We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!”
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #70 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is quite small but nice! The rooms are nice and clean, the bathrooms are amazing! One minute from the beach, restaurants and shops! The bar area plays some music but it did not disturb us. Lovely rooftop are with afternoon sun and a hot tub. There was a little issue with our booking but the hotel manager dealt with it in a really nice way so everything was sorted out for us!

Room Tip: The hotel offers a free pick up at the airport, but email them what time your flight gets in to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidandlovisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Good Afternoon Davidandlovisa,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are very glad to read that you like your room and the cleanliness of it. Our location is great- centrally located. We apologize that you ran into a minor issue with your booking, but the manager took care of it immediately.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,182 - 2,188 of 3,326 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Chesterfield Hotel was a nice place. Its clean, up to date , cozy. The Decor is amazing. Customer Service person (Pedro Alvarado ) was pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any one staying in South Beach Florida.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Good Afternoon Sandra P,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you chose to share it with us! I am glad that you had nice time while staying with us! Our hotel is definitely clean and cozy!! I will let Pedro know of your kind praise! It is a great member to our team! We hope to have you stay with us again sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent two nights here in January 2013. The room was comfortable and clean all though our room did back on to the back alley and there was quite a bit of noise. Of an evening a DJ plays music in the lobby thankfully, as our room was on the third floor once the bedroom door was closed, you could only just make out the sound from below. The position of the hotel could not have been better for Ocean Drive its restaurants, night life and the beach. The hotel staff some were very good others more distracted and a little grumpy. Overall our experience of the hotel was between average and very good I would give another star if there was a good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Shirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Good Afternoon 60Shirl,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! We are extremely glad to read that you were comfortable while staying in our clean rooms. We are working on finding a grand solution for the noise. The positioning of our location is definitely great!! We are in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to all of the action!! I am glad that you found our staff to be good despite a few. Do you remember their names? Or perhaps what they looked like?
We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Chesterfield over Christmas and New Year 2012/2013. The best thing about the hotel is definately the location, adjacent to Ocean Drive, the beach, restaurants, nightlife, shops are all within walking distance. The service was very disappointing, you would expect staff to be well informed of local areas and would offer recommendations for restaurants, places to visit, etc. however no information was forthcoming and the staff were not very helpful. There was a large turnaround of customers to the hotel, therefore I do not think they bothered to get to know customers, although our stay was 2 weeks. Our room was not cleaned on one day and we had to change rooms 3 times due to mix ups with the front desk, very frustrating. When in the suite the 3 of us had a bed each, however the noise from the bar was annoying as we could not sleep. We were moved to a standard room which meant 2 of us had to share a bed, these rooms are very small with very large furniture and small bathrooms, not ideal. We had to move again as the noise from the a/c units was unbearable. There were lots of standard items that were missing in the rooms, no mirror, no drawers, which meant we were living out of our suitcases, not ideal for 2 weeks.

Watch out for the additional $15 a night surcharge this is supposed to include a free drink at the bar during happy hour, shuttle service, etc. however the choice of drinks are very limited and a lot of the items they said were on offer we did not need to use.

No facilities in room to make tea, coffee, no room service or pool either.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quite cluttered with large furniture and have small bathrooms, try for a suite as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkle168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hello Sparkle 168,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us!! We are glad to read that you were content with the location of our property! We are in the middle of everything within walking distance to all of the action! I apologize that you were not able to get great feedback from our staff in regards to good places to eat, drink, party, etc. We are currently working on fixing the issue that we have been having with the noise. We are a boutique hotel and rooms in hotels such as those are a bit smaller then your average. Our complimentary cocktail hour lets you enjoy one full hour of free drinks. The liquor is well liquors but they are unlimited from 7-8pm.
We would hope that you would give us another chance!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I booked in to The Chesterfield after reading reviews ..... It was very reasonably priced, and reviews looked fair. We arrived early than expected, but after a very busy weekend there were no rooms ready early .... But we were treated so well by Alex on reception, who gave us info on what to do, places to eat for breakfast, and pointed us in the direction of the fabulous roof top sun deck. He really made us feel at home within minutes of arriving. We then had the pleasure of meeting the extremely helpful and friendly porter, Marcial - who took our bags, and made us again feel very welcome at The Chesterfield. Alex even managed to upgrade us to an amazing suite .... The icing on the cake!!! Marcial was just always there, if we needed anything, he was there to help .... He was amazing!! We were then served in the evening by the amazing Anna ... Service with a smile - we loved this place!! The rooms were clean, very well maintained, so close to the beach, bars and restaurants ..... One bad point - the rude front desk girl Francesca .... Never seen such a moody, sour face receptionist .... She was rude to everyone!!! I work in hospitality, and have never experienced such poor service from one person .... Good job The Chesterfield have people like Alex, Marcial and Anna that make the place first class :-) Thank you for the perfect stay!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmajbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Director of Sales at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Good Afternoon Emmajbelle,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I am very glad that you chose to share it with us! We apologize that we did not have any rooms available when you tried to check in early. It was an extremely busy weekend and we were sold out. I see that you were given excellent service by the one and only: Alex!!! He is such a great asset to our team and knows SO much about South Beach, and all of the hot spots! I will let all of the mentioned staff know about your kind praise! Our team is always eager to serve you! I will have a talk with Francesca to see what the issue was with her that day. She is never like that and it is unfortunate that you saw her like that.

We hope to create more wonderful memories with you!
Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Booked a basic double queen bed room for 6 days.It was kinda dark and dismal, the window was facing another hotel next door. The room was small and tight esp with the queen beds, but it was good enough to rest in after a long night of partying. My homegirl was freaking out because she got there before I did and it was a little...scary. I had that room with the wooden wall thing, the bathroom reminded me an outdoor shower or something, tile and a mirror in the shower...kind of strange. Dont expect fluffy awesome down comforters...its just a sheet. Dont try to put any more than two people in a room because they are super tight, even with just two people. The service was ok, I dont know if the maids were just rude or maybe it was the fact that they didnt speak english, i dont know. We had to keep calling the front desk to clean the room every day, sometimes they did sometimes they didnt. On the upside it is in the middle of everything, the beach and shopping is walking distance, the hotel lobby had a DJ and we actually had parties in the lobby as well, that was pretty cool. Breakfast was awesome, the food was great but expensive. Beware of the hotel fees when you check out, there was a $100 hotel service fee or something, and I booked with Expedia. Overall good enough to crash after partying esp if u dont intend on being there too often, I wouldnt go there to spend a leisure vacation or bring family because it is loud....definitely not soundproof lol

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SayReyNey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hello SayReyNey,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you chose to share it with us!! Our rooms and the style of them are a bit dark yet sophisticated. We are a boutique hotel so our rooms are a bit smaller. Perhaps the room type that you booked was smaller then what you needed. We do offer several different room types to accommodate all of our guests and the space that they each want. The housekeepers that we have here at the hotel are far from rude. Perhaps a bit shy as their English isn't top notch. They are all eager to serve you and make you feel right at home. Our location is great and within walking distance to almost everything. I see that you were content with the breakfast that was served. The restaurant has amazing food and so fresh! We do take a $100 hold on your card for incidentals. The funds are released back onto your account the moment you check out.

Have a wonderful day!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Chesterfield for the BCS Championship game. I really liked the fun, modern design of the hotel and the location is perfect. Right near the beach and all of the local restaurants and bars. While the rooms are not big, they are standard size for the area where most hotels on Collins and Ocean are more intimate and boutique. The rainfall shower was a great touch. The hotel also offers free beach towels for its guests and a free happy hour every day from 7 – 8 p.m. We were so appreciative – especially when we saw guests from other hotels wondering where they would have to go to buy beach towels for their short stay.

My only complaint was the check-in process was somewhat slow.

All in all, we thought the hotel was a great value and really all you need for a fun and relaxing beach vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Good Afternoon Jonathan K,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a great experience while staying with us! Our rooms have a funky touch to them and is very different in comparison to lots of other places. We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are not as big as your average hotel room. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful amenities!!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#91 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,755 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,000 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,556 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#76 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $112 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing