We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #179 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

First night here.. And last. Grotty smelly room. Damp on the walls and it cost $179 plus tax plus $25 parking.. No blind at bathroom window, and loud humming noise from some machinery somewhere all night. Holes in the wall and cupboard doors. Looks, and is,very poor and run down.
Biggest rip off city I have ever been to.
Art Deco.?? It needs demolishing.!
Spent 5 weeks in the US on this trip in Orlando &vegas, which was excellent in every aspect.. Miami..... Disgusting.!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsnaithhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    133
    83
    37
    47
See reviews for
45
139
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent hotel. The manager is extremely nice and helped us in everything. Breakfast is included and is very good for american patterns. The rooms are not very big, but they are modern and very clean. The beach is just in front of the hotel. Lincoln Road is far, so it is necessary to go by car or take a cab, but there are many restaurants nearby. There is no parking lot at the hotel, but you can pay for a valet parking, as in most of the Maiami Beach hotels. I strongly recommend this hotel, even if the location is not the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCIA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year's, when the prices were probably at their highest (~$250 per room per night). I agree that the desk staff were very friendly and the location of the hotel is really good. We weren't expecting anything fancy - but the standard in the rooms (we had two on the upper floor) was not up to scratch - in one room whole pieces of the parquet flooring had come free in several places, leaving the floor uneven; in the other room, the mattress was in worse shape than I'd ever seen in a hotel, with a spring actually sticking out the side and making a loud creak if you sat or moved in bed. Also, the hallway had a dormitory-like feeling, dark and a bit musty, with lots of visible dust and dirt on the carpet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good value, nice stuff. You have shops, beach, party and main street just 10 minutes walk. Our room had a extra large bad. The only problem was construction side near Hotel. It could be laud from time to time.............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimozKranj_Slovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This one is a hard one to review because the desk staff are great and the location is perfect!!
Parking is impossible without paying the required valet fee of $25. Parking on the street does not become available until 3 a.m. and lasts until 6 a.m.! As I said, the desk staff are very accommodating and even changed our room when the television failed to operate properly.
The room was rather stark. White tile floor with a queen bed. There was a television on a desk a few chairs and a refrigerator. The bathroom was marble and offered shampoo and deodorant. We were on the first floor so the view out of the windows was alleys and parking lots. We stepped outside, took a left and headed down to the restaurants and shops of South Beach. After approximately 1 block, you came to a park with the ocean directly on the other side of the wall. Lots of food options and the South Beach atmosphere we hear so much about. We only stayed for one night after returning from the Keys. I would definitely stay here again now that the initial shock of seeing the room has faded. The hotel also offers a continental breakfast but, wanting a little more, we were directed to Big Pinks restaurant around the corner. Great food and lots of it!!!! Not sure the parking situation can be avoided since I don't know the area well, but $1.75 every hour is more work than I want to deal with when I'm vacationing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veloris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pros:
The hotel is right across the street from the beach.
Upon waking Ocean Drive at around 2 am, the hotel resides on the quiet block. If you dropped something you would hear it. Ten blocks left of the hotel, the bass is so heavy that it vibrates you out of your seat.
Within walking distance to Joe's Stone Crabs.
Serves breakfast (mini bagels, toast, and juice).
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
ATM located in the hotel.
Nice bathroom.
Damage Deposit was only $50 for two days.
Room had a mini refrigerator.

Cons
No elevator. Room was located on the 2nd floor. Luckily we only had to go up about 11 steps.
No alarm clock and the clock on the wall always stated the time was 6:42.
Walls are pretty thin. I could hear someone else in the room above me.
If you are a person who loves to have a pitch black room at night, this hotel is not for you. The hallway light shines into the room from the room number cut out.
The bed was uncomfortable and I woke up with a back ache.
Even though the blocks in Miami are small, be prepared to walk if you are looking for entertainment and food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Travel-4-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off i need to say it takes quite a bit to upset us when staying at a hotel. This place was horrible. The only good thing about it was the location. We paid $250 plus tax for 2 nights so I wouldn't say it was cheap. The lobby and hallways smell horrible. When taking a shower you need to turn the tap to cold to get hot water and turn the tap to hot for cold water. A person could get burnt very easily. The bathroom was full of fruit flies (I killed 20 the first night). The shower door has a 1" gap at the bottom and rubbed at the top, made quite a puddle on the floor. There was no phone in the room so whenever you need something you have to walk downstairs to the lobby. The top 1/4 of the tv was all dead pixels so it was very hard to watch. I was also under the impression that a hot breakfast was included, it was not. It was bagles, cereal and coffee. Last but not least the bed was very comfortable but it squeaked so loud that anytime you roll over you wake everyone in the room. The comforter was rolled in a ball and thrown in the closet. We had to take the duvet cover off as it was filthy. I will NEVER stay here again and I would never recommend it to anybody!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#108 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#26 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.4 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#187 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939, The Century Hotel is an Art Deco Historical building situated in the exclusive SoFi area of South Beach. Our two story hotel houses 26 rooms comprised of doubles, king, and Ocean Dr. View. Standing along with its pastel colors, facade curves and neon sign, The Century Hotel is the favorite of the savvy traveler who seeks a vivid stay encompassing past and present. Our guests can simply cross the street to the beach, from where they can take a stroll south to Niki Beach and South Point Park, or north to Lummus Park and its volleyball courts, playgrounds, or other trendy beaches. If sun bathing is not the plan for the day, then we are just blocks from the Historically Art Deco District, Museums, world renown restaurants and night clubs. Easily accessible from the airport by Express public transportation, and only 15 ride from the sea port, The Century provides cruise passengers with an opportunity to a taste of our city before embarking on their journeys. Guests are invited to enjoy our cozy lobby, while sipping a cup of coffee, or a glass of infused water in our beverage center adjacent to our lobby. Our goal is to provide our guests with comfort, cleaness for their stay as well as exceptional service by all of our staff. All visitors are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing