We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harrison Hotel to your Saves list
Harrison Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average stay, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from South Beach for a few days. First let me preference that it is South Beach, in the middle of season, and it is busy here. The hotel was one of the cheapest I could find, which is scary at times. The hotel is located near the Southern most point of South beach which is a great location to just pask your car in the hotels rear parking lot, $30, but you can walk everywhere without driving. Don't valet, it is a waste since the lot is right behind hotel. The hotel front desk girl was friendly. Hotel is old and needs a refreshing, alot. The carpets in the hallways are very dirty and there are NO elevators. It is only two stories, but if you have luggage, many trips are needed. The room is ok, clean, no bugs, mold. AC works, TV works, no complaints there. Bathroom served its purpose and hardwood floors need touching up. No loud noises to speak of.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the courtyard. Less noise than the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    135
    128
    47
    47
See reviews for
52
208
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived at night and were so excited until we saw our room. The first room had a horrible musty/mold smell and the bed squeaked ridiculously loud if you sat on it. We went downstairs and complained and the man at the front desk told us he had one other room with a king bed. We went to check it out and the air conditioning wasn't working. It was blowing out warm air. He showed us another room with 2 queens and just by peeking into the bathroom we saw 2 cockroaches!! At this point I started calling around to other hotels but no one had availability. Finally he gave us the owners suite, which was on the first floor, right by the front desk. Let's just say for the 3 nights we were there, we would wake up nightly to loud drunks at 4 am standing outside our door. And then at 7 am, we would hear the girls at the desk having conversations about how unfair their schedule was.

Other than that, it was in a great location, walking distance to every thing. And they have towels for you to borrow, so you don't have to pack your own

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wanted to stay at an Art Deco style hotel when I visited South Beach. The Harrison Hotel filled the bill. From the folks preparing their own Cuban sandwiches in the courtyard to the German couple next door to me sharing restaurant recommendations...I loved every second of my stay.

Caveats: This IS an older hotel. That means no pool, no gym, no elevator. Absolutely loved my bed and the hardwood floor. Enjoyed chatting with the staff. It is a three minute walk to the beach. Loved the fact that I didnt need my car at all. If you DO drive, valet parking is 30 dollars a day...but I parked on the street. No problems at all with that.

If you want a throw back in time and a place that gets you in the mood of the 30's, the Harrison Hotel is a nice place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajapalayam, India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rooms are very new and modern with good air-condition. Location is also good, near to lot of restaurants, shoppings, etc. Room cleaning takes lot of time and I had seen every body waiting until 3 pm to go into the room (even if you check in or already staying there). They should try to do it sooner in the morning hours. While I was there, they were arranging for a restaurant. Hope that should be ready now. Reception girl (from Poland) was very kind and with smiling face.

Room Tip: No lifts. So, if you cannot carry luggage, you should ask for rooms at ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volcanoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Harrison hotel was a cool hotel. I went with my boyfriend in March, 2012. The got us checked in early. Our room was very clean with a large mirror which was great! Not right on the strip so we had peaceful nights, when needed. I'd definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuereL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed with more 3 friends in a weekend.
Staff gave us lots of recommendations of what we should do in our short stay. It´s close to the beach and close to the bars and restaurants.
Room was clean but when it is morning there is too much light in the room because there is no break light curtain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Let's get one thing straight, this is NOT a five star resort nor is it the place to go for looking for luxury amenities and service. It is however, the place to go in South Beach for an affordable stay if you don't mind missing a few things such as a bellman, elevator, concierge, spa, restaurant, a pool and free parking. Rooms are spacious and very well kept and clean. Beds are comfortable and the hardwood floors are a nice touch to the rooms. Bathrooms are a bit small but clean nonetheless. Hotel could use some minor repairs and some painting but still a very charming place with a banging courtyard. Also, Valentina at the front desk is a delight!

Located on Washington Ave, this hotel is literally blocks away from everything there is to do in South Beach; night clubs, restaurants, the beach, Collins Ave and Ocean Dr, shopping, you name it, it’s all nearby! The only thing that can get annoying is the parking situation. Lot behind hotel offers a "discount" rate of $30 a night to park. You are better off parking on the street and paying the meter which is free from 3am to 9am. Considering most of the hotels in SOBE are garbage and WAY overpriced, Harrison is a pleasant surprise that doesn't hurt your wallet.
I would definitely recommend to others and I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Big Pink a few blocks away is great for breakfast! Kinda expensive but delicious food! Steak & E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#148 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fashion Boutique Hotel
#154 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#153 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison Hotel

Property: Harrison Hotel
Address: 411 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harrison Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Harrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing