We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“mixed feelings..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #95 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mixed feelings..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We came to this hotel after checking into and immediately checking out of a disgusting hotel on Ocean Drive.. so it was seriously a relief. The lobby and bar area was really nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but seemed clean, bathroom was also small but seemed clean as well. We didn't mind the small room size as we didn't spend much time there other than sleeping. A few issues we had; our room got skipped during cleaning a few times, another time the bed was made up but we didn't get any clean towels, some of the rowdier guests would slam doors and yell and the last two nights we were there we got bug bites.. I'm seriously afraid to know where they came from.. and the wonderful end to our trip was opening the bathroom door the morning we were leaving and seeing the biggest cockroach I've ever seen in the shower. I almost had a heart attack. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The people are friendly and the location is great, a block from the beach and ocean drive and surrounded by good shops.. but I don't think I'd stay again with the bug bites, cockroaches and poor cleaning service. Definitely consider wether or not you're okay with these things before booking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank morgzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Evening morgzh,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! Our team work hard to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. I will make sure to share your feedback regarding housekeeping, with the Director of Housekeeping. It is constructive feedback such as yours that allow us to make the necessary changes we need to. We advise guests not to leave their windows open, as this is how these critters enter the room. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    408
    238
    130
    187
See reviews for
95
402
144
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here July 11-14 & it was cool. The location was perfect: right behind Ocean Ave & in the Art Deco district!!!!! Gwen at the check in counter was AMAZING & helpful. My only issue was the towels were in constant short supply. But I def recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Evening Whitney M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located on Collins Ave, just blocks from all the action! Gwen our front desk agent is lovely and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will make sure that she is aware of your kind praise! Please come back soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel for sobe. Staff is awesome. Clean comfortable beds. Nice shower. Free drinks happy hour every night. Free wifi. Parking garage on 7th short walk. Bike sharing on 9th by the beach 2 minute walk. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again. Great location central to everything.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshfrausell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello and thank you for the time you took to share your feedback! Our staff all work hard to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! We offer great amenities such as our complimentary cocktail hour nightly from 7-8PM, WiFi and much more! Please come and stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff here was so nice it made the stay the stay amazing. Special thanks to Shirley C who went out of her way to make our visit (me and my 2 friends) the best time we had in Miami! Thank you staff of the Shelly!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meowcat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello there Meowcat3000,

We are stoked to read that you had a 5 star time with us! We strive on providing outstanding service and we are glad that you got to experience that! Shirley is absolutely wonderful and I will make sure that she is aware of your kind praise! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean enough, and the location is perfect. The value of the hotel is unbeatable, and the free daily happy hour was a great touch. We really enjoyed our stay, and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrnpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review Lrnpatrick!!! I am glad that you noticed the hard work and efforts our team puts in daily! We are glad that you had such a great time! We would love for you to stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I visit Southbeach many times a year so the only real way to tell if I like a hotel is if I stay there the next time I go, and i am staying at the shelley again! The best part about this hotel is the staff! Alex is amazing!!!! I dont see why he is not running the place yet, somebody get him a promotion! Monel is super helpful and the bartender (sorry I forgot her name, but that only means that she does her job well) is very nice! Great location, great food, great bar, great prices!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mya207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Good Evening Mya207,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback! We are stoked you had such an amazing stay with us! Our staff are all hard workers, and want to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The best part of this hotel was the staff. They were professional and helpful. The room we got was very small. The lighting was terrible. There was no space to put our luggage. The shower was horrible it was dingy and I showered with shoes on. The smell was retched it reaked of mildew in the halls and the room. I'm not sure our linen was changed at all the beds smelled. I came home with bites all over me. I'm glad I had a 2 night stay here. This place needs major upgrades.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreasureDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello there TreasureDee,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent visit! All of our staff here at Hotel Shelley all work hard to ensure that each and every guest is having a killer time! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of our team, so that they are aware. I am not sure what bit you, but this time of the year there's many mosquitoes and other critters in South Florida.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#72 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pierre
Hotel Pierre
#184 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#105 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Property: Hotel Shelley
Address: 844 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing