We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Ranked #138 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

That is the only word that best describes this hotel, when you walk into the lobby, it's like what the heck, there is so much furniture looks like they could open up a homeless shelter. Got a room in the north tower as soon as you exit the elevator, the carpet is yes you know it, gross, I don't think they own a vacuum, then enter the room and the smell of dirt, furniture from early goodwill, yes GROSS!Mole in the shower not a little alot, every negative comment on this hotel Believe it! Two ice machines for the whole hotel. Yes it has a nice pool area and it is on the beach, but if your going to stay here make sure you bring shower shoes or socks you need them to walk on the carpet and take a shower. It's been along time since I stayed in a hotel this nasty.

Room Tip: Maybe the south tower won't be as gross as the north side?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    45
    46
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
29
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a great hotel! The location is great, many restaurants, bars, shopping and grocery stores within steps. Of course the best part is the beach, directly in back of the building. There is a relaxing swimming pool, BBQ grills and even a vending matching selling beers. South beach is just a short 5 minute drive or you can take the city bus for less than a dollar and not have to worry about parking. There is a bus stop right out side the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and many rooms have a view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is a a little outdated but definitely has character and everything you need for a great trip to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevaf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was really worried based on prior reviews. I just called them and explained my concerns as my family was coming and I wanted to stay in a nice room. They explained that with the high turnover, some rooms aren't cleaned as thoroughly, but if you just let them know they will accommodate. In other words, they were very well aware of the reviews. Our room was great. It was very clean. Yes it is an older hotel and it looks that way too. There is an unusual smell in the lobby, but you can tell this was a great hotel in its hey day. Yes the furniture is older. Yes the pool has some stains if you look closely enough. Yes the breakfast isn't that great but you can pay $3 for an omelet and some other items. Yes the carpet is older and has some stains. I don't go barefoot in any hotel carpets. Period. You can tell that they are redoing the hotel so I will give them credit for that. This hotel is for airline crew members and their families. We got a great rate. You kind of get what you pay for so don't be expecting a 5 star hotel people. All in all I was pleasantly surprised and my teenagers liked it. No complaints except that they did not want to leave. Now that is priceless! Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. We might just make this our annual family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Be upfront and polite if you have a concern about your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank p l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Opened the door, the smell was most unpleasant.
Asked housekeeping for air freshener, she gave me lemon scented furniture polish.
I was so desperate, I used it.....a lot of it.
Walked in and was met by an absolutely filthy carpet.
I felt so very, very nasty.
Black stuff looking like mold in the bath tub, all kinds of spills on the dresser that were not wiped up.
The iron didn't work. The bulb was burned out on the bedside lamp.
I did not want to touch ANYTHING in this room.
I will wop/rdo/gwop or whatever I have to do to never go through this horrendous experience again.
Perhaps I should have slept on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Sherry is an airline crew only hotel, not accesible for the general public. The outside has an art deco feel. The pool area is nice and at the back there is a direct entrance to the beach.
The owners are renovating and updating the property little by little. Some areas, like the lobby look nice, staying inline with the tradition of the hotel. Other areas, like the breakfast room could use a make over.
The rooms are spacious and clean, maybe just not the most modern and luxurious. There is a little fridge and an in-room safe.
The staff at the reception is accomodating to help crew members with their specific needs, especially the General Manager Paul is very nice.
The best thing about the Sherry is probably the location and the availability of free parking space closeby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
320 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed @ this hotel as a Flight Attendant. The location is perfect!!! You can walk to grocery stores & place in your refrigerator(in room). You can even have a BBQ on the beach. This hotel sits right on the beach. Laundry room on the premises to wash those bathing suits. Breakfast is served from 5:00am to 11:00am- that is great extended hours for us on different time zones.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great location for the beach. That's about it. Elevator broke while I was inside of it. My key wouldn't open the gate from the beach to pool, and a rude man (not from the US) had the nerve to say... "Don't your hands work?" Disgusted. Flight was delayed and requested late check out. Nasty chubby bald old man said "we do not offer that here" lobby and rooms stink. No food except gross coffee and cereal in the morning. I'll stay again if it's free.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Meggsull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Mimosa Hotel
#148 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Collins Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deauville Beach Resort
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 3,790 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#102 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Property: Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherry Frontenac Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherry Frontenac Hotel specializes in accommodating airline crews and is pleased that its guests include crews from American Airlines, Swiss, United Airlines, JetairFly, Skywest, USAir, TAP, UPS, Airborne Express, Southern Air, etc. Your crew's friends and families will enjoy their layovers and vacations in Miami Beach. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is located in a friendly neighborhood with many restaurants, bakeries and shopping nearby. We are an oceanfront hotel with a beautiful sand beach yet only 18 minutes from MIA airport. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is a first quality facility including a lounge, exercise/workout room with a complete circuit, spinners, ellipticals, treadmills, free weights etc., complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast and much more. In our club-like environment we provide a quality, restful layover, and our guests enjoy our hospitality. In fact, many of our guests consider the Sherry Frontenac their finest crew layover hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing