We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Ranked #148 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a great hotel! The location is great, many restaurants, bars, shopping and grocery stores within steps. Of course the best part is the beach, directly in back of the building. There is a relaxing swimming pool, BBQ grills and even a vending matching selling beers. South beach is just a short 5 minute drive or you can take the city bus for less than a dollar and not have to worry about parking. There is a bus stop right out side the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and many rooms have a view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is a a little outdated but definitely has character and everything you need for a great trip to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevaf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    62
    28
    25
See reviews for
29
38
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was really worried based on prior reviews. I just called them and explained my concerns as my family was coming and I wanted to stay in a nice room. They explained that with the high turnover, some rooms aren't cleaned as thoroughly, but if you just let them know they will accommodate. In other words, they were very well aware of the reviews. Our room was great. It was very clean. Yes it is an older hotel and it looks that way too. There is an unusual smell in the lobby, but you can tell this was a great hotel in its hey day. Yes the furniture is older. Yes the pool has some stains if you look closely enough. Yes the breakfast isn't that great but you can pay $3 for an omelet and some other items. Yes the carpet is older and has some stains. I don't go barefoot in any hotel carpets. Period. You can tell that they are redoing the hotel so I will give them credit for that. This hotel is for airline crew members and their families. We got a great rate. You kind of get what you pay for so don't be expecting a 5 star hotel people. All in all I was pleasantly surprised and my teenagers liked it. No complaints except that they did not want to leave. Now that is priceless! Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. We might just make this our annual family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Be upfront and polite if you have a concern about your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank p l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Opened the door, the smell was most unpleasant.
Asked housekeeping for air freshener, she gave me lemon scented furniture polish.
I was so desperate, I used it.....a lot of it.
Walked in and was met by an absolutely filthy carpet.
I felt so very, very nasty.
Black stuff looking like mold in the bath tub, all kinds of spills on the dresser that were not wiped up.
The iron didn't work. The bulb was burned out on the bedside lamp.
I did not want to touch ANYTHING in this room.
I will wop/rdo/gwop or whatever I have to do to never go through this horrendous experience again.
Perhaps I should have slept on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Sherry is an airline crew only hotel, not accesible for the general public. The outside has an art deco feel. The pool area is nice and at the back there is a direct entrance to the beach.
The owners are renovating and updating the property little by little. Some areas, like the lobby look nice, staying inline with the tradition of the hotel. Other areas, like the breakfast room could use a make over.
The rooms are spacious and clean, maybe just not the most modern and luxurious. There is a little fridge and an in-room safe.
The staff at the reception is accomodating to help crew members with their specific needs, especially the General Manager Paul is very nice.
The best thing about the Sherry is probably the location and the availability of free parking space closeby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed @ this hotel as a Flight Attendant. The location is perfect!!! You can walk to grocery stores & place in your refrigerator(in room). You can even have a BBQ on the beach. This hotel sits right on the beach. Laundry room on the premises to wash those bathing suits. Breakfast is served from 5:00am to 11:00am- that is great extended hours for us on different time zones.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great location for the beach. That's about it. Elevator broke while I was inside of it. My key wouldn't open the gate from the beach to pool, and a rude man (not from the US) had the nerve to say... "Don't your hands work?" Disgusted. Flight was delayed and requested late check out. Nasty chubby bald old man said "we do not offer that here" lobby and rooms stink. No food except gross coffee and cereal in the morning. I'll stay again if it's free.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Meggsull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great 50's era hotel. Welcoming staff and a at-home feel. Pool table, internet and cool little lounge. Nothing fancy, just the way I like it. Peaceful areas to read on a rainy night. They even have a small library.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mimosa Hotel
The Mimosa Hotel
#154 of 208 in Miami Beach
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#143 of 208 in Miami Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#106 of 208 in Miami Beach
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mare Azur Miami Beach
Hotel Mare Azur Miami Beach
#13 of 85 in Miami Beach
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Property: Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherry Frontenac Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherry Frontenac Hotel specializes in accommodating airline crews and is pleased that its guests include crews from American Airlines, Swiss, United Airlines, JetairFly, Skywest, USAir, TAP, UPS, Airborne Express, Southern Air, etc. Your crew's friends and families will enjoy their layovers and vacations in Miami Beach. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is located in a friendly neighborhood with many restaurants, bakeries and shopping nearby. We are an oceanfront hotel with a beautiful sand beach yet only 18 minutes from MIA airport. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is a first quality facility including a lounge, exercise/workout room with a complete circuit, spinners, ellipticals, treadmills, free weights etc., complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast and much more. In our club-like environment we provide a quality, restful layover, and our guests enjoy our hospitality. In fact, many of our guests consider the Sherry Frontenac their finest crew layover hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sherry Frontenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing