We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angler's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angler's Hotel
Ranked #13 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Angler's for a girls vacation and just loved it. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, the stuff attentive, educated and super friendly. All are willing to go the extra mile to make the guests happy. Our room was large, modern and clean, the beds very comfortable. The pool area is like a spa, and the fact that is an adults only hotel makes it even more relaxing. It is located two blocks from the party scene on Ocean Drive, far enough to get some peace and quiet and close enough if you want to dig in and party. The Angler's definitely deserves the ranking on Trip Advisor - so if you want to relax in SOBE, stay away from Ocean Drive and go here. Everything is in walking distance, taxi fare to the airport was $33 - no need to rent a car. Everything is close by. I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenickstarreNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    412
    98
    40
    15
See reviews for
248
1,068
75
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having both lived in SOBE for a while and stayed at a good number of the hotels on the beach, I am very happy to have found this hidden gem there.

Although we only stayed for one night at the end of our vacation before returning home from Key West, we cannot wait to go back and stay a few more days at The Anglers .

Our experience started while we were reviewing their website, then booking our reservation online (which they personally followed up to confirm our reservation) to the personalized service while checking in. I have not been to a hotel where service has been so great.

We were then led to our room which was off the pool with a private little gated terrace.The room was appointed very well and roomy. There was a little sitting area, large comfortable king sized bed and , small desk with LCD TV over it. Then there was nice wet bar, and a small closet where we were able to store our items without cluttering the room.

They even had speakers for the tv/stereo in the ceiling (little details which I noticed).

Getting back to the service, housekeeping came by in the late afternoon to fill our ice bucket, provide turn down service, and deliver a personalized note with the next days weather forecast.

Oh yeah although it is not located either on the beach or bay (few blocks in either direction), I did not miss either. The resort was peaceful and tranquil , of which it is difficult to find at any other hotel/resort in SOBE. They even provide you with a beach bag and towels for the beach.

We did not have a chance to have drinks or eat at the hotel due to our limited time there, but when we did check in we were hungry and their restaurant was not open, but the front desk cheerfully brought us menus to a few local places to order from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at The Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review and for recently being our honored guests!

It sounds like you truly had a magical visit. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our in room amenities and truly relax and unwind. We have an amazing team that delights in exceeding our guest's expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel for a getaway while leaving the kids with my parents. The hotel and our room were modern, clean, upscale and gorgeous. The downsides were that there were literally windows and a balcony looking directly into our room so we had to keep the curtains closed. The bathroom door wouldn't stay open so you had to either get ready with it closed or keep pushing it back open. Another downside was no ice (you could have it delivered but that would involve yet another tip, which add up quickly beginning with the valet, the personal escort to open your door, etc.). The parking cost another $32 on top of the room price which was unexpected although we were grateful there was parking. It was also pretty far from the shops and restaurants. We had breakfast at the hotel outdoors and both the food and the ambiance were fantastic. The pool was small but clean with a nice European feel. Overall, we had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaMarie429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an awesome place. The staff was gracious, friendly and very attentive. Our room was clean, large and comfortable. This is not one of the party central spots that inhabit Ocean Drive. Which was fine by me. It was a two block walk to party central, and once we had enough, two blocks back to our quiet, beautiful room. Had breakfast twice in the restaurant and both times it was delicious. I highly recommend The Anglers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want to stay close to south beach that is tranquil, has good eats and comfortable then this will hit the spot.
I did have a bit of a hiccup with the service but I am going to put that down to being the Labor Day weekend and the fact I was always sitting outside rather than inside. All in all a great hotel at a modest price.

Room Tip: The pool side studio rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisKirpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Anglers was everything it said it would be. it is in an ideal location just 5 mins walk from Ocean Drive and the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were big and well furnished with a huge queen size bed. We also received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on arrival.
My only suggestion is that if you have a continental breakfast included in your room rate don't stray off the menu. One morning my husband asked for the granola and milk and 3 muffins and after trading in the cost of the continental breakfast it cost $12 for the 3 muffins!! Anyway the continental is more than adequate.
I would definitely recommend The Anglers as a bit of an oasis in the middle of a mad town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My 2nd stay of the summer. Hotel always gives a personal welcome, helped by the in room check. whilst hotel is small, rooms are very large and well furnished with excellent amenities . cocktails are all good, and had an excellent meal off 'spice festival menu'. The best thing about the Anglers, are the staff who are always willing to help.

Room Tip: i have stayed in 4 different parts of the hotel and all have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank dlflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler's Hotel

Property: The Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing