We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“so simple in miami beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #75 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Lucia
2 reviews
“so simple in miami beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

this is one of the places i loved. i stayed in a quiet condo like apartment which had two bedrooms, a living room and exquisite bathroom. i will ALWAYS come to that hotel whem i am in MIAMI BEACH.. its the best!!!!

Room Tip: choose one on the top floor , in the back, away from the street. that's where i stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello,

Your feedback is so greatly appreciated! I am glad that you loved it here and very nice to know that you will stay with us when you come back to South Beach. We LOVE returning guests. Please let me know when you will be visiting and I would love to handle your reservation!
We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Have a great day!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    736
    373
    217
    347
See reviews for
294
730
248
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Was greeted by a great staff, Pedro and Jose. They were very helpful and gave us an upgrade to a suite. Wasn't expecting this. With all the bad review sin Miami about the hotels this was a pleasant suprise. My son stayed here last summer and had a wonderful experience, so we thought we would check it out.

As far as South Beach being a party place, its where you chose to stay. Hotel in the thick of the nite life, but is private enough to get away from it all. The stuite was clean and decorated nicely. The jet/whirlpool tub worked fantastic. There was free happy hour for guests in the lobby and the drinks were not watered down! Everything expensive, but what else do you expect when in Miami Beach. Not surprised!

When we left we were helped again by a great staff Daniel and Anna. Everyone greeted us with a smile the entire time we stayed at the hotel. I am so happy that I was able to have this experience in South Beach. We just wanted to get away for a day or two while visiting family in Pampano and thought we would go to South Beach. But reading the review of the hotels was scarry...we weren't sure what kind of experience we were going to have. With all this said I now know where Im going to stay from now on when I decide to go spend the weekend in Miami. My advice is stay here it is an experience and you won't regret! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The suites are great! If you have a choice get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good Morning Catherine,

Thank you for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read. I am very glad to read that you had a great experience while staying with us! I am also glad that we were able to accommodate you with an upgrade to a suite! South Beach is a total party place and it all depends on where you are staying. I see that you were able to enjoy our complimentary cocktail hour. It's a cool hour where you can meet and greet your fellow neighbors. Please let me know when you will be back in South Beach and I would love to personally handle your reservation. We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The chesterfield is a boutique hotel - do not hold any illusions about being at a resort. It is also in south beach - do not hold any illusions about it not being centered around a party crowd.

The decor and rooms are very unique, eclectic, and fun. I'm pretty sure everyone gets a "free upgrade," but that's never a problem. We have stayed here twice because of good service and a good location. The rooms are nice but not soundproof, hence the comment about not holding illusions of what the clientele is.

If you want a resort experience, look elsewhere. If you want a central location in south beach, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback. I am very glad that you very satisfied with the decor and your room! We strive to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest that comes to stay with us! We hope to have you stay with us again for the 3rd time! :)
We hope to see you soon!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I needed a nice place to stay for one night upon my return to the States from a trip abroad--I wanted to decompress a bit before getting on another flight and thought South Beach would be a great place. The Chesterfield was a great option for my layover---they had a free shuttle from the airport and the price was very reasonable. The staff were friendly and they even upgraded my room to a bigger suite with a jacuzzi tub (too bad I didn't have time to enjoy it)! I thought the room was really cute and close to all of the great shopping and restaurants. I also discovered that the restrooms off of the lobby have a shower so if you have to check out at noon and still have time to hit the beach you can use the shower back there! If I find myself in South Beach again I would definitely stay here and relax a bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninasthinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good Afternoon Nina,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the hotel with all of our future guests! I am very glad that you chose to stay with us on your layover! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle from MIA Airport. Lucky you- got upgraded to a bigger suite with a jacuzzi tub. We are conveniently located in the heart of it all. Perhaps the next time that you come to South Beach you can take advantage of the jacuzzi! :)

Have an amazing weekend!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

They call themselves a ''sexy'' hotel...

Yes - the location is convenient to the beach and dining/drinking. Just like tens of dozens of other hotels in the area.

We stayed here on a one night transit in Miami. Back from dinner is when we had our first encounter with a couple cockroaches. You don't see them on the dark floor of the room or during the day but trust me there was quite a few.

This always makes you wonder how clean the property you are staying at is. We looked at our room at the Chesterfield a bit more in detail and it makes you understand why the roaches loves it: absolutely filthy sticky floors with hairs and dust, garbage under the mattress on which you sleep: hairs, chewing gum, papers, dirty towel to name a few, a credit card slip from six months ago.

Cleanliness is the most basic expectation you have for a hotel room: The Chesterfield fails at providing it.

The pictures are self-explanatory.

The hotel charges a 15$/room + tax ''Resort Fee''. They have a free airport shuttle from 7 AM which was nice. The happy hour free cocktail is a a mixed drink in a cheap plastic glass in a pretty dreadful atmosphere - I passed. Did not use their Wifi.

Room was not soundproofed at all, you could hear discussion from the outside, TV from next door and corridor traffic all night. Took a shower at 9:30AM - not hot water whatsoever.

My recommendation to the Chesterfield: less ''sexy'', more tidy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friendly service. We were upgraded. Only complaint is internet wifi didn't work. Rooms were clean. TV is not HD. Good location right off Ocean Drive. We booked it based on previous reviews so made a good choice. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Chesterfield is a great place to stay for young people and younger couples! The atmosphere is like that of a club or bar in the lobby, but its perfect for you if you like that energy!
The staff was excellent (Alex at the front desk was friendly, professional, and incredibly helpful! One of the bellmen, (I think his nametag said Marcival) was excellent and curteous, helping me when I lost the valet ticket and getting our car pulled around after we checked out) Check in (and check out) quick and easy. You have to valet your car (a sizeable extra cost for some) but pretty much anything you might want is within walking distance!!
The rooms were clean for the most part and had a sophisticated with modern feel. If you're like me, the ambient noise from the streets and lobby below will not bother you (not as bad as we thought/ read in the reviews).

We loved it here (this makes the 2nd time) and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBound12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#72 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#95 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#88 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing