We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Front Porch Cafe

Front Porch Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Front Porch Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 1,066 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 14th
Description: We are currently updating our dinner menu. Please check our website for the latest dinner updates. The story of Ocean Drive is everchanging, but our neighborhood spot has remained the same for more than 20 years as a laid back classic & memorable Home- cooked experience.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We live across the street from the Front Porch and we go there often, whether it's for breakfast or if I burn dinner, as it happened the other night. The menu is pretty extensive and there's is something for everybody. The food is always fresh and tastes great. I love the Grilled Fish Tacos and the hummus platter. Service is very attentive. We even met the chef, Todd Webster, which was a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara3052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    750
    223
    73
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cent FL
Level Contributor
121 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Superb breakfast in a relaxed setting along Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

After a sunrise stroll along the beach, my wife and I made our way to the Front Porch Cafe. The cafe is right along Ocean Drive at the north end, beneath the Z Ocean Hotel. We were seated after a brief wait, opting to sit outside to enjoy a leisurely breakfast near the beach.

The outdoor dining area had a laid-back and cozy feel. Large blue canopies shaded diners from the morning sun, but breezes were still able to make their way through. The outside eating area is slightly raised and separated from the passers-by on the sidewalk, allowing for more privacy than other Ocean Drive eateries. While the location is not exactly beachfront, Lummus Park and the beach area could be seen when one looked south down Ocean Drive.

Our server was professional and personable as she went over the menu with us. We decided the best way to begin our ‘beachy’ breakfast was to start with a couple of tasty mimosas--they were good albeit on the weak side, but it was so early that it didn't matter.

With so many wonderful sounding dishes on the menu, decisions were difficult. My wife ordered a Beach Breakfast Burrito and selected breakfast potatoes as her side. I ordered the French toast, and also chose the breakfast potatoes as my side. I also ordered additional sides of sausage patties and a chocolate croissant.

My wife loved her breakfast burrito. It was filled with scrambled eggs, pepper jack cheese, scallions and mushrooms, all wrapped up in a flour tortilla. It was warm, delicious, cheesy (in a good way), and very filling. The individual components of the burrito were all fresh and tasty.

The fresh challah French toast was prepared with orange zest, giving it a wonderfully refreshing, light citrus flavor. It was also gently dusted with the perfect amount of powdered sugar--just enough to sweeten, but not overwhelm. Supposedly there was also cinnamon on top, but it got lost in the mix. Regardless, the French toast was delicious without being too heavy.

Both of us raved about our breakfast potatoes, which were fresh and cooked just right. The potatoes had slightly crisp edges, great flavor, and they were well-seasoned. The sausage patties were good, but there was nothing particularly unique about them.

The chocolate-filled croissant was a perfectly sweet way to finish breakfast; it was soft yet flaky, and almost good enough to be bakery-worthy. The chocolate inside of the pastry was on the minimal side, but after all of the other food, that was probably a good thing. Overall, everything we ate was tasty--a kind of elevated comfort food--and would easily surpass your average breakfast.

The service was good during the entire meal. It felt a little on the longer side to get our food, but it didn't matter while getting to sit, talk and chill in the relaxing ambience. Plus, the food was worth the wait. Our server checked on us a couple of times during the meal, but was not over-attentive like some places, allowing us to enjoy the experience in peace.

Front Porch Cafe, with its nice location (almost) by the beach, relaxing outdoor dining, proficient service and delicious food, is a great choice for a SoBe breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dbfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestHempstead
1 review
“Never a bad meal or experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Whenever I am in Miami Beach I am sure to go to the Front Porch Cafe for breakfast or lunch.
Service and food are terrific. If you are lucky enough to have e\Elizabeth as your server your experience will be even better. She is attentive to the diners and very good at her job.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Freeport, The Bahamas
2 reviews
“Best French Toast of my lifeeeee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Elizabeth our server was fantastic with eggs and bacon earrings. She had so much personality - loved her and the food even more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My friends and I recently went to South Beach, this past week. The service and food at Front Porch Cafe was suberb. Elizabeth is a great waitress. She checked on us very often and I was amazed when she asked was there anything she could do to make our dining experience better. We were all floored! She was excellent from begining to end and I think a lot of waiters and waitresses could learn from her. The food was GREAT! IF you go, you must get the French toast, it's the best I've ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Porch Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Front Porch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing