We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is right.”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #183 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sarasot
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The price is right.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here the night before leaving early on a boat from Miami's Port. A safe walkable area.
The room was clean and the staff was freindly. The walls are quite thin though. We had a group come in around 5:00 am (closing time for the South Beach bars) and the doors opening and closing were so loud it sounded like our door was opening. Parking was easier than expected. Find a spot on the street then find a parking meter. Once you have your"parking pass" you can park anywhere in South Beach. About $17 for street parking $25 for valet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    134
    85
    37
    48
See reviews for
45
141
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed her for 5 nights with my husband in March. Hotel is in a really great loaction. It's literally a 3 minute walk to the beach (stunning) and about a 5-10 minute walk to all the bars on Ocean Drive. We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were always super friendly (Italian guy, sorry, didn't get your name but you were fantastic! thanks!) and the room was pretty okay. The decor inside the hotel is fab! Very modern and trendy, unfortunately our room wasn't so. Not that its a problem, I don't go to hotels for the room decor. But when the hotel is nicely done up and the room is very sperse it does seem very obvious. Our room was white walls (Verry badly scuffed) with white tiled floor. Again, it really didn't bother us but my pet hate with the room was the bed in room 219 was far too creaky. I mean, really badly creaky. Just the slight bit of weight on the bed made the wooden bed frame scream. It was obvious the bed had previously been broken and with an attemt to fix. The double plug on the wall at the foot of the bed kept losing its facing. And the double plug in the shower room was very lose. But to be fair, the price we paid for our stay was very reasonable. I would stay here again if I I decided to visit Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayLouise1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Basic, but adequate hotel in Miami beach if yoy want a good base for exploring south beach. Basic, but very clean room, modern bathrooms, but fan as an unbrelievable noise level. If you turn on the lights in the bathroom, the fan launches. So if yoy need to go to the toilet in the middle of the night you have two options. Either you do what you must in the dark, or yoy wake up everyone in the room and the rooms next door.
Breakfast is also basic, but provide with a smile.
The main asset of this hotel is its location, 200 metres from the beach, but in a quiet area. Restaurants 500 meters away. Can recommend if you want a place to sleep that is not too expensive and are exploring to city more than staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Would prefer rooms with even numbers because of less noise. Steep stairway to second floor. Stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is located at the calm end of Ocean Dr and the beautiful beach as well as a nice playground are just a couple of blocks away which made the location convenient for a family with kids. But the room was small and not very well kept. There was a cockroach in the bathroom. Valet parking at 25 dollars per day was decent value. Staff however did not seem happy to have kids staying at the hotel and hushed them when being too loud at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerker Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

First night here.. And last. Grotty smelly room. Damp on the walls and it cost $179 plus tax plus $25 parking.. No blind at bathroom window, and loud humming noise from some machinery somewhere all night. Holes in the wall and cupboard doors. Looks, and is,very poor and run down.
Biggest rip off city I have ever been to.
Art Deco.?? It needs demolishing.!
Spent 5 weeks in the US on this trip in Orlando &vegas, which was excellent in every aspect.. Miami..... Disgusting.!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsnaithhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Brasília
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent hotel. The manager is extremely nice and helped us in everything. Breakfast is included and is very good for american patterns. The rooms are not very big, but they are modern and very clean. The beach is just in front of the hotel. Lincoln Road is far, so it is necessary to go by car or take a cab, but there are many restaurants nearby. There is no parking lot at the hotel, but you can pay for a valet parking, as in most of the Maiami Beach hotels. I strongly recommend this hotel, even if the location is not the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCIA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year's, when the prices were probably at their highest (~$250 per room per night). I agree that the desk staff were very friendly and the location of the hotel is really good. We weren't expecting anything fancy - but the standard in the rooms (we had two on the upper floor) was not up to scratch - in one room whole pieces of the parquet flooring had come free in several places, leaving the floor uneven; in the other room, the mattress was in worse shape than I'd ever seen in a hotel, with a spring actually sticking out the side and making a loud creak if you sat or moved in bed. Also, the hallway had a dormitory-like feeling, dark and a bit musty, with lots of visible dust and dirt on the carpet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#112 of 208 in Miami Beach
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#93 of 208 in Miami Beach
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#111 of 208 in Miami Beach
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#192 of 208 in Miami Beach
766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#157 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#73 of 208 in Miami Beach
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939, The Century Hotel is an Art Deco Historical building situated in the exclusive SoFi area of South Beach. Our two story hotel houses 26 rooms comprised of doubles, king, and Ocean Dr. View. Standing along with its pastel colors, facade curves and neon sign, The Century Hotel is the favorite of the savvy traveler who seeks a vivid stay encompassing past and present. Our guests can simply cross the street to the beach, from where they can take a stroll south to Niki Beach and South Point Park, or north to Lummus Park and its volleyball courts, playgrounds, or other trendy beaches. If sun bathing is not the plan for the day, then we are just blocks from the Historically Art Deco District, Museums, world renown restaurants and night clubs. Easily accessible from the airport by Express public transportation, and only 15 ride from the sea port, The Century provides cruise passengers with an opportunity to a taste of our city before embarking on their journeys. Guests are invited to enjoy our cozy lobby, while sipping a cup of coffee, or a glass of infused water in our beverage center adjacent to our lobby. Our goal is to provide our guests with comfort, cleaness for their stay as well as exceptional service by all of our staff. All visitors are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing