We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Could Be Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #167 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I traveled here just for an overnight stay, and chose this hotel because they were pet friendly. The location is fantastic. Room was small, and had some type of weird odor, which was odd, because there was tile floor. My biggest complaint, which was out of the control of the hotel itself, was the power went out at 2am and it started to get a little "stuffy" in the room by 6a.m. If you are traveling with a pet though, there is a dog park about a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avantgardeimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    131
    82
    37
    44
See reviews for
44
138
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, the quieter end of Miami Beach and a short walk from the restaurants, bars and shops of Ocean Drive. Also a 3 minute walk from the beach. The hotel itself is a beautiful building but the rooms are slightly shabby and in need of an update. Reasonably clean, breakfast not great, staff ok. I think you could probably do better for the money!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Le0n0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The good thing about this hotel is the location (quiet but in a walking distance from the more lively part of Ocean Drive). But the hotel is old, the room needed to be updated, the AC was really noisy, the breakfast was poor, the bathroom incredibly small... It wasn't even cheap, cheaper than other hotels in Miami beach but not cheap.
It worked for us 'cause we stayed there only 1 night 'cause of a long layover after a week in the Caribbean, so we could walk on Ocean Drive the night we arrived and then quickly on the beach and on the South Point park the morning after before going back to the airport.
Definetely not a place where to stay much longer than that...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Leszno, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Unfortunately I didn't like the hotel, the bathrooms have a bad smell really, and I saw the cleaning set they have; bucket,. cloth, stick with old towel, really NOT professional!!!!!!! My bathroom had mold and rust...btw the rails for towels are weird so the towels keep falling down... my view was on a wall...and its really noisy even though its on the quiet side of south beach... noisy on corridors too...looks like hostel not 3 star hotel...too low standard for the prize!!!!!! The breakfast was poor although I liked the decor of the breakfast room, location was good to beach...the rest really poor!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 217 has nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This location is good if you want to be close to a beach access, within walking distance of the action, but far enough away that you can get some sleep if you want to. Beach and park are across the street as well as a Starbucks if you need to nurse your addiction.

I stayed at this hotel after a cruise to enjoy South Beach for an additional few days and found the staff to be amazingly warm and accommodating. If you have a wish, they will do everything they can to make it happen. This is also one of the very few hotels that offers some sort of breakfast, a little extra bonus if you stay. I also enjoyed the bathroom amenities-high quality shampoo, conditioner & soap-citrus scent so both men & women can use (just a tip to help you reduce packing additional liquids if traveling by air).

Room location is important, we were in room 103 & had noise from the hotel ice machine all night and the condensation line drained directly into our bathroom plumbing so it sounded like the toilet was running loudly constantly. The window in this room also faces the adjacent restaurant patio, so we had commotion until about 2 am. This will not bother people who are staying in odd numbered rooms beyond 105. At the time of our stay in January 2014, there appeared to be the beginnings of a foundation being prepared for new construction on a building to the even numbered room side-nothing was happening during our visit, but you may want to inquire prior to booking your reservation for noise purposes.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but not in room 103.
Was it a good bargain? It was one of the most affordably priced in South Beach and on Ocean Drive, so yes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Location is nice.. Rooms werent very clean. Attitude of staff was terrible. Expect zero customer service. They try to smile but do NOTHING. My family had a remeber who felt sick and needed additional blanket for night - the response I got was " this is miami...people dont cover as its hot" - they are running Mickey mouse business with 1 cleaning lady, and no service to offer to people. Terrible attitude and NO HELP from staff. I regret spending the night... Breakfast was limited and terrible as usual. I would HIGHLY recommend spend extra $60 and spend night at marriot accross the street. If you dont need service, just want to come, dump stuff, go to beach, this is a hotel for you, only because of location. Dont expect any service - have kids? Choose a different hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetleytottler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and chose the Century Hotel for it's price and location. We had a great time, everything worked, it was clean and the front of house staff we're friendly and helpful (the valet even fetched some shoes I'd left in my car)!
There was No Blind in the bathroom. They should change that.
There was also no elevator and they don't offer to help you with your bags, but for us that was fine. If you want luxury this probably isn't the place, if you want a clean, safe, bright room that's next to the SoBe nightlife and the beach, this is it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#156 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Blanc Kara
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
South Pointe
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#130 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Starlite Hotel
#161 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Art Deco Hotel situated on Ocean Drive, across street from Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing