We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Four of us stayed for 6 nights in the Manor Villa Pool View room. Two adult women friends and two teenage girls. The service and resort were just lovely and it was really the perfect base from which to enjoy Sobe, but have this lovely little oasis to return to. We really appreciated how guests were welcomed to enjoy any and all of the outdoor and indoor lounge areas.

Pros:
- Beautiful grounds, landscaping, pool area
- Fantastic and friendly service, without any pretentiousness. Angela, Jessica, and Brittan were especially lovely.
- Rooms are clean and decorated nicely

Room for improvement:
- Storage. The drawer and closet space is minimal.
- The rug in the bedroom is made of some wicked material that was very uncomfortable on bare feet.
- Lighting in the vanity area of the bedroom. If there was a way to make the lights brighter, we missed it.

We loved our trip, loved the hotel, and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollisKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
A sincere thank you for recently being our guest and for the review!

I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your visit with us and that our team exceeded your group's expectations. I'll personally share your glowing comments with Angela, Jessica and Brittan. They are fine examples of the wonderful team that we have throughout our beautiful property. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the rugs and the lighting. We will evaluate those items and see what can be done to better the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    408
    97
    39
    15
See reviews for
245
1,057
75
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights and enjoyed our visit. Location and grounds were excellent but the personal service by ALL of the employees really stood out. As we were spending four nights, adequate closet space (and a few drawers ) would have been most welcome but were not available in our room. So realize that you may be living our of your luggage. That's our only complaint. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for recently being our guest and for the review!

I'm very happy that all of the team worked together to exceed your expectations throughout your stay. I do apologize for the lack of closet space. Please know that as we make adjustments to our guest rooms, this is of paramount importance.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II

General Manager
The Angler's Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd,S Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were expecting a lot from this hotel,and it didn't disappoint . The room was excellent ,we booked a double king suite, lovely size and beautifully furnished and very clean.the personnel touch(service)was evident from the moment we arrived at the hotel, right from the valet parking to the manager.We were greeted with complimentary drinks and tapas. The first night we ate in the restaurant and the food was exceptional along with the service. This was our first trip to Miami and we spent three nights at the Anglers. When we do return it will be to the Anglers.

Room Tip: We only booked a king double suite,that was lovely, so I think they must all be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank richard&allyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for recently being our guest and for taking the time to review us!

I'm very happy that your high expectations were exceeded during your visit from Wales. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all The Angler's had to offer during your stay and truly unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laredo, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location two blocks from beach. Very quiet as long as your room does not face Washington Ave. better if you can get a room with a fold out couch. Room is larger and more comfortable. For South Beach the prices are reasonable

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was beautiful and the staff was the icing! Amber who worked at the front desk found out that it was my bday. While I was out, she arranged to have balloons delivered to my room...so SWEET! What a nice gesture and the rest of the staff was very accomodating and personable as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LaTracia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for recently being our guest and for the review!

Happy Birthday! I'm delighted that you enjoyed you birthday during your visit with us. It's truly quite an honor that so many of our guests spend their special occasions here at our tropical gem. I will personally share your compliments with Amber. She is a sterling example of the level of professionalism that is demonstrated by the entire Angler's team.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just as expected based on reviews. We stayed for four nights in mid-June 2013.

Quiet location just two blocks from the beach, walking distance to Lincoln Road, and lots of little shops all around South Beach. The interior is very well-kept, charming. Rooms are spacious (for South Beach, or so I hear..), well appointed, with comfortable sofas, beds and pillows, bamboo flooring (we stayed in main part of hotel), and immaculately maintained. The true stars of this hotel, however, is the staff. Courteous, flexible and friendly, it is such a relief to be encouraged to feel at home when you're away from home. They didn't even bat an eye when we tumbled in fom the beach covered in sand, or asked for a bottle opener for the beer we had bought for ourselves. True professionals.

Another major plus was the cozy but darling common spaces, including their dining area and bar, as well as the garden seating (with spray mist for cooling to boot.) Their pool is small but heavenly.. Warm, with ambiance.

We secured the breakfast deal they were offering on trip advisor, which was welcome, but I will say, if you can get the rate cheaper from some other site, it may not be worth it with so many lovely little restaurant spots around the hotel. It covers the Continental breakfast on their menu only, which is your choice of English muffin, bagel or toast, a croissant and fruit, with OJ and coffee. It's five dollars extra for any other choice, which includes French toast, bagels and lox, or a large "American" breakfast with three eggs, bacon and the Continental choices. Food and drinks were all excellent at the Angler restaurant.

This will definitely be our choice the next time we go back to South Beach. Thank you!

Room Tip: Back of the main hotel, upper floor (3rd) was very quiet. It might be worth it to get a balcony if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NadiaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My best friend and i stayed at the Anglers for 4 nights. Amazing staff, very friendly, extremely friendly. The rooms are beautiful, everything is available to you, the food at the hotel is amazing. The location is perfect, in the middle of everything. The hotel does a get to know the staff cocktail hour kind of thing on Thursdays, its amazing. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank komalk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,060 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at The Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of The Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing