restaurant. Which bar did you sip sip at?
We hope to have you back to stay with us again sometime soon!

Have a great night!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdjammer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Catalina a Wednesday night prior to a cruise. It's in a great location - near the beach, nightlife, etc. We didn't know what to expect after seeing their Reality Show. It ended up being better than we expected, especially for the price we paid. Our El Grande room was in the building to the left of the main one. It was a large and comfortable room. The room and the hotel have a funky vibe to the decorating which didn't bother us. The lobby and hallways could use a little sprucing up. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good place for a pre or post cruise stay or for a partying crowd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for posting your feedback! I am glad that you were able to stay with us prior to your cruise! Where did you cruise too? I am glad that you liked the decor! Our staff tries there best to make each and every guest feel as if they were at home! I hope that you come to stay with us again, for longer time! :D Hope you had an amazing time on your cruise! If you ever decide to come back to The Catalina, please let me know and I will make it extra special! :)

Have a great evening!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On 8/31/12 I had the pleasure of spending the night at The Catalina. This was my 3rd or 4th saty there. I love this place! It is reasonably priced, centrally located, has a great vibe and friendly staff. The Catalina is always my 1st choice of where to stay in South Beach. I live in Delray Beach, so I am somewhat local. I love coming to The Catalina for a mini vacation! The rooms are clean, tatstefully decorated and it is just so fun there! I always bring a friend to stay with me and they are always so impressed with the Catalina. The Catalina is a gem amongst the over-priced South Beach hotels! Already planning my next trip!
Rachael G Delray Beach, FL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good Afternoon Rachael,

Thank you for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am so glad to read that you are a returning guest! :D We are located in the middle of almost everything- if not a 5 minute cab ride. A lot of our guests that book here love our location. We hope that you come again for your 5th time! Please let me know when you do and I will make it extra special! :)

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just spent a girls weekend at the Catalina. The hotel had great amenities - happy hour, beach chairs, pool. It was also in a great location - close to lots of restaurants, shopping, and bars. I was surprised that the hotel needed some basic maintenance - super sloppy paint jobs, broken tiles, really old carpet. One of the beds in our room was broken and there were ants in our room. Overall, it was fine (and fun) for our girls weekend or would be fun for a couples getaway. I would not recommend for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmc1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for leaving your feedback for all of our guests to read! I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer here at the hotel! All of our guests love the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. Which pool did you like the most? The bamboo pool or the rooftop pool? We are in the middle of renovating. We are choosing the carpet so that we can change it soon. Would you be so kind to provide me with your room number? I would like to inform our maintenance department of the bed that you mentioned to be broken, so they can repair it- if it hasn't been done already. I am glad that you girls has a fun weekend regardless of the small issues that you encountered. We hope to see you girls again for another girly weekend!

Have a wonderful day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,183 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,840 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing