We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“New hotel with improvements on the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croydon
Ranked #37 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New hotel with improvements on the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Located in mid beach. Two minute walk to ocean. 20 mins bike ride to south beach. Pleasant staff. Clean and elegant rooms. Nice pool/ roof top. Decent view to ocean. Restaurant not operating. Poor location for food - though Carrabas restaurant (Italian cuisine) is thumbs up! Other than Carrabas, Subway and two overpriced cafés are your only option. Poor shuttling experience from airport to hotel. Need better way of identifying which shuttle to board, and where - we waited 45mins.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello there Gabe L,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located in mid South Beach, just a convenient block from the beach. We have great views of the ocean and a lovely rooftop area to enjoy the scenery! Please come back soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    414
    99
    37
    37
See reviews for
306
499
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. The beach is just across the street from the beach. The hotel had just been renovated. We booked a queen room. Wonderful beds and great looking bath. Room has a fridge but no coffeemaker. We found the room to be clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel has a great pool and rooftop sun area. Currently no restaraunt in the hotel and breakfAst can be a little hectic. Would sat again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Good Afternoon Joel R,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us, and all of our guests! We are located just a block away from the beach. We are fully renovated so everything you experienced is brand new. :) It seems like you enjoyed your time spent with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms for a family of 2 teens, a baby and two adults for
Four
Nights. We took advantage of the grand opening special which included breakfast every morning, and rooms at a very interesting low price. We were well received by the entire staff at the hotel, from the valet to the bellboy to reception staff. Dolores at reception was extremely helpful and exceeded our expectations when we asked to change one of the rooms we had booked due to the fact that it was smaller than we had expected. The breakfast is light but plentiful. The hotel is newly renovated, the bar and restaurant are not yet operational, but the hotel gives us the opportunity to visit other hotels of their group for the nightly complementary happy hour. I have read certain reviews which state their disappointment and or the poor service they received and I must say that up to now, the service is excellent through out the entire hotel, the staff is helpful and Dolores is simply the best. The rooms are nice, the hotel is located one block from the beach and close to a liquor store and a convenient store. The breakfast is perfect for those who like it light and simple and yet satisfying and there was no fightclub at breakfast and refills were done regularly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Hotel Croydon and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Dolores. Dolores is indeed a rock star and but one of many who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

To start off with the hotel is ok. We have never been to Miami Beach so we relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews to help us pick our hotel. We were blown away by all of the amazing reviews that Hotel Croydon was getting, so we went to their website to book a room. They were offering grand opening (1/2 price) deals for the month of June, with one option being Top Floor Only Please. We saw the picture on their site and we were sold. When registering online I noted that we were arriving on a later flight so we wouldn't be checking in until late the evening of our arrival and that we desired a King bed. We got our reservation and we were all set to go.

My wife and I were very excited to get down there and when we did, things weren't quite as Awesome as the reviews made this place seem to be. As indicated by the room we booked we expected to be on the 7th floor so we could appreciate the view that they were offering, but upon check in we were offered a 5th floor room. After several minutes of discussion we were given a room on the 7th floor. On our way up to the hotel we were informed that the hotel had only opened a week or so before our arrival and that they had a soft opening for family and friends. (I suddenly understood all the amazing reviews since nearly all of them were written before the hotel had opened to the public.) We were taken to our rooms and all I can say is "What a let down." The room was ok, but absolutely nothing like the picture on their website. Our room was easily half the size of that picture. If the picture had been realistic I would have been ok with the room.

As mentioned in some of the other reviews, breakfast is a bit of a hassle. We routinely got down there around 8 am and it was a crap shoot on what you would find there.

My only other comment is about the staff, while some have said the staff was rude, I won't agree with that. I found them to be friendly, from the valet, to the doormen to the front desk staff. I believe they are up to full prices now so I doubt I'll stay there on my next trip to Miami, but it wasn't a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good Afternoon Mike H,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with a room on the 7th floor. The reviews that have been written were from guests that stayed with us, and all provided their honest opinions. We do serve a complimentary continental breakfast, and first come first served guests. We are terribly sorry that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Quiet and out of the way. Very helpful staff. Within walking distance of the beach. Transportation to and from airport is available. They have a sister hotel right on South beach. Has a roof top lounge. Very clean hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Susann H, you are the best! Thank you for the wonderful acknowledgements. Can’t wait to see you again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Croydon hotel the weekend of June 13th for my first time visiting florida. To be totally honest, its been the first hotel I've ever stayed in who has knowledgeable, friendly, caring staff. From the wonderful ppl at the front desk who recommended great place to eat and hang out at to the ladies from room service who would bring us fresh towel and chocolate. It was only there third week open so the had a little construction going on but not a bother. This place was definitely worth it. I cant wait for them to have full service bar and running kitchen. Coming back for sure

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tania r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello there tania r,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first visit to Florida! :) Our staff all work hard to make sure that each and every guest is having a splendid time! We are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

It was awesome to stay here. Good pool, good staff, great room. It was very neat and fresh. Great manager Daniel, and the front desk agents Suly and Yaritsa. Very nice hotel and I recommend this place to everyone!! Love the free breakfast and the rooftop.

Room Tip: Good spot very easy to get around and its just by the beach! Taxi costs 6 dollars from the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilghon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
What a great review, nilghon b! Thank you for the fantastic shout out! Can’t agree with you more that Daniel, Suly and Yaritsa are amazing and I am so glad you were well taken care of throughout your time with us. Hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Circa 39 Hotel
#31 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Casa Claridge's
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Vintro Hotel South Beach, Curio Collection by Hilton
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Property: Hotel Croydon
Address: 3720 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully-renovated boutique hotel located steps away from the ocean. The 7-story luxury Hotel Croydon dazzles with 103 guest rooms including a sprawling Penthouse with ocean views, meeting room and banquet space, a gym, an outdoor pool, a spa, an on-site restaurant and bar, and a rooftop sun deck with 360 degree views of the ocean and Miami. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing