We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great birthday stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #35 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed in Anglers for my husband's 50th birthday in January. We had a great room over two levels complete with balloons, birthday cupcake and a goldfish. Super attentive staff who were particularly helpful when my husband got a bad toothache in our last evening and we needed help. The wine hour and morning coffee are also nice touches. Excellent location as well. Thanks to everybody who made our stay a memorable one, we cant wait to get back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Raosl
Thanks for your wonderful comments and for selecting The Angler’s for your 50th birthday celebration. We are thrilled to hear that we created an amazing and fun birthday surprise for you and you had a wonderful time as our guest.
We are looking forward to you next stay with us, please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had planned a sisters' trip for January and booked two nights for the Angler's Resort. Each of my sisters had significant birthdays and don't often get away for vacation so this a present to them and was a big deal. I specifically booked a tower duplex with spa for some real R&R. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the spa was dirty, the jets did not work, and it was not warm. In addition, the walls are paper thin; you are charged $1 for the Keurig cups. This was disappointing since it was not what was expected in a Kimpton property. Guest services did try to address the spa and cleaned it the next day but by that evening it was still not warm enough to use. There was an issue with the guests in the adjoining room partying late and we had to make two requests before it was addressed. In defense of the hotel, I know they cannot always control the behavior of guests and it was eventually addressed. For over $500/night, my expectation would be that all amenities would be checked prior to guest arrival. Jessica tried to make the visit a pleasant one with fun birthday decorations for my sisters when they arrived, but that could not make up for a very disappointing experience. We were told they would "make it right" but would not be specific until we departed. That attempt was $100/night credit on our hotel bill and a complimentary breakfast on the day of departure. However, when I received the bill, the $200 was added, not credited, we were charged $33 for restaurant which we did not order and my first night's deposit was not applied. I talked to the manager and that was fixed and requested a further adjustment since I thought that would be appropriate. I was advised that they could not make another adjustment but offered a gift certificate towards our next visit which we declined. This was a lesson learned that just because it is more expensive, doesn't mean it is worth the value. As a note, my sisters and I are not the complaining types but I cannot express how disappointed I was with this property. Also, the suites with spas are on the street side not overlooking the pool as seems depicted in some photographs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jane0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

masters99
Thanks for posting such a lovely review. It makes us happy that you enjoyed our service and hotel ambience and stayed after your meeting for some R&R. Glad that Jennifer went out of her way to assist you. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Dear angler's: you are a great hotel, really...great location, fantastic service, wonderful food and nicely appointed rooms. Here's what you need to do to get a 5 star rating:
1.Stop calling yourself a resort. You are not; your pool is way to small to hang out and drink 'ritas all day.
2.CleAn or replace your upholstery: everything looks a little worn and tired in both the lobbies and rooms. Even with beautifully decorated rooms, no one wants to wonder about stained furniture. Yuck.
3. Provide room service.
4. Put a bureau in each room so we have somewhere to put our stuff.
5. You need to supply free wireless, plus better viewing options for your tv.
With just a bit more tweaking, you can get that extra star you deserve!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Avantgardener78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Avantgardener78
Thanks for sharing such detailed feedback from your recent visit and for your suggestions. We are happy to let you know that since Kimpton Hotels took over the management end of November, we are continuously working on improving our product and services. We are offering complimentary wifi to all our Kimpton In Touch guests. So please feel free to sign up and join our loyalty program next time you stay, it’s free of charge with lots of additional perks.
We are looking forward to your next visit and to a five star rating from you by then.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel itself is a boutique hotel, it is very quaint hotel. When we first arrived they were very friendly and attentive. I was a little apprehensive when I first arrived but that soon went away when we were taken to our room and to my surprise it was decorated by the hotel staff with balloons for my birthday. Very beautiful and thoughtful. We were shown everything in the room as well as how everything worked. the room was the perfect size for me and my husband. The pool was a tab bit small, but that was okay because it was what I expected for a boutique hotel. I am not sure if it was worth the price we paid to stay there, but I guess that's the going price to stay in Miami. All in all our experience was great and so were the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtgreen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

mtgreen96
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad you not enjoyed your arrival experience with our personalized in room check in, but had an overall relaxing and enjoyable stay. We hope that you will be returning in the future again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Well planned suite with tasteful decor which was very clean -liked wood flooring. Good location, efficient staff. Bathroom was spacious, although  no bath. Wonderful bed and bedding. Good location for south beach.  Prompt service- blind in bathroom fell down and it was fixed immediately. Downside was valet parking which was quite expensive at about $30 per night. 24 hour parking nearby in multi storey car par for $20

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LgrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

LgrUk
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear that your vacation at The Angler’s was very enjoyable and relaxing. We are sorry for the issue with the blind in your bathroom, but glad we fixed it immediately. We hope you will be our guest again when your travels bring you back to Miami.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Recommended by a friend, the Angler's exceeded most all our expectations. We wanted a short decompression in Miami from a sailing holiday in the BVI, before returning to London. This small hotel is everything you could want for a quiet stay in hectic Miami Beach: great location, comfortable room, great bed, good food (so long as you enjoy no fat cream cheese and low fat yogurt unidentified as such on breakfast menu) and some of the most helpful, friendly and courteous service we have had (Jessica and Britann on reception deserve special mention) . And free wine 5 to 6 pm., though with no salty nibbles to make the experience tastier. Surprise -- kitchen closed on Mondays, unannounced ahead of time.

Room Tip: We took the lowest budget room available and were more than happy with our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Johnpart
Thanks for this amazing posting on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments about our perfect location in South Beach, our clean and spacious guest rooms and our warm and genuine service.
It makes us happy that Britan and Jessica made you feel like home.
We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Last year we trolled through the Miami properties and settled on the Angler's for 3 days in January 2014. Since our booking the Kimpton group took over the premises.
Best check-in staff ever and the atmosphere of the hotel was perfect for our needs. Location is great, room we had was huge and perfectly appointed. Drinks in lobby in the afternoon are a special feature. The beach pack in each room is a nice package. Continental breakfast included in our price was more than adequate. There are 2 free bicycles (first come first served basis). Just go and enjoy the Angler's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

SydneyOztraveller
Thanks for taking the time and posting such great feedback from your recent stay at The Angler’s. We appreciate your compliments about our amazing team and our comfy and spacious guest rooms. We are glad you took advantage of our perks we offer complimentary to all our guests and explored Miami on one of our fancy Kimpton bikes. What better way to finish the day than with a glass of wine, especially during our evening wine hour. We are looking forward to having you back as our guest. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#6 of 214 in Miami Beach
412 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,584 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#18 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,998 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 214 in Miami Beach
611 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $218 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing