We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$376
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$190
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$328
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveler rating
458
222
128
67
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
222
128
67
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksouth beachfull kitchentwo bedroom suitewalk in closetsister hotelocean drivewalking distanceflat screenthe general managerfree happy hourcollins avenueblockmiamizachkitchenettesobe
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 987 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We had a girls weekend in South Beach...and were dispersed in a variety of hotels throughout the South Beach area. Some of us stayed in the Metropole and all were very impressed...the size of the suites and the amenities made it the hangout spot (pre-drink parties, watching football games).

The only negative was the strange morning musty smell from the carpets in the hallways - but that was probably from the cleaning solutions. Anyway - on to the rest.

Being with girls...12 girls who changed their minds frequently and had different demands made planning difficult. However, Cindy and her staff were warm and open to the almost daily changes I had to request. Some things to keep in mind is that if you have a guest that is a light sleeper that you request a room away from Oceanfront. If you're honoring a special occasion, let them know as well!

Large, clean one bedroom suites: 1 king bed, 1 queen sofa bed, and a small dining nook. Kitchen with appliances. flat screen TVs. Modern bathroom. (check-out oyster.com if you want unadulterated pictures of the room). Staff was superb. Small pool is a perfectly refreshing after a warm day. (why pool when you have the beach anyway). Free and wonderfully strong drinks served during Cocktail hour at a sister/brother hotel were a great anecdote to South Beach drink prices. It was far enough away from hustle and bustle of Oceanfront to avoid the noise of an all-night party, yet close enough to walk to most good bars/restaurants/leisure. Our favorite eatery was a Hispanic restaurant across the street. News restaurant for breakfast/late night munchies just two blocks from the hotel on Oceanfront. Enjoy!

By the way...valet parking is not free, but there is a parking garage on the corner of the the street (I think it's 7th street) that's worth checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGM, General Manager at Metropole South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2010

Dear Em Rae,

Thank you for your kind and accurate report! We love hosting Bachelorette Parties, in fact, any celebration! Our Team is available to assist in planning & setting up events. Now with the help of our new partner, Jiminy Cricket at the Whitelaw, we can cater events, meals and do all the party planning! Just call the hotel and ask for me!, we can take it from there!

While the Metropole is more tranquil, the location is in the heart of Dining, Shopping and Clubs! And just one block from the beach, you can have it all and lounge in our courtyard with a splash pool.

Thank you for mentioning, we schedule the carpet cleanings frequently.... on it, yes m'am!

I hope to see you again soon, all the best,

Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We LOVED the Metropole! The location was amazing, staff helpful and friendly, and the rooms amazing. We could not have been happier. Having an in-room kitchen was a great bonus when we only paid hotel rates. We were able to make our own breakfast and save a few dollars on food. We were traveling with our teenage son and my husband and I had our own room (with large tv) while our son had the "living room" and his own screen. Worked out perfectly.

Two blocks from the beach and right near great shopping and restaurants.

I would highly recommend the Metropole!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandHandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGM, General Manager at Metropole South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing, yes indeed, the kitchens are a terrific advantage with every unit. We have convenient markets and grocery stores nearby for guests who prefer to eat in regularly. The Metropole's location is also located near some fantastic restaurants, so our guests have the best of both worlds for their dining experience.

We look forward to your return!
Cindy Ragan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We paid in advance for a one night stay and were told we were all paid up. As we were leaving at 5:30 AM we were told we needed to pay a further15 dollar mandatory "recycling fee". This for one wastepaper basket with soap wrapper and kleenex in it. Obviously this stuff is not recycled. Another tourist rip off in Miami.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hagar4316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGM, General Manager at Metropole South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you wrote in regarding the $15/night hotel fee. From time to time, this question arises from guests. All guests are advised prior to arrival of the fee in writing through their agent, online booking company like Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookit or their tour operator. All guests pay this fee either before arrival (as with Expedia) or at the hotel. Please understand the $15 nightly fee is required of all guests to defray fees for energy, waste management and historic property taxes while simultaneously providing extensive complimentary amenities.

I really appreciate your comments.

Best,
Cindy Ragan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stayed at the metropole 3 years ago and had an awesome experience. I recently stayed there during the Miami carnival and it was a horrific experience. I honestly believe that last review was written by a staff member as there is no way we could have stayed at the same hotel.

For a while there I thought I was being punked but the reality of having no toilet at times or baking due to the broken air conditioner quickly brought me out of that fantasy.

From the moment we checked in we were met by incompetence and a mob of other angry hotel guests living the same nightmare we were about to experience. The major problem was we booked our vacation in advance through bookit.com. Which in the minds of most of the front desk staff meant that we did no deserve to be treated properly because we had already paid nor did they feel it necessary to do anything to properly compensate us for the numerous maintenance issues, lies or mistruths about not having any alternative available rooms to move to.

The upside to our stay was Terrence who was the only front desk person who really tried to help. So in the end we did not get our monies worth but it was not a complete loss. I think the metropole under its current management would make a great Hostel but is nowhere near a 4 star hotel.

Cindy please empower the staff to give free night stays, free dinners or some form of real hospitality when you have a chance.

Good luck to anyone who stays here when they are busy or booking through a third party.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APain80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGM, General Manager at Metropole South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Dear Guest,

I genuinely regret the experience you had during Carnivale weekend! We were full, yes, indeed -- unfortunately that limits an alternative with the multiple configuration of Kitchens that we offer. Had we another available room with a larger kitchen, we would have gladly moved you again. Bookit.com is a fantastic partner of our firm, and we value the support they give to our mutual Guests. I wish that I were in town that weekend to meet you. I understand that culinary arts are your past time. Had we known ahead of time, we would have accommodated that need. Unfortunately, now, hindsight is 20/20, and the next time, we will ensure that the proper unit/kitchen configuration is selected. Please call me to personally handle your accommodations and I assure you that you will be a satisfied customer.

Best regards,

Cindy Ragan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Oscar, Cindy, Terrance and rest of staff at metropole made our vacation stay awesome.. The house keeping and guest services were amazing. We stayed at 2 bedroom court-yard suite. It was close to the beach, restaurants, night-life and shopping. I have to say that the entire staff made our trip very memorable. That would be the only place we would stay in south beach.

Highly recommend....

Thanks
(The Canadian guys)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyGM, General Manager at Metropole South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Hey Clint~
How wonderful! We enjoyed you all too, and we are looking forward to your return --- Give us a heads up when you're making your plans, this way we can personally handle the details. The courtyard is fabulous for getting to meet our Guests, with the weather cooling off, perfect for private functions too --- All the best, and I will make sure the TEAM receives your well wishes.
Best,
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews