We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love Astor Hotel July 2nd 2014.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love Astor Hotel July 2nd 2014.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am a frequent South beach visitor and I have stayed at different places before. I have previously stayed at Astor and because of the service and the cleanliness of this hotel I have decided to bring my family back here before our short cruise. We stayed at Astor before and after our cruise.

I would like to give a shout out to "BURAK EVENS" he was extremely friends, courteous and helpful. We were able to check in at 9:00 AM in the morning which was great because that's unusual with any hotels and I do understand it depends on rooms availability. In addition to let us check in early he have upgraded our rooms as well without us paying a penny extra. I really appreciate his great customer service and the service from the entire staff and it starts with the Bell service staff.

I had a great stay here and will always recommend my friends and family to stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuei1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    285
    132
    81
    79
See reviews for
133
356
62
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in may. The hotel is very clean and very well situated. They even lend you chairs, towels and umbrellas for the beach! The staff were very nice and helpfull! The manager was constantly greating us, asking about our day and making recommandations of areas to see, activities to do which we really appreciated. We did however have a problem with the hotel. On the 1rst 2 nights we were there, the bar or club in the basement of the hotel was playing its music so loud that we felt like we were in the club in our room on the top floor. The room was even trembling because of the vibration ( I am not exagerating ) it went on until 3 or 4 AM. So we barely got any sleep. However the remaining days it quieted down and we had a nice stay. The wifi wasn't great in our room but it was good in my parents room so i guess it depends were you are in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Amy-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have just spent a 2 week vacation at the Astor , my 3rd stay at this hotel , and even tho under new management , my stay didn't disappoint .
I love this Art Deco treasure , perfect location , close enough to everything , yet just set back enough not to feel too touristy .
Rooms are spacious and my king size deluxe room seemed huge with it's corner leather white sofa fitting in well with the Miami vibe .
All the staff are very helpful and polite , thanks in particular to Diandra the bar tender , who looked after me well at cocktail hour , and who may I say is an asset to this hotel . Give that chik a pay rise!!!! I will look forward to staying here on my next Miami visit . Well done guys!!! And thankyou ..

Room Tip: I would stay on the top floor as there is a nightclub attached to the hotel and the music gets loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My name is Jacob Bossman, I am a british business owner from London, UK. Quite frankly the astor hotel had too many hidden charges they hit you with right upon arrivial. My cost went from $1676 to $1900. Miguel one of the senior management advised me that I had to put a deposit down of $200 just in case anything in the room gets damaged. Miguel then advised if there were no damages I would get this deposit back, he then gave me a letter of receipt and advised that all I had to do is show this on my departure and I would be refunded my deposit. Come the day of my departure I was told I could not get this back. The receptionist Chris was very helpful and if it was not for him this review would of been much worst. Other than this matter I paid of the supreme deluxe room, on two days my air conditioner was leaking. The lift was out of commission for 5 days of my 13 night stay. When you pay close to $2000 dollars for a room you expect the facilities to be top notch. The wifi in my room was not great either. The manager Miguel was very reserved and had very little if none customer service skills. This a side I would like to highlight that the Receptionist Chris was exceptional at his job and I would love to see him promoted to manager as his customer service was the best I have ever experienced. In addition to him Racquel was amazing always smiling, very friendly and extremely helpful. Racquel always made an effort to engage in conversation and was a pleasure always. Evens the door man was a character and always made me laugh every morning, and the bar staff in particular Deanna was amazing at mixing drinks and was great very entertaining. Unfortunately I will not be staying every again at the hotel astor, but I will pass by at the bar as this section is great and I will revisit the amazing mid level staff. Its a shame... great mid-level staff, but poor management and maintainance.

Jacob Bossman

London,uk

Room Tip: Do not get a room here they will cheat you out of hidden room charges. Get a room at a different hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We came from New Zealand , have been to several hotels in USA before , the Astor is the best !! Everything was perfect , great staff, excellent clean room , lovely bar and lounge area, would truely recommend !

Room Tip: Excellent value, room we had third floor, corner. had lounge , microwave , fridge , safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarndra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

had a birthday get together about two weeks ago here and it was absolutely fabulous. chris was amazing and extremely helpful throughout our entire stay. he was attentive to our needs, and super funny. overall i had a great experience here, and the food was great too. they had such a cute outdoor area too. When i come back to Miami ill definitely be coming back to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank fernndawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, I really enjoyed it! Location is very comfortable: near with Ocean Drive and beach. I think it's place for good rest for reasonable money. I with pleasure would return here again.The personnel is very friendly also will always advise if you need. Thanks a lot of Burak and Eduardo for the help and excellent mood which they created every day!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina1006504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,785 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#72 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#62 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#85 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: 956 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Art deco True Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Miami beach. Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. Famous and well known by the locals the Hotel Astor has been part of the community from the beginning and is also home to the Astor Social Club. The 42-room hotel has been completely redecorated in March 2016 gbringing back the glamorous Miami Beach days of the 40's and 50's. Classic deco features mixed in with modern features colors and design. More simple but with a true soul unlike its flashier competitors. The expansive lobby has a terrazzo floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. The average size rooms 325SQFT and all the amenities and services of what is expected from a deluxe hotel. Ensuite bathrooms, laptop size room safes , mini are top of the range linen and towels etc etc The Astor Social Club is a speakeasy style bar with live entertainment very populars with the locals and visitors alike. The Terrace bar is another meeting point for the hotel. The location of the hotel is second to none , 2 blocks from the beach surrounded by shops , restaurants and miami beach famous nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing