We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a romantic rendezvous, definately for 20-somethings on the prowl”
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #75 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for a romantic rendezvous, definately for 20-somethings on the prowl”
Reviewed March 2, 2006

I won't say its a terrible hotel. Just terrible for us. We wanted quiet & romantic. Chesterfield has a disco in the lobby that plays techno music til 4:30am.

Helpful?
Thank Katheryn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    789
    416
    236
    378
See reviews for
339
820
280
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Women should be wary of staying at the Chesterfield Hotel in South Beach. The owner of the Safari Bar, located in the lobby of the Chesterfield, tries to get drunk women to dance topless on the bar so as to entice customers. Instead of looking after his clientele, he makes them feel preyed upon. I saw three different women fighting with the owner for making them feel uncomfortable. Plus the music in the bar is blaring til 4am; you won't be able to sleep if you're on the first floor. I also found a roach crawling on my bed - terrible experience, sleazy hotel

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Just got back from the chesterfield hotel and all i have to say is that its very average, for the price you pay. We were hoping that the place would be a lot more fun for a group of mid 20's guys, but it really did not live up to expectations (happy hour and VIP passes). Their lounge area was not very happening and the people seemed to be a much older crowd. The rooms themselves are decent, but not nearly enough room for 4 people. The bathrooms have a unique vibe to them, but don't make to much sense (all of your stuff gets soaking wet). There are a lot of places to stay in SOBE, so I would have to say that i will not be staying at this hotel ever again. The two pros of the hotel are - great location, in the middle of everything and the people were friendly. Overall, the place is kind of over priced, not a real happening place, but absolutely a great location for a hotel in SOBE.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2006

This hotel is not for everyone. If you enjoy the party scene and like music and mingling then this is for you. I personally thought that the mirrors in the bathroom and no shower curtain gave this hotel its own unique touch. The beds were comfortable, but the room was very small. It is a very convenient location and I would stay there again. I frequent Miami beach at least twice a year. Wet Willies is about two blocks up and there are plenty of places to choose from to dine within walking distance. Most clubs are also within walking distance. If you are not into the party scene, don't even think about going to Miami during a holiday like Memorial Day or Labor Day. The traffic is horrible and there are wall to wall people (not to mention the outrageous prices of clubs abd bars). The hotel staff was friendly and the nightly happy hour is a good touch. Don't depend on getting full from the so called "continential breakfast" they serve, though. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2005

Rooms are stylish but noisy if you are on the lower floors. One problem is that the beds are INFESTED with bed bugs I only stayed one night but got badly bitten by bed bugs, which kind of ruined the whole thing!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRFdeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 29, 2005

Two friends and I stayed at the Chesterfield in October after our cruise. I read some reviews and decided to give it a shot. Having stayed at Haddon Hall the year before, anything else was a serious improvement. We arrived a few hours early and had no problems checking in. The bellman took our bags to the room on the elevator. Note: If you're claustrophobic or weigh more than 110 lbs., DO NOT TAKE THE ELEVATOR. It's like a padded coffin that creaks! Our room was small, as most boutique hotel rooms are, but it was very chic and clean! The white linens and the contemplorary touches made squeezing 3 people in a double-bed room bearable. The bathroom was very European--the entire bathroom was a shower: no doors, no tub, no partitions. And everything gets wet. ANOTHER NOTE: Put your belongings underneath the sink to keep them dry during a shower. We didn't interact much with the staff, but they were courteous enough when we did.
The hotel's greatest asset is its location. We were close to all the action and then some--the hotel has a bar in the lobby where party-goers frequent nightly. I'm glad we booked on the 3rd floor away from the elevators. Although we could still hear the thumping of the bass until 3 a.m., all other noise was not a factor. The beds were comfortable and there were no awful smells (a la Haddon Hall). The cleaning service did a good job. We never saw any bugs of any kind, thank goodness. I have two small complaints: the art deco look is fine, but that's still no reason to dim the halls to nearly pitch black. The orange walls is one thing, but for safety sake I hope this hotel invests in brighter light bulbs. And why put the room numbers are on the bottom of the door? That's just plain silly.
Overall, I had a good time. I would stay again, but I would book two rooms if traveling with more than 2 people.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2005

The hotel is fine , clean and fun, the staff is very nice even though the manager dont help on anything. I've tried around 10 times to talk to a ghost manager called Chris he never showed up which means that he don't care about the place. Anyhow i had fun. Watch for the roaches and bugs that are in all the rooms. bring your own spray.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#86 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,469 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Croydon
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#87 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,179 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing