We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Blast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #78 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always A Blast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've traveled to Miami numerous times over the past few years and I always find myself staying at South Beach Group brand hotels. I stayed at the Chesterfield last week for 1 night before going on a cruise and it was simply amazing. I've also stayed at the sister properties including the Catalina, The Whitelaw and Hotel Shelley. The check-in process was fast and simple. Pedro and Alex were absolutely awesome! Very friendly and even gave my boyfriend and I an upgrade to a premium suite. Really nice unexpected treat! The room was clean and comfy and there were 2 tvs in the room so me and my boyfriend didnt even have to fight over the remote :) We also took advantage of the nightly open bar happy hour; this is another main reason why I love this hotel brand. Kristina was a very pleasant bartender and our drinks were perfect! The free shuttle to and from the airport is a big plus as well. Only one complaint..the internet wi-fi was not as speedy and, at times, did not work at all. Other than that, our stay was great and I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapeach1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good Evening Gapeach1388,

We love to get feedback from our guests and love when it's good stuff like yours! :) Thank you so much for being a loyal returning guests! I will definitely let the mentioned staff know about your kind regards! Our staff works hard to make sure that each and every guest is having an amazing time and, that all of our requests are tended to! We are always willing to accommodate our guests if we have rooms that are available. :) I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm. It's a perfect way to start the night or end the day! Plus you can mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    773
    400
    225
    363
See reviews for
321
791
267
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

At this hotel we had better experience than anywhere.
We enjoyed all the staff that this hotel offer: beach towels, free drinks from 7pm to 8pm, Internet in the room.
General manager Darko was AWESOME. He did a great up-grade for us and we were really happy with that. He is really polite and professional and because of him we will always come back and this hotel has my BIG recommendation!!!!!!!
Front desk was great, Francesca was really helpful . She suggested night clubs and restaurants. We did a tour too.. it was great.
Nelson and Jose bell-persons were really funny and helpful with our bags.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a-d-0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good Evening a-d-0308,

We value all of our guests feedback and love when it's positive such as yours! :) Thank you! We do provide each and every guest with a load of wonderful amenities! Such as the R/T shuttle from MIA, cocktail hour from 7-8PM nightly, WiFi, beach towels, etc. Darko is amazing and takes his job very seriously, and is a great leader for the rest of his team! We are always willing to accommodate guests with an upgrade as long as we are able to! I will let all of the mentioned staff know of your kind praise! We hope that you make us your go to hotel when visiting Miami! See you next time! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

stayed here for 8 nights end of aug, begining of sept. room was nice, staff friendly and helpful. location couldn't have been better for beach,shops, eating out, had a great holiday. would recommend this hotel, we had no complaints about the cleanliness of our room or the hotel. would definitely stay here again
Scott and Selina from Scotland

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello scottandselina,

There is absolutely nothing that we love more then to get positive reviews, with 5 wonderful stars! I am very content to learn that you were content with your room and the service that our staff provided you with. We are located in the heart of South Beach just blocks away from all the hottest shops, restaurants, bars, and lounges. We are the perfect location to get the real South Beach experience! We hope that you would stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover,Maryland United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

OMG this was my very first time in South Beach, Miami after i had booked my room the reviews didn't look so good but i said to myself i have to find out for myself and that what i did. The experience was amazing the staff was wonderful especial Darko Gjorgioski and Pedro Alvarado had great customer service skills and they also made sure that my stay was a great and wonderful experience as well. The room i stayed at during my stay was beautiful words cant even explain how clean colorful and pretty the room was and also another employee at the hotel name Pedro helped us with our bags and he had wonderful customer service.The location of the hotel was very convenient and right there by the beach and around alot of eatery's. Also from 7pm to 8pm they have free happy hour and the bartender was wonderful as for this to be my first experience i had a great time loved it.

Room Tip: The suites are laid love them haven't stayed in any another type but it was a wonderful experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasheeka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Rasheeka H,

Your amazing 5 star feedback is very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for sharing with us! We are very glad that you chose to stay with us on your first visit to South Beach!! I am glad that you chose to stay with us regardless of the bad reviews. Our hotel isn't going to be for everyone and everyone has their opinion. Our staff is great and is always hard at work to make sure that each and every guest gets the service that they deserve! Our location is great for those who want the true SoBe experience. We are close to all the action and just blocks away from the beach. I see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. It's a perfect way to start the night off right or to end the day for those who had a long one. We hope to see you again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Free shuttle, decent customer service, good location, but I wasn't the only thing breathing in the room. I woke up and saw handful of cockroaches dissipate from my bag, shoes. So disgusting this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssanai81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Good Evening ssanai81,

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle. It's a great money saver and we know that everyone loves to save money! I am sorry that you found an insect in your room, though we never got a complaint about this. If we were aware of this at the time you were with us, we would have definitely moved you to another room or compensated you in another way. We apologize for the negative experience you had with that.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very friendly staff specially on front desk. Helped me a lot to get around and truly know what Miami has to offer. I was helped a staff called Francesca , you definitely should look for her when checkin in.

The hotel is kind of a boutique. Has Ipod docks everywhere, great beers on minibar, no password for internet (which avoids the annoying big passwords we usually see around) and great environment. Looks like they took care of all small things.

Great service to get to the airport as well.

Room Tip: Ask for staff Francesca!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriqueGoncalves85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello there HenriqueGoncalves85,

There is nothing that we love to see more is a positive review with 5 stars!!! :) Thank you for sharing yours! I see that you were given great service by our staff! They are always wanting the best for our guests, and making sure that they are having an amazing time! We are indeed a boutique hotel. It seems to me like you had a great time staying with us! We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

On September 02, 2013 I made a reservation for a one night and the hotel turn out to be the Chesterfield in South Miami Beach. Shuttle service is bad, lack of information. When I made the reservation through "Hotwire.com" I was suppose to pay $58 dollars for a one day reservation. Ended up paying $113,=. The additional cost was a taxi I had to pay because the shuttle never came to the airport to pick me up and this after I call several times asking them, when is the shuttle coming? I waited from 9:30 pm to 11:15 pm after which they told me I had to take the taxi because the last shuttle was at 10:00, while they inform me before that the last shuttle would be at the airport at 11:00 pm. When it was clear that I had to take the taxi they told me that they transfer my reservation to another hotel. I had to pay $36.30 to a taxi to take me to the hotel. And one of the key factors of choosing the hotel was for the shuttle service. They transfer me to "The Catalina Hotel" which is from the same group apparently. When I got there nobody knew of the transfer and I had to call Chesterfield again after which they call The Catalina Hotel to inform then from the transfer.
When I check in at the Catalina Hotel they didn't tell me anything about a "resort fee" in the morning I had a receipt underneath my door informing me I had to pay that to.
After checking out I had to wait from 11:30 a.m. till 2:pm to get a shuttle to take me to the airport. They told me that all shuttles were full and that I was suppose to reserve the shuttle. This is the first time I have heard this at a hotel.
All by all A BAD EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Ant253,

Your honest feedback is very much appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to share it with us, and all of our future guests! Our shuttle comes every hour on the hour unless we have a mechanical issue or there is a heavy amount of traffic, that we are not aware about. Our shuttle is a complimentary service that we offer as a courtesy. Our airport shuttle is offered on a space available basis. South Beach Group is not responsible for paying for guest transportation when the shuttle bus is full or has mechanical issues. Perhaps you were waiting in the wrong location when you were waiting for the shuttle. Due to new airport security regulations, our shuttle cannot sit at Terminal G, Second Floor Departures for a long period. While standing at the shuttle stop location please wave down our shuttle when you see it so our driver knows to stop for you. The Catalina Hotel is indeed in our group of hotels and a lovely upgrade! :) When you originally booked on Hotwire to stay at Chesterfield Hotel it did clearly state that 13% tax and a $15 resort fee is not included in your final price (Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book. This property told us they will charge you for the following:
A 13 percent city/local tax will be charged
Resort fee: USD 15 per accommodation, per night). The same applies for all of our hotels on South Beach.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#68 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing