We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #91 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

While the room was small, it was clean and had a nice sized shower. Staff was friendly and free happy hour from 7-8 was a fun plus. Excellent location in the art deco historic district. Within easy walking distance of Lummus Park/the beach and just a street over from Ocean Drive with lots of nightlife. Good value.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 301 which had a view of the street at night. A little noisier, but it's fun to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Melissa K,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to know that you were content with the location of our property! Lots of guests love that we are located in the middle of it all. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then the average room. I am glad that you were content with the cleanliness of your room and the nice size shower that came with it. Our staff is great and they are eager to provide you with excellent service! Our complimentary cocktail hour is there for you to start the night off right! It's also a great time to mingle and get to know your temporary neighbors! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    438
    257
    133
    195
See reviews for
108
430
162
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MEMPHIS
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is one block from the beach. Yes the rooms are small, but well appointed and very clean. Quiet. Happy hour was great. Staff is excellent as well. The shuttle from the airport was right on time. However, the shuttle directions are misleading. It stated that the pick up was from Gate G, Door 26. This is actually concourse G, door 26. I would stay again. Interestingly the restroom on the lobby level looks like it came from the set of Scarface! Cool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobVMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Good Afternoon BobVMemphis,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our guests to read! We are centrally located a block from the beautiful South Beach. We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. I am glad that you were content with the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeepers work hard to ensure that each and every room is deep cleaned and inspected by a supervisor before turning it over to another guest. Our staff is great and they always want to make sure that all of our guests are content and they feel right at home. I am glad that you were given such service! I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle that we provide.

We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

too much ear-wig...we catch min eleven ..in our rome... everday new staff... coffee on bar terrible and expensive.... wifi slow...room cleaning null...only the location is super...disco every night...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaldavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Michaldavid1,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I am very glad that you chose to share it with us! Our staff's schedule is not the same everyday. They rotate days which is why you most likely noticed different faces from one day to the next. I am sorry that you were not content with the coffee at the bar. We are working on making the internet speed faster for our guests convenience! Our location is prime and I am glad that you were content with it! We are within walking distance to all the hot spots on South Beach!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Best thing about the "hotel" was the location and the candle burning in the lobby. Pictures are deceiving. Very noisy and uncomfortable. Rooms need improvements and insulating. Not sure what the $15 a day resort fee is for because it is certainly not a resort. Would recommend staying elsewhere. Shuttle service is not always reliabe so have a back up plan.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to stay some place nice and get a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X101101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello X101101,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you chose to share it with us! The location of our property is prime, within walking distance to all of the hot spots. I am glad to know that you were content with it! We charge a $15 "resort" fee for all of the amenities that you love to enjoy i.e. complimentary R/T shuttle from Miami International Airport, complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly, etc. We are not a resort but, the fee is just called a resort fee. The only time that our shuttle is not up and running is when we experience a sudden problem that is out of our control (engine issues, traffic, car accidents, etc). Other then that the shuttle is always on time and running on normal schedule.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while waiting for a friend to travel to Cayman Islands. There are varied comments on here, mainly saying the hallway carpets smell, the rooms are below standard etc. These reviews are from unrealistic people expecting too much from a basic hotel. So here is the review you need.

Yes the hallway carpets smell odd. They do not smell bad, just odd. The smell does not go into the room so it is irrelevant. After all, you don't sleep in the hallway? I paid £99 a night online and when I arrived I was told I paid a high price and could have got it cheaper. This was far from a £99 a night hotel. The rooms were nice... Not amazing, not horrible, just liveable. I wouldn't stay here with a girlfriend lets just say that. They were clean, tidy, nicely decorated.. but basic.

The hotel advertises it has wireless, which it does, but it does not reach to all of the rooms and it didn't to mine which was annoying. I had to go and sit in reception (which is also the bar) to use wifi. I work in IT and it would be pretty easy to add access points and repeaters to broaden the wireless signal.

The staff are extremely polite and helpful and to summarise it is clear that the management for this hotel try to provide the best service they can with what they have at their disposal. If you are going to Miami with a friend to go down the beach, go out in the evening then this place will do the job and you will probably check out not being unhappy and not particularly ecstatic to tell other people about the place either.

I am now staying in a hotel nearer the airport which is half the price and far more luxurious (Comfort Suites)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveK1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radomlje
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is very lovely design hotel on South Beach. Good price for a very good location. Rooms are small but lovely decorated but if you don't like dark colors you wont like this hotel. Would describe it as friends or young couples hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasaNemanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello SasaNemanic,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! I am very glad that you had a lovely time while staying with us! We do have great prices here at Hotel Shelley!! Our location is also wonderful! We are in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to it all! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. We cater to all types of guests- singles, couples, families, party goers, people who want to relax, business people and everything in between. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we hope to have you here again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon Island WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A stay at the Shelley puts you in a prime So Beach location at a very reasonable rate. The most accommodating friendly staff you'll ever experience, free cocktail hour, and relaxed atmosphere are notable. The hotel building is a classic, consistent with the neighborhood, but it is an older building. Room furniture and fixtures are a bit worn. Linen and towels are clean and pressed. Flat screen and stereo radio worked great. There's an honor bar but no coffee maker. Great little cafe around the corner. I saw no roaches as an earlier reviewer noted, but get real: roaches are part of south Florida! A plumbing repair required that I be moved from my original room after the first night. Jorge at the front desk and staff were proactive; contacting me, moving my luggage while I was away, and upgrading me to a suite. Thank you Jorge! I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Bart H,

Thank you for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your time while staying with us! The location of our hotel is in the center of all of the action. We are within walking distance to everything that you can do here! Our staff is always eager to serve you, and we are glad that is what you experienced! I see that you were also able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly. It's a perfect way to start the night off right. Plus you get to meet your temporary neighbors. I will let Jorge and the rest of our front desk team know of your kind praise! Our goal is to accommodate our guests in any way that we can! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Have a wonderful day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Property: Hotel Shelley
Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing