We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“SoBe experience for adults !!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SoBe experience for adults !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I had originally chosen The Angler's as our hotel for our 1 week trip to SoBe, but at the last moment I changed it to The Palm Central Hotel right on Ocean Drive which meant right on the music, noise, people. Not the type of hotel we wanted since this was our last "honeymoon" trip before our baby arrives in Dec. So I called the Angler's the next day, they had a studio room available (more expensive than The Palm but peace &quite are worth it) and when we got there, 15 min later, it was no longer available...but Stephanie, the FOB, proposed that we stay in a deluxe 2 floor suite with private garden for the first night as a reasonable price & move to the studio room the next day.

We accepeted & boy are we glad we did !! We ended up staying in the suite all week at the price of the studio room !! We dined in their restaurant, the 660 (the short ribs are to die for), enjoyed their buffet breakfast (much cheaper & more delicious than breakfast at other places on Ocean Drive), and sunbathed in our private garden every morning. The staff was incredibly nice & efficient (Juan Carlos, the breakfast waiter is wonderful !!) and everyone made sure that anything we asked for was done.

It's location is 2 blocks away from the beach and Ocean Drive, near a lot of great restaurants plus you can take the bus to Lincoln Road just 2 min away from the hotel.

The only things we thought could be better was 1) the valet service, which took too long to bring the car (we were 30 min late to our restaurant one night because of it) & 2) the beach/parasol service should be free considering the price you pay for the room (that is something The Palms Central did offer). But I have to say, their beach bag is very stylish & they do provide you with great towels & water bottles.

We are definitely recommending this hotel to our friends. If you like trendy, hip, modern (no wall to wall carpet !!!) hotels that give great service without being overbearing, this hotel is for you. What we loved is the fact that SoBe is also for the 30+ crowd who enjoys fine dining, the beach, the shops...but is not willing to sleep in small, crowded, noisy rooms like waaaaayyyy back then !! We are not old, we just like comfort !! Thank you Angler's staff for making our 2nd honeymoon unforgattable !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonvivantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    407
    97
    39
    15
See reviews for
244
1,057
75
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

The Angler is only two blocks away from the famous South Beach so it has a prime location! Arriving at the hotel we had to park on the busy street out front of the hotel. The hotel parks and retrieves your car for you from a parking lot which is included in the cost of our hotel room package. The hotel has a small restaurant which you walk directly into from the front door. We ate there for lunch one day with several friends. None of us enjoyed our meal and the service was extremely slow. I do not recommend eating in the restaurant.

Our hotel room was directly off the courtyard for the hotel pool. The room is fantastic! The king bed was very comfortable. A large flat screen tv swivels so that you can watch it while sitting in the seating area or while lying in bed. The room also has surround sound. There is a small safe in the room's closet. The bathroom shower is spacious but does not include a bath tub. We had several friends in our room at one point and we did not feel crowded thanks to the large room size.

Our hotel room package included a complimentary bottle of champagne and a 20% discount towards anything from the restaurant.

Another benefit of The Angler is that they provided us with a zip up beach bag with beach towels for our use. The room also had a small portable plastic waterproof container for holding credit cards and money which was very useful when going to the beach.

Overall we greatly enjoyed the hotel room, its amenities, and it's location. I would not recommend the hotel restaurant, but I do recommend the hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mint2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This place was amazing, so personal!
From start to finish, this hotel ticked all the boxes. From check in, to turning over the beds, looking after the guests they were excellent.
The room was ultra modern and luxurious.
The place to stay on South Beach.
Will defo go back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerplus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed here 4 nights as part of my honeymoon June 2009. I thought it was a bit expensive and though its an all suite hotel all we could really afford was a studio suite with a balcony. I thought I would chance it and let them know we were on honeymoon to see if we could get an upgrade and we did. When we arrived, the staff were incredibly helpful, and we were shown to our pool villa, on two floors, with a huge living room with cocktail bar, 2 bathrooms - it was gorgeous. The pool area is quite small but is very nice, the beds outside are very comfortable. We didnt eat in the restaurant but breakfast was lovely but was $24 each so again not cheap. It also had valet parking and it was very easy and prompt - we only had to wait once to get the car about 10 minutes. The staff were very courteous and helpful and really went out of their way to help you on anything. The downsides were, that it wasnt the quietest hotel. There was music playing round the pool area probably until around midnight each night, and during the week we didnt notice any additional noise, but on a friday night we did. There is a club across the main road opposite and I think everytime someone entered/exited the club, the music/bassline was so loud, you could hear it now and again. However, it didnt spoil our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam2957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

From the moment I arrived on Friday until checkout on Sunday, the Angler's staff made sure I felt special. I couldn't have picked a better spot to celebrate a major milestone birthday with friends. Unlike some of the very scene-y South Beach hotels, the Angler's doesn't have to rely on overly stylized design to be totally cool. The beds are SO comfortable, the poolside villas with roof terraces are so simply chic, and the pool is small, but a great place to chill. Washington Avenue feels miles away when you're sunbathing inside that courtyard. (I would recommend one of the suites with a terrace facing the pool.) We had brunch twice at 660, the on-site restaurant, and I wish we had stayed in for dinner, too. A special shout out to our server, the lovely Eliza, who could not have been more accommodating. I've done the South Beach touristy stuff a million times, so being away from Lincoln Road and a short walk from the bustling beach is a plus in my book. OK, I'm gushing, so I'l quit. But I would definitely stay there again. My other friends who also booked rooms there were equally pleased.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wherever
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

The room and hotel itself were a lovely surprize but what sets this hotel apart is the staff. From Karen to the Chef, every single staff member was professional and friendly. I truly felt like I mattered as a guest and a person. My room was in the tower and I have never stayed in a room quite like this with the two story set up - clean, comfortable and quite pretty. I loved the little personal notes I received at turn down and check in. This was a business trip and I was not very excited about being in Miami on Father's Day weekend but the staff at The Angler's made it a truly enjoyable experience. Plus this is walking distance to shopping and restaurants on and off Ocean Drive. To sum it up - a hidden gem very close to all the trendiness that SOBE offers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sully7705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

very nice, spacious room. new, clean and modern. excellent customer service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,060 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing