We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the middle of the South Beach action!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Waldorf Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Ranked #48 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the middle of the South Beach action!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I had no concept of what south beach was like before I arrived. It's pretty crazy. This hotel is right in the middle of the bars. I was concerned when we arrived what we were getting ourselves into but actually it was a good stay.

The rooms are lovely, and really nicely done out. We had asked for a room at the back of the hotel. We had almost no street noise. The only noise was from the corridor which was quite noisy but bearable. Overall good service. We didn't eat breakfast in the restaurant so no comments on that.

Two minor annoyances, first to come in and out of the hotel you walk through the restaurant and up some steps. There were waitstaff from the restaurant on the steps at all times, pretty much every time I went in or out of the hotel you had to ask them to move, they didn't care it's a walkway and it got quite annoying. Second our air con broke (in the August heat) on our final night. They were fully booked so couldn't offer us another room. No fans (over and above the ceiling fan) or portable air con unit were offered and no discount offered either.
Otherwise a good stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    366
    89
    25
    16
See reviews for
69
463
55
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is just across from Lumus Park, and a few steps from the sandy beach. It is everything you want on getaway vacation in SOBE. Surrounded by restaurants, night clubs and shopping it is the perfect location.
Rooms are really nice and VERY CLEAN, with great A/C and ceiling fan. Very comfortable bed and nice private bathroom.
I will definitely come back when in SOBE. There is not in house pool , but the ocean is just a few steps from your room.
The lady who does the housekeeping on the 1st floor is outstanding and very friendly.And the front desk guys are also very polite.
I will recommend 100% this hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCFunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro F, Manager at Room Mate Waldorf Towers, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your very kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Room Mate Waldorf Hotel and that you found the hotel was very comfortable and modern.

I am very pleased to hear that our team was helpful. It is always our aim to make our guests feel like they are in a home away from home.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Room Mate Waldorf Towers on a future visit.

Tropical Regards,
Lazaro Flores
Assistant Hotel Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location on the Ocean Drive in a historic Art Deco building, we had a Junior Suite with ocean view which was very modern and stylish, but due to the location of course you cannot expect quiteness!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What can I say about Room Mate Waldorf Towers?..... All good things!! The staff were accomodating before I even cheked in. Thank you for going above and beyond. They placed a happy birthday banner in the room. The birthday girl was pleasantly surprised. The location was perfect! The room fit our needs. This is now my hotel of choice when I visit MIA!!

Thank you!!

Room Tip: Spend extra money for a view and/or balcony. But if you plan to be seeing the sites for most of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

First the good stuff: the hotel is in a great spot on S.Beach. rooms are clean and the staff are very helpful.
we booked 4 rooms via booking.com but on arrival only 2 rooms were booked. the staff sorted this quickly and efficiently.

now the bad: as guests we were told that we would get 15% off the bill at the attached restaurant. when we went to pay the restaurant bill and claim the 15% we were told that we can't get discount because we had taken advantage of their ' happy hour' on alcohol and we had purchased 5 beers for the price of 6. apparently this negates the 15% discount. ok, so we said just discount the 15% off the food but they refused. it left a nasty taste in the mouth so we didn't eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazaro F, General Manager at Room Mate Waldorf Towers, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Nick, how are you
Cant imagine how disappointed I can be with this issue, and the reason why is because and you clearly state it in your comment, we the hotel people always try our best in stisfying our gest's needs to the limit, first of all cause we want you all to come back, and second cause its an honour when you reflect in your comments your complete satisfaction. When we accuired the hotel, the restaurant as a bussiness was already stablished from the prior owner so is nothing we could do, it is something given wich doesent belong to Room Mate. Some times happens things like yoy tell us, and what we always do if you let us know is fix any issue related to this situations.
I sincerelly apologise, for not having had a complet wonderfull stay stained by something that although we fight for but sometimes they get away with it with out us knowing about it
Best
Fernando Ruiz-Casaux
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just recently returned from a trip to the USA. . We spent our last night in Miami, at the Roomate Waldorf towers. I had no idea what to expect, it was perfect for us. You step right onto the pavement where it all happens. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, clean and modern.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is noisy until all hours of the morning, that is to be expected though. Good idea to use the earplugs that are provided.
It is situated in the Art Deco part of Miami, and South Beach is a must. Perfect end to a fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely a beach view, although a bit restricted by palm trees. Although noisy, so perhaps ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chink3831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location can't be beat. We booked the day before so we go an amazing deal. For the price, the place was great. I would even pay more. The rooms have modern decor and it was very clean. The front desk staff was very friendly however, if you are checking in at prime time the lobby is awkward for a crowd.

There were many complaints on other reviews about noise. We were on the 1st floor facing 9th and very close to the lobby and we were fine. If you are really sensitive to noise they do provide complimentary earplugs.

The restaurant is not technically part of the hotel but is attached and you get 15% off as a hotel guest. There was a small fridge in our room but there is not coffee but the coffee at the restaurant is good. I had a bagel and coffee and I think it was around $6.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who want to go to South Beach. It is right across from the beach and right in the center of all the action.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view pay for it because the cheaper rooms have a view of the side streets. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuiteDreamsInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#94 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#42 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#55 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Waldorf Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Waldorf Towers

Property: Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Address: 860 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Waldorf Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Waldorf Towers is a historic property that has been recently renovated achieving the green building design certificate, situated next to the beach that offers a perfect balance between a historic building and a modern hotel. The hotel is ideally located in South Beach, within walking distance of trendy shops, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Waldorf Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Waldorf Towers Hotel Miami Beach
Roo Mate Waldorf Miami Beach
Roo Mate Waldorf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing