We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel + Unproffesional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #135 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Unproffesional and rude staff, specially the gentleman in the mornings, need some trainning!!!!
Lobby looks depresing. Facelift was a comlpete disaster.
Our room was not what we were told it was, so asked to talk to manager who never showed interest in talking to us.
Definetely not coming back. Not a high class hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lulai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, General Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review and I apologize you were not satisfied with the Casa Grande. I would love for you to email me so I can understand exactly what happened and why you were so dissatisfied, marissa@casagrandesuitehotel.com
I look forward to hearing back from you.
All the best,
Marissa Suarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 489 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

These are individually owned condos and there must be great disparity between the units, judging by previous reviews and a friend's strong recommendation to stay in a one bedroom suite with a terrace, which I tried to book but was denied on arrival because Casa Grande messed up my reservation. But they told me I was in an ocean view, so I didn't make a big deal about it, at least not until I saw the garbage they were trying to pass off for over $340/night.

For starters, my room (204) was damaged and badly in need of repair (holes in the wall, paint peeling, leaking faucets, etc.). The air conditioning unit sounded like a diesel engine. If your shower was longer than 2 minutes, you were standing in ankle deep water. The coffee table rocked like a hammock and seemed like it was ready to fall over at any minute. The silverware was simply on a paper towel in the drawer. The mattress was perhaps the worst I've slept on since college. You get the point.

Aside from the room itself, there were a few things I didn't like about the hotel in general, including: there is poor ventilation in the lobby area, which had a musty smell most of the time; the stairwell also smelled like a cross between bad food and urine; the towels ranged from sandpaper to ones that were so new they left a white cotton coat on my hands and body; a front desk staff that didn't seem to care too much about anything and blamed my incorrect reservation on the "new girl."

Yes, the location is great, but there are a bunch of nicer looking hotels along Ocean Drive, and for $1500+ for 4 ngihts, I'd rather spend the extra $$$ somewhere else (Loews?) or else be sure which room you are reserving. I doubt I could give this place a second chance.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, Front Office Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Casa Grande. I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay. Please contact me directly if you would reconsider giving the Casa Grande another chance. I would love to offer you an upgraded brand new oceanfront suite.

All the best,
Ronnie Young
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The hotel was excellent. Great location, great staff and beautiful suites with full kitchens and some good ocean views. Its really more like a condo than a hotel room. Will stay here again next time in Sobe.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, General Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time at our little gem on Ocean Drive. We hope you now consider the Casa Grande your home away from home and will come back soon to visit.
Warm regards,
Marissa Suarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

I've just returned from a wonderful week in Miami. When I read the review complaining about the staff at the Casa Granda, I didn't recognise it. My experience of Casa Grande was of 'smiling faces' who looked out for you and your needs. This, combined with the most wonderful location and home from home feel, made for a rich experience. I'd also recommend the Pelican restaurant for an exquisite dinner, News Cafe for a people watching breakfast and a little coffee shop called Pinocchios for your beach picnic - all on the doorstep.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank anita71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here and you experienced every great restaurant surrounding us. We hope you consider the Casa Grande your new home away from home.
All the best,
Steven Annicharico
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We visited the Fox Cafe, the separate restaurant on the sea front, and
I noticed an entrance to the Casa Grande.

On impulse, I peeked inside and asked to be shown some rooms. I was astonished! The rooms would be good sized apartments!

We chose a smaller one, with 42" TV, full kitchen, two queen - sized four poster beds, dining table and settee. There was no view, except for a wall across an alley. Free WI-FI works great.

We invited friends round for cocktails, and they were shocked at the size of the room - they were staying at the Hotel Astor round the corner.

This is a fine hotel, with location, location, location. Just walk out the front door and all that South Beach has to offer is there.

Only drawback is a lack of pool, but you can always rent beds and umbrellas on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bollinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the prime location of the Casa Grande and hope you consider us your home away from home.
"Mi Casa Es Su Casa"
All the best,
Steven Annicharico
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Huge well equipped rooms, very reasonable, perfect location, best staff of any hotel. Ronnie and Enrique were so friendly and all the staff were of an excellent standard. I would stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ScottJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, General Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you consider the Casa Grande your home away from home.
Warm regards,
Marissa Suarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

This was the worst hotel ever!! The hot water was VERY limited so if you are with a party of more than one, you better take a 30 second shower. The face/hand/body towels were non-existent and when we asked for more, the "staff" replied by saying they were all out and did nothing to try to find more. Isn't it great to come from the beach and have to shower with your hands... NOT!! The customer service was extremely poor. The only PRO was the space but I'd rather pay more for a true hotel experience. I will NEVER stay here again and hope this finds others before hard earned money is wasted.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGrandeManager834, Front Office Manager at Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your review. We do take every review extremely serious and always try to find solutions to the complaints. I hope you would reconsider and give the Casa Grande another chance.
Regards,
Ronnie Young
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
#149 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#123 of 212 in Miami Beach
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#168 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#117 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach

Address: 834 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $116 - $1,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great 2 bedroom plus a den Condo Hotel in South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing