We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, not so clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #179 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    133
    83
    37
    47
See reviews for
45
139
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London SE27
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Century ( total $198 + tax) which has a great location at the quieter end of Ocean Drive, just a few minutes from the beach & a short walk to restaurants etc.

The room was quite small, but seemed clean enough. However the aircon was noisy & for us a major inconvenience was not having any reading lights by the bed. There was only one central ceiling light which was extremely bright.

Flat panel TV was good, no in room safe.

Small shower/bathroom area: clean with a number of useful toiletries (sachets of branded shampoo, toothpaste etc) but the shower door did not close completely so the floor got quite wet.

Bed was comfortable, however there was a light outside which flickered on & off all night which disturbed my sleep even through the blinds.

Breakfast was unremarkable- bagels, toast, cereal, juice & hot tea/coffee.

There was a very unpleasant smell in the upstairs corridor-cross between urine & carpet freshener to my nose.

Staff seemed pleasant enough.

We would stay again- just for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed over Labor Day weekend with our 18 month old son. Hotel is decent and was all that we needed. Room was very basically furnished but very clean. Bit of a walk to the restaurants and bars of South Beach but that suited us fine. The beach is right across the street and the manager (owner?) is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Only two negatives would be: the walls are paper thin so you can hear a fair amount of noise from the other rooms (but even on the long weekend this wasnt much of a problem due to the hotels location slightly away from the action) and the clerk on duty when we arrived was much less than helpful even if he was polite. We had flown 17 hours (in from New Zealand) and hoped we could try to check in early (8am). The clerk said no without even checking anything and told us to come back at 11. He was still on duty at 11 and again told us no without checking. I know this was our problem but it would have been nice if he had been more sympathtic and tried to help. Once the owner/manager was on the desk he couldnt do enough to help us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leebee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very bad experience, lousy accomodation, extremely noisy above a night club, not very clean. We were punished for making arrangements at the last minute! The only good thing is the location right across the street from the beach, but this doesn't justify the rest! Please stay away of you can!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28970Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

i spent there 1 week this summer with my family (two kids of 12 years old)
The location is really nice: at the beginning of Ocean drive, meaning close to the excited place, but in the quiet zone. And at 80 meters from the beach.
The fact that the hotel was providing the beach towel is a great extra!

interior design is really nice too, art deco furniture, books at disposal.

Really I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nestormartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I chose this hotel because it's 10 minutes further down at South Beach then most of the hotels. So a bit removed from the really busy part but stil very much in walking distance of it. Starbucks across the street!
Breakfast was simple but I guess it's everywhere like that in the US.
The beautiful art deco hotel is a bit older building (doen't show!) so I could hear the neighbours cough, but to me that wasn't a problem. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Remco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice smaller hotel at the end of Miami beach. Nice, quiet neighbourhood although within a 5 minute walk you're in the center of everything!
Basic room and bathroom, but clean! And for a very affordable price!
People at the frontdesk are very helpful and charming.
The beach is just accross the street and so is Starbucks.
Just around the corner is Big Pink, one of the best places to eat in Miami Beach!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#108 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#26 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.4 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#187 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939, The Century Hotel is an Art Deco Historical building situated in the exclusive SoFi area of South Beach. Our two story hotel houses 26 rooms comprised of doubles, king, and Ocean Dr. View. Standing along with its pastel colors, facade curves and neon sign, The Century Hotel is the favorite of the savvy traveler who seeks a vivid stay encompassing past and present. Our guests can simply cross the street to the beach, from where they can take a stroll south to Niki Beach and South Point Park, or north to Lummus Park and its volleyball courts, playgrounds, or other trendy beaches. If sun bathing is not the plan for the day, then we are just blocks from the Historically Art Deco District, Museums, world renown restaurants and night clubs. Easily accessible from the airport by Express public transportation, and only 15 ride from the sea port, The Century provides cruise passengers with an opportunity to a taste of our city before embarking on their journeys. Guests are invited to enjoy our cozy lobby, while sipping a cup of coffee, or a glass of infused water in our beverage center adjacent to our lobby. Our goal is to provide our guests with comfort, cleaness for their stay as well as exceptional service by all of our staff. All visitors are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing