We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cool place, great food... Miami style :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1826 Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

1826 Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, American, Spanish, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated on Collins Avenue at the bustling center of South Beach, 1826 Restaurant & Lounge offers contemporary American cuisine with a focus on elegant dishes in a stylishly modern setting.
miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool place, great food... Miami style :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Beautiful building, great creative menu, excellent cocktails and really good service! Be ready to share because you have to try as many dishes as you can :) We were four people in our party so we ordered more than 10 different dishes... one as good or better than the other...
Really worth it!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank herskowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    45
    18
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Step out of your comfort zone and discover 1826!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A contemporary multi-level loft style venue in the heart of South Beach. Monty our server was just wonderful. He started with introducing us to the dining concept of 1826, tapas style dinning that teases your taste buds. We were at Monty’s mercy after his display of knowledge of the menu. We started with cocktails; try the “strawberry incense”, “in the woods” or the “I got the power”, beware that they are tasty but very powerful indeed! The caramelized onion and bacon bread was FABU! Tuna tartar, Wild Alaskan Halibut, leek truffle potato croquets. The grapefruit salad was amazing, Florida shrimp katafi with coriander sabayon, NY Strip cooked to perfection , black truffle risotto. The sorbets for desert were also incredible. Thank you Monty instigating us to step out of our comfort zone and take us to a culinary adventure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CONCIERE_NAVIGATOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have a feeling this little gem will be around for quite a while. Perfectly located in the heart of south beach, this restaurant is not only beautiful, but the food is amazing as well.

They hosted a happy hour for the residents of my building so I was lucky enough to be able to sample many of their menu items.

Their cucumber gazpacho with almond, dill and gin snow was so refreshing. Crisp & clean, it is the perfect soup for a hot, Miami summer day!

The black truffle risotto cannot be put into words - you just have to taste it. Salty, creamy, in one word - divine! It's a party in your mouth - seriously!

Their beef tartare cornets look like little mini ice cream cones except that they are filled with a little ball of joy - beef tartare! The presentation is adorable. You almost feel bad biting into one of these little suckers but you will quickly get over it - I promise!

Their grilled short rib melts in your mouth and for dessert we had the passion fruit semifreddo and strawberry shortcake. Both were fantastic in that they were light but incredibly flavorful... the perfect ending to a perfect meal.

I had their Sauvignon Blanc but cannot recall the brand. I will assume it was their house wine and even that was amazing.

They have 3 floors. The first floor is the restaurant, the 2nd floor is more like a lounge/bar type area where you can eat, drink, and be "merry" as I understand that on the weekends, the small center space becomes somewhat of a dance floor for those who might want to burn off some calories after what was, of course, a delicious meal.

The 3rd floor I was told was more of a VIP lounge and although I did not see it, I can only imagine it is as beautifully decorated as the other 2 areas.

I will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Unbelievable dinner experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Everything was amazing from start to finish. We had 10:30p reservations and were seated right on time. The service staff was very attentive from the beginning with water and offering the cocktail menu. Dinner menus arrived, and our eyes lit up! They have the menu set up into 3 sections. Within each section, the plates range from small tapas style to medium to large to share. We ordered 2-3 pieces from each section along with cocktails and dessert. For 4 people, dinner was quite reasonable, and the quality and presentation was exceptional! I will definitely be back! Be sure to also visit their lounge upstairs!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Albir, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

What a great place!! Pre booked as wanted somewhere nice to go after our long flight and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and service excellent with one of the best wine waiters we have ever had. Just a shame we are not in Miami for long as would be going back but will certainly visit next time we are here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete-Albir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1826 Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing