We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was probably a great hotel in the 40's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Ranked #148 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
KY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Was probably a great hotel in the 40's”
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Well located but old, old, and dated. Many layers of paint and old carpets. Probably peaked in the 50's. Otherwise, small, dank rooms. The location is the strong point, right on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekubiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    62
    28
    25
See reviews for
29
38
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Superb location some miles north of the South Beach in Miami. The Hotel offers a great pool and gym. I would say that 90% of the occupancy are airline crews.
This would be a good place to stay if you do not want to be in Art district crowd. You will find supermarket and couple of stores nearby, and the bus stop is just a block away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PepeRamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel doesn't claim to be cutting edge modern and still boasts it's original lobby. You can't get any closer to the beach but if it's a windy day there is a great pool. The staff are friendly and relaxed and will make every effort to make your stay enjoyable.
One great feature of this hotel is the location. It far enough from South beach to avoid the noise and partygoers but still just a short walk or cab ride to anywhere in Miami.
If you fancy chatting with a pilot or stewardess the bar is the place to be.
The restaurant serves great food and is reasonably priced but if you are looking for something a little more lively then try Normans across the road.

Room Tip: Request a beachside room after all thats why your there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Bugged_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Well, I was going to write a longer review, but I just lost the essay I was writing, so here goes for the short version:

Hotel *HAS* been renovated: with - as far as I could tell - new paint inside and outside and modern, triple-glazed windows. There, I believe, the renovations end. Others who have stayed there before please do correct me if I'm wrong.

The good: good value, clean, very quiet hotel, quiet rooms with solid walls (joy of joys!), fantastic location, outstanding pool and premises, accommodating staff, most rooms have some kind of ocean view and some have a truly spectacular one, very good free breakfast, which you can eat on a lovely east-facing patio overlooking the pool and beach, oh, and don't forget the $1 beer machine by the pool, a truly inspired move!

The not so good: as previous reviewers said a musty smell in the lobby (only the lobby, mind you), very dated carpets in room, shower was barely warm enough and somewhat weak (either issue is OK on its own, but the combination makes showering less than enjoyable), oh and the wifi seemed weak and slow, kind of like the shower.. ha ha. The bed clean, comfortable, but is of the older kind: with a spring mattress over a box spring so, if you're sleeping with a twitchy partner, you can expect to feel every single twitch she/he makes transmitted to you with zero signal loss...

So, if you're looking for a clean, quiet, reasonably priced hotel, with great location and views, and you don't care about the annoying little things I just mentioned, then have at it, with my blessing. Just don't take that northeast room I have my eye on for when my wife and I return, OK?

Room Tip: For now, you might like to avoid south-facing rooms on the South Tower, just until the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pawnee_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had a good time there. The hotel seemed like it was mostly for flight attendants and pilots! I went on a Friday night and it was gorgeous in Miami. The hotel bar was boring. The bartender spent most if her time watching tv. The drinks were cheap though! :-) the room was nice but the view sucked because there was construction with a huge crane outside my room! The beach was amazing! The airport is a long long way from the airport! It was a pretty good stay! Lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance :-) FYI never use Prestige shuttle company. Rude and late. 45 mins late to be exact!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TruSmilesJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The lobby of this hotel is still the original, like something out of a Humphrey Bogart movie, but the rooms have all been renovated and are very comfortable now!! The hotel is located right on the beach with it's own restaurant. Lots of shopping nearby and local haunts for those who want to enjoy the local people, food and drinks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaufman, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Definately an older hotel, but the location and access to everything is great. We didn't spend too much time in our room, so the shabby dark interior and small quarters didn't bother us. The pool is great (and the beers) and the access directly out onto the beach was pleasant. The breakfast was decent.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Justa_Figment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mimosa Hotel
The Mimosa Hotel
#154 of 208 in Miami Beach
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#143 of 208 in Miami Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#106 of 208 in Miami Beach
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mare Azur Miami Beach
Hotel Mare Azur Miami Beach
#13 of 85 in Miami Beach
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherry Frontenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherry Frontenac Hotel

Property: Sherry Frontenac Hotel
Address: 6565 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherry Frontenac Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherry Frontenac Hotel specializes in accommodating airline crews and is pleased that its guests include crews from American Airlines, Swiss, United Airlines, JetairFly, Skywest, USAir, TAP, UPS, Airborne Express, Southern Air, etc. Your crew's friends and families will enjoy their layovers and vacations in Miami Beach. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is located in a friendly neighborhood with many restaurants, bakeries and shopping nearby. We are an oceanfront hotel with a beautiful sand beach yet only 18 minutes from MIA airport. The Sherry Frontenac Hotel is a first quality facility including a lounge, exercise/workout room with a complete circuit, spinners, ellipticals, treadmills, free weights etc., complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast and much more. In our club-like environment we provide a quality, restful layover, and our guests enjoy our hospitality. In fact, many of our guests consider the Sherry Frontenac their finest crew layover hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sherry Frontenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing