We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, but certainly not the best.”
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #85 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Not the worst, but certainly not the best.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

You get what you pay for! It was the most reasonbly priced place to stay in southbeach & theres several reasons why: 1st, its an old building thats been particially refurbished, old toilets that run, then walls > we literally heard the couple next door gettin' it in. Theres no elavator, be prepared to walk up the stairs w/ ur luggage, no pool, and room service/ ice is across the street at their sister hotel. The television was fuzzy & our room was not cleaned until after we'd asked about 3 or 4 times. The door keys didnt work & required reprogramming daily ... In addition to housekeeping Not speaking nor understanding English. Be prepared to spend an additional $100 dep upon arrival for the mini bar & snacks in the room. If you dont consume any, your suppose to receive a refund of such said funds ... Umm, the view from our room was of an old building & ally-next door. The sink clogged up, in which they did promptly send maintenance staff to repair. One of the bartenders was very rude. Free drinks between 7&8 daily is a drink of the hotels choice. The shuttle only runs from the airport to the hotel, no other usage avail. Everything is within walking distance, eating, shopping, the beach, you name it > its all there but unfortunately this hotel is not. With a few repairs, upgrades & tlc it could truly be a goldmine. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Estin1976,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest and extensive feedback, for all of our future guests to read! We are an Art Deco hotel therefore the structure is old. We were aware of the issue that you experienced with your toilet? Sometimes people are louder then they should be when they are having fun. I am terribly sorry that you had to hear them! You are able to get ice from the lobby downstairs as well as across the street. Our cleaning staff has a certain routine that they need to follow in order to get each and every room clean and ready. Perhaps your room was at the end of their list, unless you needed immediate service. The key cards are deactivated when holding them next to certain cell phones. You do not spend an extra $100 when you stay with us, this is a hold. The hold on your card is for incidentals and almost every hotel does this. The hold is released as soon as you check out from our hotel. The mini bar is not free therefore the items from there are for a cost. You are able to pay for them as you check out with another form of payment, it doesn't have to come from the hold. I am sorry to read that the sink clogged up, but glad to read that our staff was there to correct the issue immediately! The complimentary cocktail hour is one of our guests favorite amenity. We provide well liquor such as vodka, gin and tonic with the choice of juice or soda to mix. Our complimentary shuttle is a round trip shuttle that runs during certain hours and 7 days a week. Your feedback is appreciated!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    456
    277
    139
    207
See reviews for
120
460
186
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Hotel Shelley and plan to come back!! Our room was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the amenities the hotel offers and the lobby was SO MUCH FUN! Also, the hotel staff was AMAZING - everyone from the front desk, to the bartenders, to the concierge! The Hotel Shelley has become our preferred hotel when visiting Miami in the future!!

The ONLY flaw is that the room was very small, however, it's South Beach!! We only used the room to sleep and shower!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTraveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good Afternoon FunTravler516,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your positive feedback! I am very content to read that you had a wonderful time while staying with us! I see that you had a clean and comfortable room, and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary amenities. Our staff is always happy to serve you and provide you with outstanding service! Please come back soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The only problem I had was it was NO TUB I can shower at the beach really the Room was Extra small they have excellent service Kristina she was just great and very nice I loved her Alfredo and its another guy Mexican guy penrod ferod hummm can't think of his name but he was marvelous & they were fun i love the staff i see them in higher business they helped us with VIP too the parties and more I had a ball defiantly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neshdasneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Neshdasneak,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated, thank you for sharing it with us! I am terribly sorry that there was no tub in your room. We do have rooms that range in size from our small rooms to the larger ones for all of our guests convenience. I am glad that you were given great service by Kristina and Alfredo. They are great employee's and all of our guests love them. I will make sure to inform them of your praise! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel was noisy with loud music until around 3am. Despite multiple requests to turn it down it thumped on. No guests in the bar so obviously for staff benefit....not very customer friendly when customers were complaining...

Helpful?
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

virginia
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here rather than my usual SoBe hotel. Here's what I liked about this beautiful little hotel:

- Friendly, helpful staff (especially the front desk guy with dreadlocks (Alex?))
- Great location - one block to Ocean Drive and the beach
- FREE shuttle coming and going to MIA Airport (an amazing value!)
- Even though the room was small (think the size of New York City hotels), it was nicely appointed: hardwood floor, marble bath, leather bed frame, snacks and drinks (an additional charge), cork screw, wine glasses
- Use of rooftop terrace and hot tub across the street at the Hotel Chesterfield
- FREE nightly happy hour.

What I did not like:

- 3 pm check in time (Late when you arrive on an early plane flight. However, I did get into my room at 2 pm.)
- No clock in the room
- No wine available during the FREE harpy hour - only liquor based drinks!
- No on premise ice machine so I had to go across the street to the Hotel Chesterfield to get my ice bucket filled

HOWEVER, I WILL DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good Afternoon Luke47,

Your wonderful and extensive feedback is greatly appreciated, thank you so much for taking your time to share it with us! Our staff is great and they are always eager to assist our guests! Alex is a great part of our team, and all of the guests absolutely love him! Our location is prime, as we are within walking distance to all of the hot spots around South Beach. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle, and our cocktail hour! Most of hotels check in time is either at 3PM or 4PM. We can accommodate our guests with an early check- in if we have clean and ready rooms that are available. Our complimentary cocktail hour is for cocktails only. We are sorry that we do no provide wine.
We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Kristina is great! We came on vacation and she's so friendly very welcomed and just a great person. You don't see great customer service around alot. But Kristina definitely offered that. She's great! Hope she's here for the rest of our stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msjanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello Msjanae,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated, we thank you for taking your time to share it with us! Kristina is great and she is also a great asset to our team! I will let her know of your praise! Come back and visit her again! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Shelley on April 15, 2013. The location is perfect if you want to enjoy South Beach and adjacent attractions. The staff, especialy Alex, was friedly, professional and helpul.
There are many shops and restaurants around the hotel, so no car is needed to get around the area. I would stay here again wthout hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fototraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good Afternoon Fototraveler_10,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to share it with us! I am very glad to read that you had a great time with us! I see that you were given great service by our staff- and in particular Alex. I will let him know of your kind praise! He is great with our guests and they all love him! Please come back soon.

Have a great weekend!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#68 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#100 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#138 of 208 in Miami Beach
600 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Property: Hotel Shelley
Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing