We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Miami trip”
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #77 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Shelley was an awesome boutique hotel on Collins Ave. (Ocean drive is the next street). We stayed one night and loved the atmosphere, the staff and the free Happy Hour from 7-8pm! The DJ was awesome too! The rooms were quaint, but offered everything a couple who wanted to spend all day outdoors, a place to lay our head at night! There is no elevator and it's more of an eclectic crowd so if your not there to experience the REAL Miami vibe, this is not the hotel for you! If your young, hip and like shopping, people watching and spending time at the beach... you've found the secret to a successful vaca!

Room Tip: This room accommodates a minimalists bags. Too many bags and you may not be able to walk around. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Kristin J,

We hope that we were able to make your mini trip an amazing one. We like to give our guest a true Miami experience. Glad to hear you enjoyed one of many amazing amenities, happy hour. We like our guest to mingle and enjoy themselves to the fullest while visiting Miami!

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is unique! It was a reasonable price and a great location for enjoying South Beach!
Close to everything. Close to clubs, close to the beach (2 minutes), close to a 7-11 supermarket, close to a hostel to join their parties.
I went to this hotel with my friends so we had good time.
The rooms were clean with comfortable temperature.
I really enjoyed my recent stay at Hotel Shelley. ANA and DUSKO on reception were awesome :) Always smiling, friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend Shelly´s for young and fun people. Old people, just stay away unless you want to have fun :)
Hapy hour is from 7pm to 8pm, love it :)
Rooms are absolutely OK, and very clean & very good equipped. Beds are comfortable. 24-hour shuttle to the Airport (free of charge!)

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter ... but if u wanna party it doesn't matter ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Stefan D,

We are centrally located to everything, beaches, restaurant and shopping. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our complaintary happy hour and airport transportation. We welcome all ages to our hotel especially those looking to have a memorable time in Miami Beach. Thank you for the review.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If this was not the worst hotel we have ever stayed in then I don't know what was. Where to start? The hallways are dirty, dark and dingy. There was dried vomit on the carpet stairs and roaches in the bedroom. Admittedly we are not part of the party set but the volume of the music in the bar / lounge at night was ridiculous. Rooms are tiny and cramped with minimal fittings and barely adequate air con. they have the cheek to charge a daily "resort fee" for this dump which any resort would be ashamed of. The bellman "Chris" was friendly and helpful. The front desk agent "Dusko" was OK until we found an error in our account which indicated we had only paid for 3 nights not 4. Dusko was adamant that 3 days was correct and he could not adjust as we had already paid. We emailed the "South Beach Group" on this issue who confirmed that our initial impression of 4 days was correct. Front desk agent Anna was helpful in finally resolving this issue. I could go on but you get the picture, NO at any price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Tony C,

I am very sad to hear you did not have a pleasant stay during your visit. I understand that at times errors occur when you book through a third party. We are happy that Ana was able to resolve this issue for you. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you the true guest experience we provide. Hope you will stay with s again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is unique! It was a reasonable price and a great location for enjoying South Beach! Parking is a hassle so I suggest the parking garage on 7th, otherwise you might have to move your car for street cleaning IF you can even find a spot! Don't come here expecting a high end hotel but it is nice for the price. It reminds me of the bed and breakfasts that we stayed in on our Europe trip! The building is a old art deco building so it is nice to get to enjoy a part of Miami's history without the price of the one that are located South Beach.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tinaaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

tinaaustin,

Thank you for the great review. Yes parking on South Beach in general is at times a hassle, especially on weekends, but with patience spots are usually available. The garage is usually the best option for overnight parking. Thanks for letting our readers know about the garage on 5th street. We look forward to having you as a guest again!

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are staying in the room 316. Amazing stay, we love the room. Hotel is great for this price. The front desk service was awesome. Ana and Dusko help us out with everything that we needed here at the beach. They are great!!!! Happy hour,, free drinks and nice place to meeting people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Vladimir M.,

Love that you are writing a review during your stay. We will let our staff members know about the great service they are providing you. Enjoy your happy hour!

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went to this hotel with my friends so we had good time, but I think that people with small kids or older people won't be so satisfied-it's to noisy! The location of hotel is great and they have free airport shuttle. The rooms were clean with comfortable temperature. The stuff was very professional and friendly, especially girl named Ana.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvarga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

mvarga3,

Glad to hear you and your friends had a good time during your stay. We hope you enjoyed our free airport shuttle and took advantage of our daily happy hour. These are just a few of the amazing perks we provide our guests. We will let Ana know about your review. I am sure she will be happy to hear that she provided such great service.

Thank you,

Steven Morales,
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my girlfriends first time to Miami. We arrived into Miami International airport late on Friday night. We caught the 10pm (free) shuttle from the airport to the Hotel Shelley, it took maybe 20 minutes to get to the hotel with a few stops along the way.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the guy at front desk (I wish I could remember his name), he was so friendly and helpful. We noticed the atmosphere was very upbeat, and they were setting up for Karaoke.
If you plan on having a quiet and relaxing evening, this may not be the place for you at least not on this Friday night.
Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, everything is walking distance. The hotel is located one street over from Ocean Drive (Fantastic!). We enjoyed our evening of dinner and then Mangos, which is located around the corner from the hotel.
When checking out the next morning, the guy was just as friendly and sweet as the guy from the night before (I don’t remember his name either) he told me he was from Serbia. He retrieved my luggage from the third floor for me and when we asked him about where to get some coffee, he told us to wait in the lobby, at the same time there was a torrential down pour of rain, he put on a rain poncho and was ready to run into the rain to get us some coffee but we couldn’t let him do that. What a nice guy!
My girlfriend and I had a great time even if it was only for one night but we will definitely be back and next time it won’t be for only one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieWoolfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

MaggieWoolfolk,

Looks like you and your girlfriend had a great time in Miami, even if it was for one day. Glad to hear you used our complimentary airport shuttle, it is one of the many perks we offer our guests. It is such a great feeling to read you review and see first hand how our staff goes above and beyond to service our guest and make sure all their needs are met, including running into the rain to get your coffee! Hope you guys will visit again soon and stay a while longer.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#82 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#91 of 212 in Miami Beach
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#142 of 212 in Miami Beach
615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $84 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing