We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing suite in the heart of exciting Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #79 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
“Amazing suite in the heart of exciting Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I received a free upgrade to a suite, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was spectacular. Service was great, very friendly and prompt. Valet was pricey, but everything us in this neighborhood. Highly recommended. I got a steal bidding on Priceline.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brad21ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Brad21ohio,

Your kind 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you chose to share it with us! I am glad to read that we were able to accommodate you to a suite, at no charge. I am very glad to read that you were content with your room, and the service that was provided to you. Our staff works hard to ensure that you have a great time here with us! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    707
    355
    207
    340
See reviews for
280
685
230
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were moved to this hotel by the manager after we had a horrendous time at the Hotel Shelley. We were fortunate enough to be given a suite. The room was very nice and very clean. We had a nice jacuzzi tub in the room and the bed was very comfortable. The room was so tidy and smelled very clean. I really liked the lanai that was just outside our door. I do not know if we had neighbors but if we did the room was very soundproof.
The hotel staff was very knowledgeable and were able to direct us to pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. I really liked that the room was so bright and the lobby was brightly lit as well, very welcoming. I did have a bit of an issue with the Resort Fee as it didnt seem to provide much and once again we could not use the shuttle service as it was not running on the day we required it. I think the room was overpriced but I would rather pay more for something comfortable than to be disgusted in another hotel.

Room Tip: As for a suite in the detached part of the hotel, it is very nice and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Momwithlove,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad that you had a nice time while staying with us! I see that you were content with the cleanliness of your room. Our staff is very knowledgeable when it comes to things to do in South Beach! They know of all the hot spots, and have great connections too! Please come back and have another memorable stay with us!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Anna is the best bartender in miami, thank you for the service. I stopped at few bars, but this one was a special place with appropriate attention to every customer. Thank you Anna for best coctails you made. Best muhitos, best vodka with cranberies. Wow this is one of the best evenings here!

Helpful?
Thank Botanikas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Botanikas,

Your wonderful 5 star feedback is greatly appreciated and I am really glad that you chose to share it with us and all of our future guests! Anna is definitely a great bartender and I will make sure that she is informed of your praise! She can whip up some delicious refreshing cocktails. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It started when they showed us our room. It was 10 by 10 and painted a bile green. There was no natural sun since the shades all had to be closed for privacy. (It was on the first floor) There were no drawers only poorly painted wood shelves. There was only one electric outlet in the bathroom. The floors had dark wood-like vinyl tiles that " bounced" when you walked on them. The cleaning crew was inconsistent often not coming till 4:30 or not at all . We had paid in advance for a conference and begged to be given another room. To make matters worse, the cost of the room for the conference was $319 but the usual price was $188. They were "kind" enough to cut the price for two nights out of seven. DO NOT GO THERE.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Peter G,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then the average hotel room. You are able to open your shades to get sunlight and still have privacy. The room attendants have a route that they have to follow. They have until the evening to clean the rooms. Unless you placed the "Do not Disturb" sign on your door, or requested not to have your room serviced, there should be no reason as to why they didn't come to clean your room. Can you please provide me with the number to the room that you were staying in so that I can look further into the situation? Our prices do go up based on special events that are going on in town, and supply and demand. When there are events in town every hotel here on South Beach will raise their price. Thank you for your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé upon our return from our cruise to the Caribbean. Located minutes away from Ocean Drive and the beautiful Miami beaches, we picked the perfect location. Our room was located in their auxiliary building and was fully equipped with jacuzzi tub, lounge area and free wifi! We had a minor issue with the water temperature in the shower, however we advised the front desk and they sent their maintenance person up right away to get it fixed. The bell boy was super friendly and helped us up 2 flights of stairs with our luggage. Front desk staff was very hospitable and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable! The lobby was very inviting and the bar offers happy hour during designated times which was a plus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chesterfield and we will definitely be coming back :) a huge thank you to all the staff for being so friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarrahMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello FarrahMo,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your return from your cruise to the Caribbean. We are just steps from Ocean Drive and to many other great spots around South Beach. I apologize about the issue that you experienced with the water temperature of the water, but very glad to know that our team went to try to resolve this issue immediately! I hope that you would choose to stay with us, if returning to visit South Beach again! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the chesterfield. Alex at check in was very helpful when asking for great local hot spots. Marcial was entertaining as the bell hop. The happy hour from 7-8 was great. The bartender Anastasia was really cool and was an expert at hookah.the breakfast at the hotel was delicious ... Their french toast was the best i had. The rooms were fairly small but enough space for two women to move about. The lighting is dark so if yoir doing your makeup you will need to step outside to check your not over doing it. The location was great your in walking distance of shopping and food. Overall i would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nisha_renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Good Afternoon Nisha_ renee,

Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking your time to provide it to us, and for our future guests to read! I see that you were given exceptional service by Alex at the time of check in, and he was helpful when asking for local hot spots. Marcial is a great bell men and all of our guests love him and the service that he provides! Our complimentary cocktail hour is also a great amenity that we offer. It's a great way to start the night off right. I am glad that you were able to try the breakfast! They have really delicious food and so fresh! We do provide lamps for those guests that would like more illumination. Were you able to ask the front desk agent for one? Our location is definitely prime! We are located in the heart of South Beach, withing walking distance to all of the hot spots in the area.
Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Have an amazing day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I checked in at 11 PM and was offered a huge suite for all three nights even though I only paid for a standard room. The entire staff were friendly and very accommodating. The wi-fi worked well in my room despite being told that it would only work in the lobby. Nicely decorated rooms and stylish lobby was a great place to meet my clients. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to South Beach. Free airport shuttle bus was on time....a great way to start and end my short business trip in Miami.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Shane A,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful 5 star feedback! I am really glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! I am content to see that you we were able to accommodate you to a bigger room. Our staff is always eager to serve you and I am glad that you were given great service!
We hope to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#74 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#80 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 4,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#111 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#77 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Apartments
Metropole Apartments
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing