We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great, can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #85 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great, can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I had to make a call to this hotel in order to make a minor change in my reservation in November. I travel to and from Miami a lot for a quick get away as I am from Boston. I have been staying at the Catalina since I stumbled upon it 3 years ago (wish I knew about it sooner!) I have always had a pleasant & peaceful stay. Anyways, I called today and received exceptional customer service from Yvette Spinner, who assisted me and accommodated my minor changes with no problem at all. She made time for me and discussed my stay, as well as, gave me a few good tips! She even emailed me a new confirmation in a timely fashion too! So thank you, and I believe every hotel should have a reservations agent like Yvette, because she does an exceptional job at being the front-line point of contact when calling the Catalina.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    1,136
    560
    316
    465
See reviews for
416
1,200
309
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Catalina has a very scenic area. I enjoyed the food and entertainment at Kung Fu Kitchen and at the Maxine. I really enjoyed Robert at the rooftop pool area, he made sure that everyone there was comfortable and was enjoying themselves, he really went "Way and Beyond" to make sure the guests were taking care of. And one of the other staff members that did a great job was Tyrell, he made sure me and my cousins took advantage of all the sites around Miami. I recommend the Catalina for couples, singles, or a group of adults wanting a getaway, this is not a place for a family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Will not stay here again! Hotel is actually 3 old converted buildings (Dorset, Catalina & ?); no pictures in their ad for each building -- only the one with the modern red/white accessories! When you make reservations, they do not tell you which building you will be staying in. We ended up staying at the Dorset.

Cons: The Dorset is very noisy -- faces Ocean Drive with Kung Fu Shusi restaurant/bar below rooms. Kung Fu Sushi's music was so loud; it started at 9:30 a.m. and went on to 3 a.m. The room's floor and walls literally vibrated! Room was very dark -- if you opened the curtains, the Kung Fu Shushi patrons below waved at you! We asked to change our room; they put us up in the same building across the hall. The music was still just as loud!

Poor bathroom lighting in the first room as well as the second one. Light fixture is very high above the mirror. Could not see to put makeup on! (The desk did finally provide an extra lamp after 4 days!) Shower & sink was completely open to the room. If someone wanted to sleep, the light was disturbing. No adequate storage for clothes -- no hangers, no shelves, and no drawers. Hangers were promised and were brought on our 5th day! There was no chest available to put away any clothes. No place to store your suitcases -- not even a luggage stand. Often room was not made up until close to 5 p.m. This even happened when we had to get ready for a wedding even though we let the desk know well in advance, and they assured us that the room would be cleaned early. We called the desk that day after lunch at 1 p.m. to remind them that the room was still not made up. At 4 p.m., it was still not made up! We got a hold of the maid on the floor and she came at 4:30 and wanted to chat.
We were furious because she was in our way as we were trying to get ready. As we had to leave at 5, we could not take our showers as planned after being on the beach during the day and before leaving to attend my family's wedding .

Corridors and elevators are dark and dingy.

Parking: only about 6 spaces on the sidewalk between the two restaurants! Expensive valet parking. Best to park on your own in the City of Miami parking lot -- about 2 blocks away.

Concierge Service: Nonexistent when person is ill! We missed several day trips as a result. Best to do this on your own if you have a car.

Pros: Bed was comfortable but could not see if sheets were clean because it was so dark. Location on Ocean Drive; two pools -- one behind the Catalina and one on the rooftop at Dorset -- fake grass -- not great! They have a decent place on the beach, but it is a hike across the street and around the corner. You must check out your beach towels each day and return them -- not convenient if you are staying a week. One of their restaurants, Maxine's Bistro had good food and ambiance -- on the sidewalk facing Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: not facing Ocean Drive & not over their 2 restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

i recently stayed at the catalina in miami's south beach. All i can say is it was a rockin' stay! the funky hotel lives up to it's advertisements and the rave reviews. this is a great place to stay if you want some funk and fun in your vacation. it was spotless, everything was kept amazingly clean. the rooftop pools were amazing and above all the staff were excellent. kind and helpful and incredibly nice. also, as is always important, the price was right!i upgraded for 20$ extra/ night, so worth it! great stay and a great place to be while relaxin' and chillin' in south beach.

Room Tip: upgrade for an extra 20$, i was on the 2nd floor and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grittymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by our accomodations at the Catalina. We enjoyed use of the Maxine pool with the awesome daybeds, the 7-8 free happy hour (which we turned into Happy Hours), and the beach club. It was so great to be so close to everything and we walked most places. The room we had in the Dorset building was huge for the price we paid and we definitely want to go back. We did not make it to the rooftop pool and bar and that was our only disappointment. The sun and the temperature there were just a little too much for us. We had a great weekend for our 22nd wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: The Dorset was great, rooms are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is at the right location. it's close to the beach and the bars. You don't need to get a taxi for taking a good bite. People in the hotel are really nice and they help you where they can. The food in the hotel is also pretty good. The hotel has a little swimmingpool on the roof with a very kind poolmanager.his name is robert. There are big beds round the swimmigpool for free and from 7 o'clock till 8 it's happy hour. Free drinks. Thats awesome. Incl. Alcohol. Lol. The rooms are pretty big and there are perfect beds. Everything is really clean only it's a little noicy in the hallway. So you can hear that in your bedroom. But it's a perfect hotel with great service and kind people. When your going to this hotel, you will 've a great vacation.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Free airport shuttle, close to beach & upscale hotels, drink specials including free well drinks daily from 7-8pm, live music, 2 free padded beach chairs per room, great service, unique atmosphere

Room Tip: There are rooms right off the bar on the 1st level - ask for an upper level if you don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,700 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#102 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing