We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Grand Dame hotel for airline crew!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Ranked #149 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old Grand Dame hotel for airline crew!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The Sherry is a great old hotel with a fantastic location. Bus stop is close to go to South Beach, pool and beach are great. Walgreens and Publix are a block away. Free breakfast in the morning. Helpful front desk staff. Is it dated? Yes. Are the bathrooms small? Yes. Do we really care? No! We are on a layover in Miami for crying out loud!!!
Let me just say this: you take the good with the bad and all and all it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank treycarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    61
    28
    25
See reviews for
28
37
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spent two nights here and I really enjoyed my time. The hotel has had a revamp from what I gather and it may be dated in some areas still but the rooms are really good (at least mine was). I had a lovely room with two doubles with a beach view. The room was spotless and the white linen crisp and clean. They also had a fridge which was great to put bits in so you had a nice cool drink after a walk or day on the beach. Talking of drinks - The bar is sooo reasonable I mean it was really cheap, needless to say I made the most of this.

The hotel also does a breakfast inc. in the price which is ok to start the day. They do however have no problems about you bringing food in from other places and eating it ANYWHERE in the entire hotel - they even have a booklet of the menus in reception.

The pool was large and clean and I enjoyed a short swim to test it out. As for the other facilites, they have a coin laundry which was $1.50 wash which is useful for all them sandy clothes, also a great fitness centre with tonnes of equipment that you can work out on.

Excellent place that's a hidden gem, UK - FA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location on the beach that the only good thing about this place. There is a very bad smell in the lobby that doesn't go away..There is also a hotel in construction right next to Sherry and it's VERY noisy. Rooms are not clean, bathroom the size of my hand, fridge stoped working at night and water was all over the carpet and lost my food. This is a crew hotel basiclly. South Beach is 20 minutes away by bus but honestly, i would avoid this hotel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank girafe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Dated but Decent. Construction in area has filled most of the nearby vacant lots. One updated wing; the other in need. Big pool shielded from a very nice beach by berms. Popular airline crew hotel within reasonable walking distance (or public bus) to South Beach

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyBoyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located yes...by the beach yes....restaurants around yes....But if you are looking for a clean room you wont find that there...I saw staff cleaning a few rooms, and never saw them vacuum the carpets. In my room, the carpet was so old, it had dark stains everywhere , a few threads pulled here and there...there is no way I was going to walk barefoot on this...really really gross...this carpet must be 40 years old!!! there was hair on the floor in the bathroom and it was not mine...the bed seemed clean however...the bed is comfortable and big and looks new but thats the only thing that seemed new in the room..There are scratches everywhere on the doors and the walls..The rooms really need to be freshen up..and come on!!! change those carpets!! put tiles! you' re in florida!!!I was very careful to always keep my suitcase closed...did not want to take the chance of taking bugs home...My Tv did not work, and when I told them at check out the man at the reception desk laughed...there is a building under construction right next to the hotel...so if you plan on having a quiet morning in bed, forget it..not gonna happen...Breakfast??? dont bother!go eat across the street...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank sailsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Well located but old, old, and dated. Many layers of paint and old carpets. Probably peaked in the 50's. Otherwise, small, dank rooms. The location is the strong point, right on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekubiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Superb location some miles north of the South Beach in Miami. The Hotel offers a great pool and gym. I would say that 90% of the occupancy are airline crews.
This would be a good place to stay if you do not want to be in Art district crowd. You will find supermarket and couple of stores nearby, and the bus stop is just a block away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PepeRamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mimosa Hotel
The Mimosa Hotel
#154 of 208 in Miami Beach
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#142 of 208 in Miami Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#105 of 208 in Miami Beach
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mare Azur Miami Beach
Hotel Mare Azur Miami Beach
#13 of 85 in Miami Beach
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Property: Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherry Frontenac Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherry Frontenac Hotel specializes in accommodating airline crews and is pleased that its guests include crews from American Airlines, Swiss, United Airlines, JetairFly, Skywest, USAir, TAP, UPS, Airborne Express, Southern Air, etc. Your crew's friends and families will enjoy their layovers and vacations in Miami Beach. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is located in a friendly neighborhood with many restaurants, bakeries and shopping nearby. We are an oceanfront hotel with a beautiful sand beach yet only 18 minutes from MIA airport. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is a first quality facility including a lounge, exercise/workout room with a complete circuit, spinners, ellipticals, treadmills, free weights etc., complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast and much more. In our club-like environment we provide a quality, restful layover, and our guests enjoy our hospitality. In fact, many of our guests consider the Sherry Frontenac their finest crew layover hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sherry Frontenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing