We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icebox Cafe

Icebox Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Icebox Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 1,022 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Icebox Cafe celebrates fresh, seasonal, quality cuisine carefully crafted to ensure that flavor and presentation are never sacrificed. Our menu includes organic produce, all natural meats, poultry and wild fish, as well as vegetarian and gluten free choices. Our bar offers an extensive selection of innovative specialty cocktails, micro brews and wines as well as an organic juice bar.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent the weekend in SoBe and never ate at Ice Box but we did visit daily for an afternoon sugar fix to go. Everything was amazing and decadent. Key lime ice cream cake, raspberry almond cake, seven layer bars, yummmmmmmm

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J-and-K-on-Vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    84
    39
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Yummy spot for cakes galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After reading that the Ice Box provides Oprah with one of her favorite things I wanted to try this café. First the good! The food was very tasty and the cakes were heavenly! It was nice to head out to a casual easy going place that still served quality, tasty, thoughtful and delicious food. I had the short rib papparadelle and it was melt in your mouth like butta perfect! My husband and daughter were happy with their choices as well. The cakes - well it's so very hard to choose! They all looked divine! We had a slice of the peanut butter oreo ice cream cake and the strawberry caramel cake - both were heavenly, I am still dreaming about them!!!! So from a food standpoint, this restaurant is worth the trip and then some!!!!!!
The not so good was service. At first our daughter was handed a children's menu - then it was taken away and we were told sorry that was the wrong menu for kids. And then no other was brought? To be honest, what was on that menu would not have appealed to her anyway, so I didn't consider it a big loss - it was heavy on the veggie stuff. That said I was happy to order her some pasta and she was fine. Also we were asked repeatedly if we were ready to order. There were only two other people in the restaurant. It was odd. When we finally were ready no one was around. After finally getting to order, food came out in a timely fashion. But when we were ready for the check we waited for over 20 mins until I finally went up to the counter and said could someone please bring it to us. Again, there was nobody there so it seemed odd that once we ordered service disappeared. It was probably just an off night, and by no means should be a reason not to dine here. The food was fabulous and as long as you can say that, it's all good. FYI: Limited bar menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amymow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rartian, NJ
Level Contributor
220 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lots of healthy and delicious options, relaxed atmoshere, nice decor, great service and to-die-for desserts. The location is just a block away from the Lincoln Road Mall, so it is convenient but it is quiet and less frenzied than all the eateries on the mall. Supposedly it is a fave of Oprah's, I can see why.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Best food and best dessert we had in Miami Beach! We had an exquisite lunch at this cafe tucked 1/2 block off of the busy pedestrian mall of Lincoln Road. We had The Bomb cake for dessert and it more than delivered as promised!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank green44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cakes to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you first walk up to this small casual spot right off Lincoln Rd. you see the sign that says the best cake in America as per Oprah Winfrey who had it as her favorite on one of her Favorite shows. Ate here twice. Once for lunch and once just for desert. Lunch was very good, but the desert was YUMMY. we got a german chocolate ice cream cake and a Chocolate Bomb to share. Both were out of this world.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllanH328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icebox Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Icebox Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing