We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Century Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Venice
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel for 8 nights last August.
The hotel is located in Ocean drive, very close to the beach. The hotel had recently some improvements, good quality/price ratio. The manager is an italian guy that makes you feel like at home and give very good advices of places to visit or simply a good restaurant to have a dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
port charlotte,florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent value And great convenient location.....highly recommend. The staff was very helpful, and We enjoyed the breakfast. Definitely will stay there again

Would recommend more washcloths and softer towels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for a few nights in mid August.
First off I have to say te staff were great, Munzio(sp?) gave some great restaurant recommendations, shout out to Big Pink around the corner, epic burgers and even better cakes!
Bernardo was a great help when I needed to call overseas!
Breakfast was simple but sufficient!
The beach is right in their doorstep, ad they even led you beach towels!!
The room was basic, but was enough for a comfortable stay. The aircon worked great, and was a nice escape from the humidity.
There is a convienent Starbucks across the street, a locals sports bar around the corner and Story night club on the next block, what more could one ask for!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clooimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Owner Muzio, is the best surprise of this kind hotel.
Excellent advice about SOBE every day.
The hotel is clean and the position is very good.
Is also good for the breakfast that usually is not free in Miami

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Century for one night. When making the reservation we werebtold that pets were allowed, but when we arrived there was an extra condition, not mentioned before: we could not let our small dog (a 4-pound Maltese) alone inside the room. That was a not pleasant surprise, since we wanted to go out and enjoy Miami Beach, and that becames very limited once you have to carry your dog all around.

Inside the room the bad surprises continued: bad smell in the bathroom and a room with a lousy decor. You really do not feel welcomed.

Last negative was the breakfast: very poor. Only coffee, juice, bread and butter.

I will definitely not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm not a clean freak person, but this way beyond any normal person"s nerve... roaches are crawling the walls at breakfast area, really disgusting. Front desk guy in the morning act like it was normal, and ignored my complain.
Will never stay in this dump again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels on Ocean drive, and around Miami Beach, but this was the first time at the Century. I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews, but we got a very good rate (for south beach) on a busy weekend through Expedia, so decided to give it a go.

We stayed 3 nights, and I am happy to report the hotel met or exceeded our expectations. The hotel has only two floors (no elevator), and our room was all the way in the back on the first floor, and had an extra window looking out back at a parking lot. It was very quiet at all times. The decor was spare but quite clean and the bathroom updated, tight but functional. The bed was a queen size with medium-firm mattress, and there was a minimal free breakfast and wifi included (good signal at back of hotel). We managed to find parking at a metered spot in the Pier Park lot about half a block south, and for the rest of the stay left our car at the 7 Street parking garage for $20/day.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, starting with the Italian manager who greeted us and helped carry the luggage. You can get beach towels at the desk. The room also had a desk with two chairs and a mini-fridge. There was a small closet. A chest of drawers would have been useful but the room size probably doesn't allow for one. Maid service was adequate though not perfect. There was no room safe or coffee machine. The lobby is small but tastefully decorated with a collection of books.

Overall the room was small but clean, the bed comfortable, the staff efficient and helpful, and the location perfect (at the quieter end of south beach, yet a short walk to the beach and restaurants - for a very good Italian meal at moderate prices try La Locanda about 4 blocks away). This is not a luxury resort or the type of hotel to impress business associates, there is no room service or pool, but for anyone looking for a reasonably priced stay in an historic Art Deco building (designed by Henry Hohauser), you can't do much better than the Century.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms are to your right as you face the hotel from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthCountryCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,371 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#149 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#105 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
Starlite Hotel
#153 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Art Deco Hotel situated on Ocean Drive, across street from Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing