We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to the hot clubs and restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #112 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Close to the hot clubs and restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with friends for the weekend..we needed a place to crash, and this place was great..close to the beach..cool bars, I was greeted with a very knowledgeable and helpful customer service. Venderlyn took her time and patience and helped find the best bars and coolest areas to hangout..the hotel was a really good price and it did not break our bank..

Room Tip: The doubles beds are better..more bang for your buck if you are staying with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good Afternoon Tina P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located just blocks from all the South Beach action, and from the beautiful beaches. Venderlyn is absolutely amazing and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will make sure to share your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    382
    222
    124
    179
See reviews for
89
362
131
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

from the moment we arrived mr.Alton was very friendly, there was nothing he woudnt do for us gave us excellent advise for breakfast, he also help us with parking which we intially thought would be on site. The happy hour was excellent everynight. The manager Tavaris also was very helpful with an issue we had, which was solved immediately.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello J B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Alton. Alton is indeed a rock star and but one of many who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. I will make sure to inform Alton and Tavaris about your kind praise!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you expect a quiet time, this is not the place for you!! It has a good location, close to Lincoln road, ocean drive, the beach, bars and restaurants. I found a great offer booking through the expedia app, it was almost 40% off..!! Which was perfect for my budget. The staff was very nice and helpful, the only problem was that my room was close to the front desk and the bar, so I could hear the guest coming and going and drinking at the bar. But for the price I paid, it wasn't expecting much! I was so tired because of all the shopping and sightseeing, that I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Choose rooms far from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good Evening Annie M,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! We are definitely located in a prime spot here in South Beach! I am glad that you were able to get a great deal on Expedia. The rooms that are closer to the bar and street are typically more noisy. If we were aware that you wanted a quiet room, we would have placed you on a higher floor, towards the back of the hotel.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel os in a very good place in Miami South close to many stores and restaurants
Very close to the beach , you can go walking to do anything!
The hotel is simple but the attendees were very educated and the room is very comfortable
Really liked and would stay again there!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leila-Ohta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Good Day Leila-Ohta,

We are thankful for the time you took to share your feedback with us! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the hottest spots. The beach is a 5 minute walk away as well. Please come back soon for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late night on a Sunday and we had to parked a block or two away which is not a big deal because they don't have parking lot, otherwise you had to pay $32 a night for valet parking.

When we got to the hotel the front desk area and bar is nicely decorated.

BUT ...

The second floor lobby smelled really bad. Smelled like wet dog or urine. Stained carpet, really ugly and bad paint job. A hole by the exit door sign.

When we finally get to our room, my boyfriend opended the door and we saw other people stuff laying in the bed and floor. Unacceptable!!!. My boyfriend went to the front desk again to let them know that they gave us a key for a room that was still occupied, and at first the attendant said "ARE YOU SURE?". That honestly made me soo mad, but I just wanted to go to bed after a long long trip.

The room that they gave us after that big big mistake, had 2 queen size beds that barely fit in that small room, the view from our window was an abandoned building under reconstruction that was probably 15 feet way from our window. THE BATHROOM was a nightmare... Extremely small, the mirror was cracked, the toilet seat loose, there was a huge window WITHOUT curtains IN the shower. My boyfriend had to put a towel on the window because the construction workers could easily see us taking a shower. The shower knob had mold.

One of the beds was lumpy and uneven. The lighting was very poor. The bed headboard and footboard were scraped, very visible and hard to ignored.

Overall this place is a dump. For $136 + dollars a night you can find a better place, with better service. Don't waste your money and time in this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FleurLais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello FleurLais,

We value each and every one of our guests feedback. Thank you for the time you took to share yours with us! It's very strange that you experienced a strange smell in the lobby area. I will make sure that the housekeeping staff is aware of this. We did have an issue with our system not too long ago. We mistakenly checked you into a room that was already occupied. This is completely our fault and we are terribly sorry for that mistake! We will make sure that never happens again! We apologize that your time spent with us was not an amazing one! I will share your feedback with the rest of our staff. We are always working to improve our product. With feedback such as yours, it allows us to see what areas need work.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Uberlandia, MG
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The front desk and lobby there is a bar, and this bar is frequented by prostitutes badly, strange people, and poor presentation. Is well located, but has dark, poorly cleaned rooms. The door to my room was broken and asked to change rooms the next day, the hall of the hotel has cameras, but it is so bad that the environment does not inspire safety. I often go to miami, and this was only once and never, never go back on it. Would not recommend under any circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardorocha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Good Day Leonardorocha66,

I am genuinely disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not up to your satisfaction. We do like to keep the rooms dark and relaxed for our guests. We offer extra lamps for those guests who need more light. We want everyone that stays with us to have an exceptional time, and we apologize that you did not.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just wanted to comment on a short stay that I had at Hotel Shelley. The location is excellent and the staff that I encountered were very gracious and helpful...especially David at the front desk. The only complaint I had is that there was no fan in the bathroom so it makes for a very humid session when you have finished taking a hot shower but like I said that is the only complaint!.. AC was on point and the bed was comfortable for the minimum time I was in the room. They have a happy hour session for guests between 7-8 which was excellent in our eyes as drinks in SOBE bars can be pretty pricey.... and they also offer airport shuttle which was a nice bonus! I will most definitely be staying at the Shelley again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnut1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello there Pnut1071,

Thank you for the time you took, to share your honest feedback! Hotel Shelley is located in a hot spot here on South Beach. David our front desk agent is great, and all of our guests seem to think so as well! We offer a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of it! We can't wait to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#125 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal South Beach Hotel
Royal South Beach Hotel
#148 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Property: Hotel Shelley
Address: 844 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing