We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, quiet beach right there, but need a car”
Review of Beach Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beach Place Hotel
Ranked #108 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, quiet beach right there, but need a car”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is really well-priced, but be aware that it is not a four star hotel and not really walking distance to South Beach. Having said that, I think many of the previous reviews were unfair and this review is in light of it's great value price for Miami.

Pros: All the basics are there it is safe, clean, staff was professional, air con, swimming pool on site, free parking, close to North Miami Beach and nice parks - you can totally walk to a great beach that is not very crowded in 5 minutes if you just go due east a few blocks, which could be great for families or anyone just looking to relax. If you go north ten blocks you'll find a few shops and restaurants, a pharmacy, etc. It's very much away from the fray and noise of South Beach.

Cons: Fewer good restaurants in walking distance (George's Italian on 72nd St is amazing though, wine deals on Tuesdays, 15 min walk south - recommended!), need to drive or cab it to South Beach for going out (we took one cab late at night for 21$), a lot of the on site parking has you backing out onto a main thoroughfare right after a bend (yikes)

Tips: There are a few buses, which only set you back 2$ if you're not in a hurry. About 4 or 5 routes take you to South Beach in 30 minutes and they come every 10-15minutes during the day and every haf hour all night. There are some buses to downtown too although we didn't use them. I would also recommend paring around the side of the hotel on 86 St NOT on Harding Ave itself, as it is a bit tricky backing out into traffic with poor visibility and traffic going quite quick. I mean, it is obviously doable but I personally hate backing out onto a busy road and there's a quieter side street so why stress!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etoilestrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    227
    138
    30
    31
See reviews for
177
169
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Beach Place Hotel is not the 4 Seasons, lets get that out of the way. This hotel is your basic run of the mill hotel, no frills. I don't say this to be mean or disparage the hotel, I say it because it is, what it is. I picked this hotel for the affordability, and the proximity to the beach. I didn't pick this hotel for its extra features. I needed a place to sleep, that was quiet, clean and comfortable; and this hotel hit on all marks.
I was unaware this hotel had a pool, which was a plus when I didn't feel like laying on the beach, I could chill by the pool. The hotel has free WiFi which I also didn't know about, which was another huge plus as my Sprint service sucked in that area for some reason. They also have a computer in the lobby which you can use for free.
The room was very clean, and although we didn't use the housekeeping services, I always saw them walking around cleaning the facility. I did leave a tip for Doris, our housekeeper as the room was a little messy.
The only negatives I had about my stay were the Venetian blinds in the room, and the parking. The blinds didn't cover the windows properly at the end, and I sometimes felt like people could see in at night. If you weren't parked by a certain time, parking was hard to find .
I would stay at this hotel again if I was in the area. Its not far from nightlife in South Beach, but not so close where you feel like you're in the party.

Room Tip: If you can find a good parking spot, park and walk if you have to go somewhere close. Parking is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

For the $, beach place was a good three night stay. Room was clean, staff friendly and helpful. No frills. Parking was free and plentiful, a real plus for Miami.
Since, I had a car, the location was ok, however, as others have noted, it is a long was to any type of food or activity. The beach is vey close and access through a large public park was nice.

Try it if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very good for the money, you need a car to go for breakfast or beach, pool was OK. Have refrigerator so it was possible to buy something from food shop Publix aprox. 800 meters from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thank you for a nice stay in your Hotel. The room was very clean and quiet - in spite of the climate, the stuff helpful and friendly. maybe there could be more tv-programms from a satelite
also for foreign visitors

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karl-heinz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed there for a week.. The rooms were good. The room service staff were so helpful and friendly. The pool was always clean, and the price was affordable.

Just remember to bring a car with you, because the nearest restaurant is like 5 blocks down. Dont worry about the parking, coz you will always find a parking spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kareem567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pros:
Location close to the beach, in a park, free parking and plenty available. Keycard doors to the rooms, nice coffee maker (can use our own grinded coffee), staff was always helpful, free internet (Wi-fi) connection. The rooms seems to have been renovated recently. There is a small sitting area next to the bathroom which is quite practical as closet to put luggage and change clothes.

Cons:
Cleaning was sub-par, the sheets were clean but not the duvet, with stains and hairs, but as it was hot, I just removed it. The internet was not stable, was connecting to the router and stating Internet was out of reach from the router. They seem to have dealt with that. From the outside the hotel looks more like a motel and it is a bit run down, but the rooms itself are ok. Some of the towels, although clean, were a bit torn, they have to be replaced. The carpets in the room were not very clean, could notice when walking barefoot the feet gets a lot of dirt. The toiletries provided are not good, bring your own shampoo and soap. We had to buy a bit at Publix.

Room Tip: I suppose the rooms on the second floor are quieter, but all in all it is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranerio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#100 of 208 in Miami Beach
94 reviews
Collins Hotel
#98 of 208 in Miami Beach
958 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#121 of 208 in Miami Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanside Hotel
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
282 reviews
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#194 of 208 in Miami Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Place Hotel

Property: Beach Place Hotel
Address: 8601 Harding Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Party the night away on South Beach, relax at The Beach Place Hotel. We offer comfortable single-queen or double-queen nonsmoking rooms in a quiet section of Miami Beach. The Beach Place Hotel is a friendly licensed hotel, boasting a home away from home atmosphere. Ample parking, pool, walk in closets, local phone service, wireless internet, coin operated washers and dryers, iron and iron boards in each room, cable TV, handicapped rooms, 27 rooms with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Place Miami
Hotel Beach Place
Beach Place Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing