We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff saved the place”
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #80 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Room was ridiculously small and the lighting was absurd. I asked for an extra lamp but never got it. Bed was uncomfortable. Had to get new keys 6 times because they would not open my door. Never took advantage of the happy hour drink. The only bright spot was the staff. They tried very hard to make a bad situation tolerable. Damian was a credit to any hotel. He certainly should be paid more for what they charge the guests. Doubt I would stay there again. Wish they could move the staff to a classier hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royesqlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello there Royesqlg,

We value all of our guests feedback and we would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. We advise guests not to place their room keys next to their phones, as this is how the key cards are deactivated. I am glad that our staff provided you with great service! Damian is wonderful and I will make sure that he is aware of your kind praise! We apologize that your time with us was not a 5 star one!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shelley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and after check out we noticed we had been incorrectly charged for items totaling $40 from the mini bar. After explaining to the staff there was a mistake, we were told only management could perform the refund, and they would investigate when he arrived later that day. We are still waiting an it has been a week. We have called numerous times, often the call is not answered and other times they do not know what we are referring to.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hello there Nicole A,

Thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We would never charge a guest for mini bar items unless they were consumed. We apologize that you were incorrectly charged for items that you did not consume. I would like to assist in resolving this matter. Please contact me directly.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Room was too small and bartender and doorman that work the night shift was very rude. Damian and Alton made my stay better with just being very nice and helpful. Them two especially Damian was the reason I didn't go stay at another hotel. I really recommend that they get raise or something for helping me out.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Good Evening BW24,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback with us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. I will make sure to inform the General Manager about your feedback regarding the service you were given by our team! Damian and Alton are lovely and all of our guests love them! I will make sure to inform them of your kind praise!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I really enjoyed myself staying here. Friendly staff guen at the front desk was very helpful and Oliver assisted in everything he could. I would differently be back and refer this hotel to friends. The service made me want to come back a little sooner. Comfortable room and peaceful

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applejuice2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello there Applejuice2020,

We value all of our guests feedback and we are delighted to read that you had an amazing time here with us! Our staff works hard to make sure that each and every guest is well taken care of and having a great time! I will make sure to inform Guen and Oliver of your kind praise! :) Please come back soon for another memorable time!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Me and my friends stayed at the shelley for a few Nights during the WMC. The Hotel has some nice rooms but kinda small, the price is very expensive plus there is not breakfast included, Staff very friendly Oliver the Bellman and the Clerk Luis help us with everything specially when the Door Keys didnt work, every single day.

Good Hotel but needs some more i may come back hope is better by then.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank OrliRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel itself is a little old but the staff were super friendly! Pedro and Gwen were very helpful and ensured we got a quiet room with two queen beds even though it wasn't on the reservation. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hello there Alex F,

We appreciate the time you took to share your wonderful feedback with us! We are delighted to read that you had a nice time here with us! Pedro our front desk agent is lovely and so is Gwen! I will make sure that they are both aware of your kind praise! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Another nice and fun place to be in Miami. Small bar with a DJ and wonderful bartender Anna. Drinks are affordable, the alcohol is not spoiled like in many places, the entrance is free. Just have a few drinks and dance.
Anna is definitely very well experienced bartender. She knows exactly what to mix for you, don't have to ask twice :) Definitely recommend to check it out!

    • Service
Thank moskowcityred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#68 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#78 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#104 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 210 in Miami Beach
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#93 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $83 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing