We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, party hotel”
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #85 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Central, party hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A good budget hotel in central Miami just off Miami beach. Close to all shops, restaurants and bars. The lobby area is a boutique style with a nice bar inside, when you book a room here you get free drinks from 7-9pm, which is a bonus! The corridor to our room smelt of alcohol, but I mean what do you expect from a party central hotel. The room itself was small, but a good size for one night. There was well stocked fridges, champagne and wine available if you want a drink before you go out

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Evening Michelle L,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your feedback! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the hottest spots. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. It's the perfect way to start the night off right, and get to know your temporary neighbors. I am terribly sorry that the hallways smelled of alcohol. I will make sure that the Director of Housekeeping is aware of this. We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    456
    277
    138
    207
See reviews for
120
459
185
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent some days in the Hotel Shelly back in September. It was a family trip, 3 adults. We enjoyed staying in this hotel – very well located in Miami Beach. We wanted to go and visit the Everglades. Martin was key to help us to find an affordable rental car. He gave us very valuable advice to find the right one – easy to pick up and attractive rates.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Joelle V, this is one of my favorite reviews ever! Thank you so much for the lovely review, and the fantastic shout outs for Martin! You are absolutely right – they know everything there is to know about South Beach and will show you a Kanye-good time. Please let us know when you will be back and we will be sure to roll out our red carpet once again. See you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed At the shelley on january 2011!!an artdeco hotel very close to beach Miami and the streep!the rooms and the hotel are very modern inside and each afternoon there are events, aperitifs and party!!it was great to stay there!!cool!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was at Hotel Shelley with my family for a full week. The hotel had a few cons which is why i didn't give it 5 stars. The hotel had poor lighting in the bathroom and no elevator. Other than that everything else was great. Oliver and Monel gave us the best service, which made our trip very enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the third floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Ariana R!!

We are stoked to read that you stayed with us for a week, and enjoyed the time you spent here! We do like to keep it a bit dark and relaxed. We have extra lamps for those guests who need more lighting. I will make sure to share your lovely praise with both Oliver and Monel! Please come back for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The Shelley Hotel on 8th and Collins truly is one a the few hotels left That understands the meaning of guest satisfaction. It began with Gwen at the front desk immediately treating me Like family. Having my bags brought up stairs, getting me the best rate ($150 below current rates of surrounding hotel) It just wonderful. The only bad part was leaving. Thanks Gwen and everyone at Shelley Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
What a great review Jeremy C!! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time here with us! Gwen our front desk agent is absolutely wonderful! All of our guests seem to think the same! I will make sure that she is aware of your kind praise! We would love to have you stay with us again in the future! See you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

OK, allow me to preface by explaining we are a married couple in our late 30s looking for a getaway without kids. I think knowing your reviewer may paint the better picture.

Allow me to start, we booked this trip as an impromptu getaway. Looking for a few days without the kids to recharge. Our experience began in the Baltimore airport with a weather delay that would put us into MIA at 11pm. In reviewing the website, it indicates that the shuttle service runs until 11pm. We attempted to call the hotel Shelly to make them aware that we would be late and if the shuttle could wait. No one answered, we called 5 times, no one answered nor could we leave a message. Once we arrived in Miami we called the hotel, it was 10:45. We were told the shuttle was not longer running, it stops at 10 and we would need to grab a cab. $53 in total.

We finally got to the hotel Shelly, first impressions were had, litter all over the patio, there were little Jello shot cups laying about. Plus people loitering in and out of the patio, sidewalk. While the front lobby seems nice enough, really its very dirty. The front desk attendant, Antion was really very friendly and professional, a very likable guy. He was "new" as he explained, he was slow on the computer but did his best to attend to our needs. As we were checking in numerous people were coming and going, asking questions, interrupting our check in process. The music was so loud. We could not even hear to answer questions while checking in. I get that this is Miami Beach and I am an old fuddy duddy so that offense is forgivable. We were hoping for a king, only 2 doubles were offered. This was the deal breaker for us, we can not have a "romantic kid free vacation" with 2 doubles!!! Also, there is a $15/ day resort fee to be charged. We asked about having it removed since we did not use the shuttle the first day and knew out last day the shuttle would not be running for our eraly flight. This was not an option, it had to be paid in full up front. Also, there is a $100 deposit fee applied to your card at the time of check in.

So at this point after seeing numerous people come and go in and out at close to 1 am, we decided this was not the hotel for us. We decided at this time to move onto a different hotel even if it meant being out the already paid for (through ORBITZ) reservation. We would rather forego that expense than stay in an unkempt hotel.

Under the direction of Antion, we went to see the manager Martin the next morning. He too was super friendly, nice and attentive. He removed the $15/night resort fee (totaling $45) off our card. He explained he could not remove the $100 deposit until the house keeper checked over our room and cleared it as good. (even though we never set foot into our room).

The only reason I give this review 2 stars rather than zero is because the staff was so friendly and nice.

Room Tip: No room is a good room. Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ok where do I begin...

1. There isn't an elevator: There are only 3 floors in the hotel but after long days/nights of walking and heavy luggage, an elevator would have been a welcomed comfort. The bell hops were very seldom there and shared between the hotel across the street...so odd. Mostly, we had to carry our own luggage up the three flights of pissy smelling stairs.

2. No ice on premises: Again, if you wanted ice, you had to walk across the street to another hotel.

3. The white stains on the bed sheet: This speaks for itself.

4. The electricity or lack there of: The electricity was very spotty in our room. It was very dark in our room and the lights wouldn't come on. I had to turn the light switch on and off for 2 minutes to trip the lights on. I would have called the front desk but the phone in our room didn't work. Most times, there was no one at the front desk to answer anyway.

5. The location is perfect. Great restaurants and shopping all around us and a block away from the beach...The only perk!

6. We never had enough towels and wash cloths for our stay. There were 4 of us and they would only give us 3 per day. We stayed from 7/18 - 21.

7. Free happy hour daily but the alcohol was so cheap it wasn't worth it. The bartender had an attitude that he had to give free liquor and also worked at the hotel across the street.

8. The room was so tiny. Definitely not made for max 4 guests...2 at the most. There aren't any tables or desks, outside of the nightstand that held a giant lamp that didn't work. The closet had a bit of space but no light so we had to leave items in our luggage.

I would never stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilderA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello there WilderA,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest, extensive feedback with us! Unfortunately we do not have an elevator here at Hotel Shelley. Our bellmen are here to assist all of our guests with whatever they may need. We like to keep the rooms a bit dark and relaxed. We offer extra lamps for those guests who want more light. However, thank you for noting our great location. We are just blocks from everything you will want to be apart of. We thank you for your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#70 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#101 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#138 of 208 in Miami Beach
599 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Property: Hotel Shelley
Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing