We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #182 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Basic, but adequate hotel in Miami beach if yoy want a good base for exploring south beach. Basic, but very clean room, modern bathrooms, but fan as an unbrelievable noise level. If you turn on the lights in the bathroom, the fan launches. So if yoy need to go to the toilet in the middle of the night you have two options. Either you do what you must in the dark, or yoy wake up everyone in the room and the rooms next door.
Breakfast is also basic, but provide with a smile.
The main asset of this hotel is its location, 200 metres from the beach, but in a quiet area. Restaurants 500 meters away. Can recommend if you want a place to sleep that is not too expensive and are exploring to city more than staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Would prefer rooms with even numbers because of less noise. Steep stairway to second floor. Stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    133
    85
    37
    48
See reviews for
45
141
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is located at the calm end of Ocean Dr and the beautiful beach as well as a nice playground are just a couple of blocks away which made the location convenient for a family with kids. But the room was small and not very well kept. There was a cockroach in the bathroom. Valet parking at 25 dollars per day was decent value. Staff however did not seem happy to have kids staying at the hotel and hushed them when being too loud at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerker Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

First night here.. And last. Grotty smelly room. Damp on the walls and it cost $179 plus tax plus $25 parking.. No blind at bathroom window, and loud humming noise from some machinery somewhere all night. Holes in the wall and cupboard doors. Looks, and is,very poor and run down.
Biggest rip off city I have ever been to.
Art Deco.?? It needs demolishing.!
Spent 5 weeks in the US on this trip in Orlando &vegas, which was excellent in every aspect.. Miami..... Disgusting.!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsnaithhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Brasília
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent hotel. The manager is extremely nice and helped us in everything. Breakfast is included and is very good for american patterns. The rooms are not very big, but they are modern and very clean. The beach is just in front of the hotel. Lincoln Road is far, so it is necessary to go by car or take a cab, but there are many restaurants nearby. There is no parking lot at the hotel, but you can pay for a valet parking, as in most of the Maiami Beach hotels. I strongly recommend this hotel, even if the location is not the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCIA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year's, when the prices were probably at their highest (~$250 per room per night). I agree that the desk staff were very friendly and the location of the hotel is really good. We weren't expecting anything fancy - but the standard in the rooms (we had two on the upper floor) was not up to scratch - in one room whole pieces of the parquet flooring had come free in several places, leaving the floor uneven; in the other room, the mattress was in worse shape than I'd ever seen in a hotel, with a spring actually sticking out the side and making a loud creak if you sat or moved in bed. Also, the hallway had a dormitory-like feeling, dark and a bit musty, with lots of visible dust and dirt on the carpet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good value, nice stuff. You have shops, beach, party and main street just 10 minutes walk. Our room had a extra large bad. The only problem was construction side near Hotel. It could be laud from time to time.............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimozKranj_Slovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This one is a hard one to review because the desk staff are great and the location is perfect!!
Parking is impossible without paying the required valet fee of $25. Parking on the street does not become available until 3 a.m. and lasts until 6 a.m.! As I said, the desk staff are very accommodating and even changed our room when the television failed to operate properly.
The room was rather stark. White tile floor with a queen bed. There was a television on a desk a few chairs and a refrigerator. The bathroom was marble and offered shampoo and deodorant. We were on the first floor so the view out of the windows was alleys and parking lots. We stepped outside, took a left and headed down to the restaurants and shops of South Beach. After approximately 1 block, you came to a park with the ocean directly on the other side of the wall. Lots of food options and the South Beach atmosphere we hear so much about. We only stayed for one night after returning from the Keys. I would definitely stay here again now that the initial shock of seeing the room has faded. The hotel also offers a continental breakfast but, wanting a little more, we were directed to Big Pinks restaurant around the corner. Great food and lots of it!!!! Not sure the parking situation can be avoided since I don't know the area well, but $1.75 every hour is more work than I want to deal with when I'm vacationing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veloris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#94 of 208 in Miami Beach
652 reviews
3.1 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#112 of 208 in Miami Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#168 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939, The Century Hotel is an Art Deco Historical building situated in the exclusive SoFi area of South Beach. Our two story hotel houses 26 rooms comprised of doubles, king, and Ocean Dr. View. Standing along with its pastel colors, facade curves and neon sign, The Century Hotel is the favorite of the savvy traveler who seeks a vivid stay encompassing past and present. Our guests can simply cross the street to the beach, from where they can take a stroll south to Niki Beach and South Point Park, or north to Lummus Park and its volleyball courts, playgrounds, or other trendy beaches. If sun bathing is not the plan for the day, then we are just blocks from the Historically Art Deco District, Museums, world renown restaurants and night clubs. Easily accessible from the airport by Express public transportation, and only 15 ride from the sea port, The Century provides cruise passengers with an opportunity to a taste of our city before embarking on their journeys. Guests are invited to enjoy our cozy lobby, while sipping a cup of coffee, or a glass of infused water in our beverage center adjacent to our lobby. Our goal is to provide our guests with comfort, cleaness for their stay as well as exceptional service by all of our staff. All visitors are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing