We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BEST OPTION IN SOUTHBEACH!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angler's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angler's Hotel
Ranked #13 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST OPTION IN SOUTHBEACH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you want great service at a very affordable price in South Beach, this is the place to go. What makes a smaller hotel better is that they know your name and can provide the services that you request in a timely manner and at an affordable rate.

Make sure to ask about the special jet ski trips - I spent three hours touring south beach and it was an amazing experience.

I don't like to say bad things about other places, but before I stayed here I had a horrible experience at the Fountain Blue. The crowd watching was great but everything else was wrong.

At least I got to have one night in a very well run hotel and really fun day before my flight that they directed. I will stay here again.

Ashton

Room Tip: I like the balconies for fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at The Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for the kind review!

I'm delighted that you were able to enjoy your visit to our tropical hideaway. I'll share your compliments with the entire team. We're very proud of the level of service that we offer throughout our small resort.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    412
    98
    40
    15
See reviews for
248
1,068
75
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Upon arrival,we were shown to a room on the top floor since we requested a quiet one far from the traffic on the street.but to our disappointment there was a vent right outside our window making a horrible racket and so we packed our things and proceeded to the reception where we were treated with a friendly and understanding attitude.We were then shown to a little 2 level suite on the bottom floor with its own little garden and a hot tub that was unfortunately covered up.
The suite was well furnished with good taste and clean with toilets downstairs and up,a kitchen and a lovely bedroom with a large porthole type window where one could look out on a garden and gaze at the stars while lying in the rooms' very comfortable bed.
That was one unexpected upgrade which would have normally costed us an arm and a leg had we booked that specific accommodation and worth putting up with all the traffic noise.
Thank you Anglers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at The Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and the glowing review!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly. It is quite a compliment that you selected us to be your home while vacationing from Stockholm. I'll share all of your compliments with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights over Easter, after looking a many hotels we decided upon this one for it's quieter location and were not disappointed. Our room was amazing two floors, private garden with hot tub, we did overlook the road, but that was no problem at all, a bit of noise yes, but you are in the middle of Miami so that is to be expected! Those who complain about the prices, size of rooms, staircases etc, should come and stay at a London hotel! The breakfasts were amazing, and staff were the most helpful and friendly we have ever known, not only when we arrived but in helping us organise car hire, tours etc before our arrival. All in all a perfect choice for a perfect first stay in Miami. We would definitely return. Many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeaselFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Billed as a boutique hotel, this place didn't live up to its billing. The prices are very high for the area, and with parking at $32 a day, we averaged more than $325 a night over two nights. The "suite" we were in was clean and OK. It's what was not there that was annoying to us. There's a shower, no tub, and the shower curtain rod fell off the wall every time we had a shower. There's no lights near the bed, so reading is impossible in bed. There's a fold-out TV on the wall, but when it's angled to be seen by either the sitting area or the bed there's half the floor blocked. The furniture is uncomfortable. The restaurant was way overpriced (basic breakfast for two was $40!). The air conditioner was very noisy and kept us awake. Staff was pleasant and the place was conveniently located, but considering a two-day stay with means and parking came close to $900, I won't be staying there again. It didn't live up to the hype in any way. Disappointing. Next visit to Miami Beach, I'll stay in a standard hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brutus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at The Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your valuable input.

I'm very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit with us. Would you be kind enough to E-mail me at Jayres@theanglersresort.com so that I can gain additional information and see what we can make right by you? There are a few items that I'm not familiar with and have not had any other complaints regarding: AC noise, view of television, and uncomfortable furniture. We often receive positive comments regarding our guest rooms. I am planning on adding some nice goose neck reading lamps above our headboards to make it easier to read in bed.

Regarding our pricing; all of our prices are shopped against comparable hotels and restaurants. In Miami Beach valet parking is a necessity. We shopped similar properties and while $32 seems high, we find it to still be on the low side of what is charged by other properties (some up to $45 nightly).

Your feedback is extraordinarily important to us. We are constantly working on improving ourselves and we prioritize our list based upon guest feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from another wonderful stay at Anglers. We stay there every trip to South Beach. We have no desire to book or try any where else. It's the perfect stay in South Beach.
A little off the beaten path, but so accessible and close to everything you need. The staff handles your every need with a smile. We would recommend this to any one who wants a little bit quieter and sophisticated hotel than those big hotels on the beach.
We highly, highly recommend The Anglers Resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spaniolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at The Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for the kind review!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit so completely. We take immense pride in being your luxurious quiet getaway. I'll share your feedback with all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon.

Tropical regards,

James E. Ayres II
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is outstanding. My boyfriend and I were staying in Fort Lauderdale and wanted a night out in Miami. He found The Angler's online - and we decided to book it. Now, let me say - we drove around Miami and there are MANY gorgeous hotels - BUT - this one is special. A perfect location - 2 blocks from Miami Beach, 1 block from Collins Avenue, a short drive to Lincoln Road, and shopping, restaurants, outdoor cafes, and bars and nightclubs everywhere. We loved the fact that the hotel has quiet music playing in the lobby and outside - not booming club music. It is beautiful and very romantic. Our room had 2 floors with a private jacuzzi - and the jacuzzi was clean and a great size. The bed was so comfortable, room beautiful with a balcony and tons of windows. Hotel staff were so accommodating and housekeeping was timely and wonderful. Please know the valet also has your car ready in minutes - great for when you want to go out at night. The bar has wonderful cocktails - my Guava Pisco Sour was to die for. Pool - small, perfect for a quick swim and you won't find Pauly D types there! NICE! :) I can't say enough about this great hotel. I think what we liked most was that we had the option to go to crazy Miami bars and clubs and hear loud music and see crazy things - but when we went back to our room - it was romance, beauty and a relaxing slice of heaven. Let's just say - we had booked 1 night - we walked into our room and a couple hours and a jacuzzi soak later - we booked a second night. We would stay there again in a New York minute. We did not eat at the restaurant - but the menu looked great!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the private jacuzzi are the way to go for romance. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 247MicheleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived stressed out after a terrifying drive into Miami.....to have the car whisked away from us, a smiling welcome at reception, and when we got to our room, we were delighted to find a lovely sitting area, large bedroom area, and best of all an enormous sun terrace. We could relax! The room was beautifully furnished in whites, taupes, pale greens, and very light and calming, with a clean and spacious bathroom. We went straight down and had a couple of Calvin's cocktails sitting on the besutifuoly planted and shaded terrace and thought we had found a wonderful place to stay. The hotel is in the Art Deco area, which Is everything we thought it would be. There was a lovely private pool amd sun area which we didnt use as we were out and about. The location was great, walking distance to the beach and loads of bars and restaurants, Lots of shops nearby, and a great launderette!!! Jessica the concierge was great, giving us all sorts of suggestions of where to go and what to see.....and the easiest way out of Miami when we checked out! We had dinner one night in the restaurant, and the food was excellent. The staff were all friendly, helpful, ready to stop for a chat; the hotel itself was a gem, and it was hard to believe that we were in the centre of Miami, as it was so peaceful and tranquil. A true boutique hotel, small, intimate, really well run and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel side on to the pool, which suited us and it was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennydecember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler's Hotel

Property: The Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing