We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #78 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. We booked a long w/e in June and booked a deluxe suite. Upon arrival we were given a v small double room that was grim and stank of smoke. They would not change our room until the next day when the manager arrived. The next day they offered us a junior suite and refused to compensate us for the difference! We also had v little maid service or any service full stop! To date there has been no apology for the mistake, they were rude and did not care about customer service, we are still waiting for our money back.

  • Liked — Nothing, would not recommend this hotel
  • Disliked — Service, rudeness of staff, incorrect booking, no apology, no refund
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laurablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    778
    406
    230
    368
See reviews for
326
803
273
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

What a terrible hotel! We have never had a worse hotel experience than this, I honestly don't know how this place stays in business. If only we'd read the reviews on this site before booking we'd have saved ourselves a week of heartache. Do yourselves a favor, book somewhere else, anywhere else, DO NOT think that this place will be OK!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

OK...I have stayed in many hotels on South Beach over the past 8 years. The service is not usually outstanding, that's ok I go for a girl's weekend we need a clean place to lay our heads-that's it! But this place was ridiculous! To begin, the AC never worked properly. We
were in Miami in July, I love hot weather but you need AC in JULY in MIAMI. During the day it was very hot and at night it was still pretty sticky. We complained, they said they would come fix it, they never did. The ceiling fans would have helped, right? But only one of
the two in the room worked. The front desk provided us with a desk fan to compensate. It really helped cool our "premium suite" down. Our phone never worked. The toilet was broken and did not flush. We called three times before someone came who....couldn't fix it!!!! Finally my friend fixed it with a safety pin and a rubberband. The housekeeping cleaned the room every night and never left any towels, not one set! Back down to the front desk because....Oh right the phone doesn't work! The housekeeping didn't leave any towels but they
left our empty pizza boxes though, I mean they could take out the trash?? It started to become a comedy of errors. I could go on but I think most folks have gotten the picture by now. I don't know anyone who would be happy staying at this dump. You expect AC and a working phone and toilet for $170 a night....Beware....

  • Liked — Nothing.....
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank missbigcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

I stayed at this hotel June 2007 and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything that south beach has to offer. (so don't rent a car because there will be no where to park it and you can just walk) My room was actually in the hotel next door (the "lily" something) and so we didn't have to deal with the loud music bumping from the hotel bar at night. But if you stay in the main hotel and want to "relax" then you may have some issues. The room was modern and clean and housekeeping did their job.
My only complaint is having to carry my luggage up 4 flights of stairs. (no elevator) and the hotel didnt have a restaurant ...only a hot plate at the bar...seriously. Also the staff was useless! Nobody knew anything ...in fact most of the time there wasnt even anyone around....just the bartender. Anyway, overall nice hotel, reasonable price...I would stay here again.

  • Liked — large modern room
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAKY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

The trip to south beach was for my bachelor party, so I didn't want the guys going to have to drop a lot of money on room and flight. We decided on Chesterfield of location and rate. We reserved the Executive Suite, which is in the building next door(lilly leon). The room was fine in terms of space and what not. If you are wanting plush, stay somewhere else. But if you need a place to crash for a few nights of partying, this hotel is fine.

The Good- Like everyone says, the location is great. You are right in the mix of beach, clubs, shops, etc. Everything is close. The bartenders in the Lilly Leon building were cool. Drink prices are kinda steep unless your getting them free at 7 till 8.

The bad- Check-in was kind of a rough. My best man had payed for room in advance with a $100 deposit. When we checked in, they tried to put another $100 deposit on it. We just got the feeling we might be getting ripped. We had printed off our paid receipts, so it worked out.

Overall, it was a good experience. Miami Beach is a non--stop party and we had a blast. I would probably look for another hotel if we go back to South Beach.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReisK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

There are many hotels in South Beach and I think you can do better than this place. I stayed for two days and never received any maid service. Half of the lights in my room did not work. I stayed directly over the lounge, and the music was clearly heard in my room until 4AM. When I checked out their computer system was down. The desk clerk told me he would e-mail my bill. I had to call 12 times over the course of a week to finally get the hotel to send me my bill. Save yourself the trouble and stay someplace else.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor customer service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

My husband and I booked 2 rooms for a Sun-Wed stay the night before leaving. Our friends arrived a day late and the ladies at reception happily cancelled their room for the Sunday night. Unfortunately, 2 hours later when our friends found they would make it on time the room had already gone. For $100 a night (plus $5 resort fee) you could not ask for better in South Beach. Hotel is a street away from the Beach, close to bars, restuarants and shops, u do not need a car. If you do bring a car I would not recommend valet. The hotel group runs the valet for all of their hotels in the area so it will take u 45mins + to get your car. The foyer has a bar and DJ that plays loud music till 6am (i think) so the rooms up the front can prob hear it. Thanks to TA I asked for a room towards the back of the hotel (room 218, 318 would have been even better) and this was great. The only noises we heard were garbage trucks for a few minutes each morning. Standard king room was as per the pictures on the website. It was clean, had iron & board, safe at no extra charge but was not cemented into the ground, stereo, tv, fridge and hair dryer. We found the staff very helpful and freindly and the happy hour is great, would def recommend and stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Valet
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#84 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing