We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #76 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights here recently and I would have to say the cheery shuttle driver Denise who picked us up from the airport set a great tone for the rest of our trip.
Check in staff were perhaps not the most friendly but further reception staff were extremely helpful.
We were upgraded from a king room to a suite (located in the next building) but the bath tub in the only room made it a little cramped.
The hotel doesn't have a pool but we were able to use the pool at another if the group hotels.
Happy hour was ok. It expect half or quarter nips and it is only on spirits.
Sushi at the restaurant in thir complex was extremely fresh and tasty and the staff in this bar were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    799
    422
    241
    385
See reviews for
349
832
285
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

At the airport: We chose this hotel because of the free shuttle from the airport. The information provided on the website only said to go to "G" but didn't say that door 26 was "G". Since the site didn't say the name on the shuttle we had to call. They should be more clear.

Check in: Very fast and friendly, he even gave us an upgrade.

Room: AMAZING! I loved it, had no problems with the room itself. Our biggest problem was the stupid door key. Every time we had to unlock the door it took us literally 3-4 minutes because the magnetic strip wouldn't read. We kept swipping and still wouldn't open. Several times we went to the desk and everytime he showed us how to do it, we would try again and again and it wouldn't work. Very frustrating! I've had many hotels with card readers and never had a problem opening any door.

Location: Perfect spot to walk to everything. There is a good breakfast spot around the corner on 9th, very tasty!

Noise!!!!!! I know we are in South Beach but OMG! The room we were in was located in a different building so there is an "alley way" with tables and chairs. Very pretty but people are partying constantly. There was a women who wouldn't shut up and still going strong at 5:30am. Had a very hard time sleeping, actually no sleep! This isn't really a fault of the hotel, that's what SoBe is.

Shuttle back to the airport was on time and the driver was very nice. Good ending but sad to leave.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is any quiet area. Definitely not in the alley way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferPLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

1st time going to Miami we stayed at the Chesterfield and it was everything we could imagine Miami would be plus more. The hotel service was excellent. Our flight arrived early and Chesterfield's front desk clerk Daniel did everything in his power to welcome us to the hotel. They even gave us a free upgrade to the penhouse suite. It was amazing. Any time we visit Miami iwe will be staying at the Chesterfield hotel. Good time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TishaBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location, great price. Pedro immediately upgraded us into a suite upon check-in. Raul did a great job at customer service. Loved the bedroom and bathroom!!!

Only downside was the traffic noise outside of our room.

We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
William W,

Thank you for posting your review for all to read. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Its great to hear Pedro and Raul were helpful during your stay. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is its location. The suite is a decent size but is very dark/dim. The service is terrible and the staff are rude. Our toilet did not work for three of the four days we were there and they kept sending someone who would do a bandaid fix then as soon as he left it would stop working. Hotel refused to give us a discount and made it seem like we were bothering them for wanting a working toilet.

Room Tip: Book the suite if you insist on staying at this dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niomi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
niomi8,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. What was wrong with the toilet? Did you happen to get a name of anyone who may have assisted you in this matter. Your review will be forwarded to our maintenance department manager to insure this will never occur again. We hope you reconsider staying with us again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

As I write this review, I am still vacationing at this hotel.  I am not one to stay somewhere and not leave a review and or notes (candid observations and suggestions). I will write another review with some minor details; however, this will be a separate and private message to Management. The main reason why I am taking the time to do so is due to the fact that I like the visual aspect or should I say the ambiance of this hotel.   Also, I am at lost for words, as to how to express my delight and high regard for the wonderful owner.  As I observed, I saw her walking at many occasions in the lobby, greeting guests and making sure they are comfortable - she appears to be someone with a "big heart... who desires lasting success for her Hotel. Kudos to her!
 
Three months before my vacation here at Chesterfield, I read various reviews %u2013 all very different in opinions I must say.  After soaking in these varied opinions of others, my own thoughts began to flow. I thought to myself "I am staying for twenty-one days at this hotel, and from what I am reading, I guess I can't expect 5-star hotel treatment!...  Well, I am still happy that I could stay at this hotel since I am very impressed by some of the staff performance, hospitality and just their overall sincere demeanor towards all the guests and myself. Let me give you a preview of what I mean. 
 
Take for instance the reception area.  These persons have been so accommodating.  Actually, what stands out and is most appealing to me is the sincerity in their speech and even body language. Also, let me state again at this time, that I am very impressed with the helpful nature of the General Manager, who kindly helped me to move a new room.  Now I move on to the door.  At the door, I discovered two very hard workers they really look like they enjoy their job, though it must be a tiring one. At the mini bar, the bartender is always available when needed. Between the hours of 7 and 8 pm, it's Happy Hour!  But this doesn't really appeal to me as it would other guests who take advantage of this time to drink all they can - I am not really a heavy drinker. For me though, I would rather have breakfast instead (continental of course).
 
In the above, I have said a few good things about this hotel.  I can assure you that, what I wrote is true and is to the best of my belief, experience thereof and knowledge.  Notwithstanding, we can compare all things in life to roses, why? Well, just like all beautiful roses have thorns so too there is good and bad in all aspects of life - hotels being no different.  Politely therefore, I now will state some fundamental aspects needed in order to improve the stay of all guests, both present and future. 
 
I keep wondering on a daily basis "is the food and beverage department operating separate and apart from the hotel itself?...  For that reason, I recommend the following, which will not only entice the "modern hotel guests... who frequent hotels but to keep them coming back again and again.  They are as follows: -
 ·         Wi-Fi
·         Ramp for handicap
·         Housekeeping
·         Continental breakfast (pet peeve for most hotel guests)

Overall though, Chesterfield is a place for persons who would like to stay in a good boutique hotel situated in the middle of all action, ocean drive and not far from shopping areas and clubs.
 
Let me say once again, well done to the wonderful team at Chesterfield.  I do trust that Management will take my modest suggestions and remarks into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antillaisdu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Chesterfield Hotel exceeded as every time my expectations. The whole staff did a great job and granted as usual a great customer service. At this point I want to Thank Jose (door man), Reception: Pedro,Daniel, Ana, Francesca & Darko you guys made me feel welcomed and granted a pleasant stay! Also I want to Thank Marina & Paula from the bar the food & drinks were delightful ! My bedroom was gorgeous and comfy :)
Looking forward to spend another a great vacation at this Hotel in near future

Room Tip: Rooms at the other building "Lily" are much quieter ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79Paola79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,626 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,881 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#68 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,531 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing