We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For what you pay its good”
Review of James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Hotel
Ranked #122 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Afton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“For what you pay its good”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place looks like it popped out the movie Bird Cage. Stayed here because it was cheap and a last minute idea before we left Florida. Rooms are VERY Basic. Something that many hotel goers would probably rate as bad. There are beds, clean bathrooms and TV. All you need on vacatoin. All in all it was nice and cheap. If your a snob stay away because you may die when you walk in. If your an average Joe you will like this place and love the pricing. Guy at the counter was really down to earth and helpful. Very VERY limited parkin....like 3 spots but there are parking lots all over so it was not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    187
    110
    34
    49
See reviews for
110
185
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southgate, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is a good value for being on South Beach. You are very close to Lincoln Road and all the restaurants and two blocks to the ocean. It is very safe and has a very comfortable feeling when you walk in the door. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay this is it. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FtLaudyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Looks nice from outside but it's better to stay there!! We were told at the reception that we have a full size bed, actually it was way smaller that queen size. Which wouldn't have been a problem but ... The room was terrible, I mean really terrible! Besides the dirty floor, not only in the barhroom, the bed was used!! Black long hair and stains everywhere. We asked the receptionist to send somebody to put on new linen, she was unbelieveable unfriendle, thats not her problem, the housekeeping is gone. We had to do it on our own with linen she gave us - out of the dirty clothes again!! Oh my god, lots of hotels here in Florida where we've been - wooorst experience ever - the James Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location was good that's about it. Room service was the worst experience I ever seen in my life!! Food was horrible took an hour and a half to get the food then they forgot all our sides and condiments and tgar took another 30-40 to bring them we kept calling and they eventually sent us to voicemail which I've never seen before. The club downstairs SL was a cool place the whole staff was awesome we had some drinks at the bar and the bar tenders were all very sweet and very quick will be back there for sure! Lastly the valet was horrible took an hour to get my car and there was no one wait just us. Only reason ill go back to the James hotel would be for SL

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmhcable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beautifully eclectic, inspired by old Mexico, with the most wonderful, most accommodating management and staff you'll ever find anyplace! Centrally located to shopping, good restaurants and of course the beach. We rented bikes which is the preferred way to travel. Easy riding, no "rules" sidewalk or road, except to avoid cars, pedestrians and other people on wheels. We had a great time, and The James Hotel was a large part of it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephiKix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our Florida trip in Nov 2012. Two nights we shared a room with 4 persons, the other 2 nights I stayed with just my girlfriend and they gave us the same room for less.

The rooms are not the cleanest but the service was great. Guess there are nor many places in the middle of SoBe for this price. It's good to stay there if you wanna make party. Parking was included, usually you pay at least 15 for one night in south beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh84be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I Was looking for a good price hotel close to the beach and found the James Hotel. It was a great price of under $100. It's a 5 minute walk to the ocean. Rooms where clean, staff was great and it had free parking unheard of in the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Beach Place Hotel
#106 of 208 in Miami Beach
507 reviews
Oceanside Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
274 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#144 of 208 in Miami Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
Cadet Hotel
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
946 reviews
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#124 of 208 in Miami Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Hotel

Property: James Hotel
Address: 1680 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3104
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — James Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing