We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dump!”
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #78 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dump!”
Reviewed January 11, 2008

What a dump this hotel turned out to be! The rooms are stylishly done but don't look too closely! We checked in and changed rooms after the first night as our room was located across from the hotel bar which stays open all night with music blaring! The staff was incredibly unfriendly and forget trying to talk to them as a) they don't speak English all too well and b) the music in the hotel lobby is at peak volume all day long. I think that is the method to their madness - it is supposed to shy people away from approaching the front desk! The manager was not all helpful and all but called me a liar when I told her the shape of the room we were in. When we moved rooms, we discovered our new room had not been cleaned from the prior guest. I asked the front desk on 3 seperate occasions to inspect it and clean it but the room was never touched! I was forced to sleep on dirty sheets from another guest - had it not been so cold outside, I would have prefered a night on the beach! Don't stay at this hotel if you want warm showers either! Up your budget if you can and go with a name hotel, you'll enjoy your stay in SoBe so much more!! Word to the wise!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Munich06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    786
    413
    232
    375
See reviews for
331
814
278
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
travelerzindc
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2008

here is the list of reasons to never consider this hotel:

Unapologetic arrogant staff

dismal valet service "waited 60 minutes for our car"

worst most unidentifiably nasty odor in the room we have ever experienced.

morning wake up to cigarette buts and cigars all over the halls

nastiest hot tub you have ever seen on the "roof deck" what a joke that was

need to say again how horrible and unaccommodating the staff was. rude
rude rude.

best part was leaving.

never never never never ever stay here. they don't deserve your money.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelerzindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We've stayed at other South Beach Group Hotels, so decided to try the Chesterfield. Our room was very very small, but we booked it through Expedia and got a great deal, so can't complain. We were on the ground floor of the building next door in a newly renovated room. It was clean, comfortable (despite being small), and had a nice tv. The location is great, next to everything. For the price, i'd stay here again. I can't say the maid service is great -they did not clean our room, but did replace our used wine glasses. I can guess they probably did not clean the room because there was not enough room to actually clean it!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank scubagal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Myself and my boyfriend live in the Cayman Island an island which is famous due to its excellent hotels and hospitality , so when we go on trips we expect excellent service, and our stay at the Chesterfield was not a disappointment, it was only after i booked the hotel i stumbled across this website and read the reviews on the Chesterfield i was worried but decided to try the hotel anyways, and im glad i did everything from the moment we arrived was excellent the people at the front desk were always nothing but helpful, the atmosphere at the bar was good and service was quick, yes the free drinks for happy hour are just vodka rum and gin but there free and your in south beach what on earth else could you expect, there strong and get served with a smile from a bar tender that remembers your drink of choice from one night to the next. The rooms are clean and comfy the beds are lovely the rooms are not huge but with the price you pay you can not expect them to be. The rooms do look like the pictures on the chesterfield website. I would recommend this hotel to people but im 24 and in south beach for a fun time not a long time.

  • Liked — The Friendly Staff and relaxed athmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing i was quiet happy with everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SmileyNtheSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Almost no one speaks English here, and the noise level is so loud that no one can hear you anyway. We reserved a suite, but the staff tried to make us take a room with a bathtub in the middle of the room. When we didn't like that, they tried to give us a room that reeked of mildew. The elevator doesn't work reliably, so we ended up taking the stairs most of the time. The noise was incessant, either from their lobby music or from the power drills or from the garbage and delivery trucks in the alley. The bellhops watch you struggle with your bags and won't help unless you force them to. If you ask for repairs or amenities for your room, no one comes, so you have go downstairs to find a manager who speaks English, and then they tell you that everyone's gone after 10 pm and you'll have to wait until morning. And if you ask them to turn down the techno blast so you can sleep, they just look at you like the problem's with you, not the hotel.

Their website offers a 25% discount for stays over 5 days; they refused to honor that offer, even though we stayed a total of 8 days. Their reason? The days had to be consecutive, but there's nothing that said that on their website!

The beds were comfortable and the sheets were nice, but it was so loud we couldn't sleep, so why did they bother? They offer HDTV, but they only have basic cable, so why did they bother? Our room had a jacuzzi, but it wasn't hooked up, so why did they bother? If you can find a better place to stay in Miami, why should *you* bother?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Don't bother staying the place has cockroaches. Managment is a joke and you'll never be able to sleep due to loudness.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank lxb88b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2007

I was so excited to stay at the Chesterfield. I spent a lot of time researching via the web and was looking forward to a small but funky hotel.

The biggest disappointment was all the renovations going on during our stay. We were in the penthouse suite on the Leon side and they were renovating the room next door. If they were renovating during daytime hours, it might not be so bad but they worked until 10:30pm 3 nights in a row. If felt like the hammering, drilling and yelling were happening in our very own room. Also, there was tons of white dust from the plaster they were applying....you could see white foot prints throughout our room from our shoes. The hallway leading up to our room was filthy with work dust and paint. We called the front desk to air our concern and were told that the reno's were to be completed that night. Well, the next day they were back. We did talk to a Manager and after some haggling, they gave us one night free for our trouble.

The maid didn't clean the room until late afternoon; the result was that we didn't get our room cleaned on more than one occasion.

There was no information in the room regarding hotel facilities and services. We didn't even have a room service menu. The porter who brought us to our room also didn't give us a tour of the room and the result of that was that it took us 20 minutes to find the light switches for the umpteen lights in the room and on the patio!

You hear about the happy hour - free drinks between 7 - 8pm nightly. After we had consumed several martinis, the bartender informed us that these drinks do not qualify for happy hour!

The front desk staff was not helpful and it seemed like they didn't want to be there. Customer service - there wasn't any.

We will return to South Beach, but not the Chesterfield. It was a huge disappointment.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — penthouse patio
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#86 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#63 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#105 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#90 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing