We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings..”
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #78 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We came to this hotel after checking into and immediately checking out of a disgusting hotel on Ocean Drive.. so it was seriously a relief. The lobby and bar area was really nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but seemed clean, bathroom was also small but seemed clean as well. We didn't mind the small room size as we didn't spend much time there other than sleeping. A few issues we had; our room got skipped during cleaning a few times, another time the bed was made up but we didn't get any clean towels, some of the rowdier guests would slam doors and yell and the last two nights we were there we got bug bites.. I'm seriously afraid to know where they came from.. and the wonderful end to our trip was opening the bathroom door the morning we were leaving and seeing the biggest cockroach I've ever seen in the shower. I almost had a heart attack. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The people are friendly and the location is great, a block from the beach and ocean drive and surrounded by good shops.. but I don't think I'd stay again with the bug bites, cockroaches and poor cleaning service. Definitely consider wether or not you're okay with these things before booking.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank morgzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Good Evening morgzh,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! Our team work hard to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. I will make sure to share your feedback regarding housekeeping, with the Director of Housekeeping. It is constructive feedback such as yours that allow us to make the necessary changes we need to. We advise guests not to leave their windows open, as this is how these critters enter the room. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here July 11-14 & it was cool. The location was perfect: right behind Ocean Ave & in the Art Deco district!!!!! Gwen at the check in counter was AMAZING & helpful. My only issue was the towels were in constant short supply. But I def recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Good Evening Whitney M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located on Collins Ave, just blocks from all the action! Gwen our front desk agent is lovely and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will make sure that she is aware of your kind praise! Please come back soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel for sobe. Staff is awesome. Clean comfortable beds. Nice shower. Free drinks happy hour every night. Free wifi. Parking garage on 7th short walk. Bike sharing on 9th by the beach 2 minute walk. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again. Great location central to everything.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Joshfrausell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Hello and thank you for the time you took to share your feedback! Our staff all work hard to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! We offer great amenities such as our complimentary cocktail hour nightly from 7-8PM, WiFi and much more! Please come and stay with us again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here it was a little more expensive than I usually go but it was a reliable clean hotel and not a huge chain so I always feel better about my karma points giving money to them. It's a 2 minute walk to the beach and they really do a great job picking out the staff. Shirley c. was a GREAT bartender and really made us feel welcomed which isn't always easy in a big city like Miami. I went to their sister chain as well and had the same experience and got the feeling that management gives the staff a lot of benefits for being well rated here and other sites so they have that extra push to be really fantastic!
Oh and I don't know his name but the front office guy who worked from 3 onward July 14th was great as well and you will get lost in his eyes and calm demeanor. HAVE FUN

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Elllllllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff here was so nice it made the stay the stay amazing. Special thanks to Shirley C who went out of her way to make our visit (me and my 2 friends) the best time we had in Miami! Thank you staff of the Shelly!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meowcat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello there Meowcat3000,

We are stoked to read that you had a 5 star time with us! We strive on providing outstanding service and we are glad that you got to experience that! Shirley is absolutely wonderful and I will make sure that she is aware of your kind praise! Please come back again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean enough, and the location is perfect. The value of the hotel is unbeatable, and the free daily happy hour was a great touch. We really enjoyed our stay, and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrnpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for your review Lrnpatrick!!! I am glad that you noticed the hard work and efforts our team puts in daily! We are glad that you had such a great time! We would love for you to stay with us again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I visit Southbeach many times a year so the only real way to tell if I like a hotel is if I stay there the next time I go, and i am staying at the shelley again! The best part about this hotel is the staff! Alex is amazing!!!! I dont see why he is not running the place yet, somebody get him a promotion! Monel is super helpful and the bartender (sorry I forgot her name, but that only means that she does her job well) is very nice! Great location, great food, great bar, great prices!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mya207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Good Evening Mya207,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback! We are stoked you had such an amazing stay with us! Our staff are all hard workers, and want to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! Please come back again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#93 of 212 in Miami Beach
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#143 of 212 in Miami Beach
615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#91 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $83 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing