We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gaythering

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gaythering
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was my first trip to Miami and definitely my first experience at a gay-centred hotel. I have to say without a doubt this was one of my favourite hotel stays!

Location is great on a major street and a 5 minute walk to the Lincoln shops and restaurants. Huahuas next door is delicious too. The beach (esp 12th) and popular clubs like Twist were farther, about a 20-25 minute walk.

The boutique-style hotel makes for a friendlier atmosphere and you get to know all of the front desk staff. They're all super helpful, fun to chat with and super cute to boot. YR ;)

My room was petite king but was spacious with a lounge area and desk. Decor was unique but a bit depressing with the black, red and grey industrial theme. Rooms were spotless with the exception of some ants here or there. Bed was very comfy with lots of pillows. Oh, free wifi!!

I didn't have a chance to use the spa, but it was there. The downstairs bar was usually buzzing in the evenings with middle aged to older clientele and the adjacent lounge with tables, games, TVs and gay books was really cool. A collection of beach towels for taking was a nice touch. Oh, Matt makes a mean mocha at the coffee bar too...

Suggestions for improvement? A little less dark of a decor theme in the rooms, bigger TVs (in bigger rooms like 3010), nightstand drawers, irons, lotion, and less eucalyptus!

High fives and hugs to hosts Alex, Matt, Mark, Steph, Hector and Yandry! Meeting them was definitely one of the highlights of my stay! I was too shy to ask a few of them on a date, but I guess they probably get hit on all the time anyway......!

Last thing, this place is definitely STRAIGHT-FRIENDLY, though probably for a more liberal crowd.

Room Tip: I would avoid the room on the second floor that's beside the ice/laundry room, although I never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    105
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
11
150
91
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The location is a little distance from all of the action, but that's not a bad thing! It's next to the shopping and I'll take that. The spa area is unmatched... It's clean, safe and the dream relaxation bunus. The price of the hotel is a steal! It was a great experience and I will most defiantly return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I am glad I took a chance to stay at this hotel. It exceeded my expectation and shattered stereotypes of gay hotels. The environment was gay chic and classy. Upon check in the hotel staff was amazing. They are focused on making you feel welcomed and they pay attention to detail. The hotel is very well designed and clean. The rooms are immaculate and I love the modern look. I felt like I was in a "True Blood" episode (I love TRUE Blood). I was on business travel but look forward to spending a few days in the near future for a Miami Beach getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AMS1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

On the recommendation of my friend who lives in Miami, I booked a three-day stay en route to the Yucatan. After I made my nonrefundable reservation, I began having second thoughts. Had I gotten myself into a nonstop Dancing Queen disco nightmare? Much to my delight, the guests were mostly grownups and a lot of fun. The staff is terrific. I don't need a pool or restaurant on site, but having a good bar ( and bartender) is definitely a plus. I'd definitely stay there again.
Marjorie L

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room on the third (top) floor with a view of the water. Some of the rooms have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marjoriekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When I got there to check in I had to cancel the whole reservation and call expedia Just because they won't add one more guest to my room even paying more for the same room, the hotel capt 89 dollars foe the cancelation

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank ixmiquilpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff super nice , very helpful , rooms aesthetically amazing , clean .. My favorite hotel now in SOBE.
Close to where my friends lives and close to everything I wanted to do ..
It is a very fun place to stay at .. And the Marc at the reception is an eye candy ;)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReidR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Well located with beatiful and elegant rooms. The place has good facilities (sauna is great) but we missed somebody who speaks spanish. There is no breakfast at all! though there is a funny party on friday at night that somehow could solve this dawback :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihosvany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Impala Hotel
Impala Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#64 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Claridge's
Casa Claridge's
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.0 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gaythering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaythering

Property: Hotel Gaythering
Address: 1409 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gaythering 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gaythering is Miami Beach only "Hetero Friendly" hotel where everyone over the age of 18 is welcome. Located on Prestigious Lincoln Road, behind the building original facade, nothing has been spared to provide a unique experience. The amenities reflect the fact that luxury is no longer about spending the most money. It is about getting the best value and being made to feel special. The lobby is the heart of the hotel, a communal space where guests and locals can "gayther" for a coffee, a drink, a bite to eat, use the library unless they prefer to take advantage of the complimentary Men Self Spa with its hamam, Steam room, jacuzzi and Dry Sauna. It is a place where relationships can organically unfold thus creating a sense of community within the hotel. The Coffee Shop, Lounge and Library serve as incubators for productive minds, as well as casual communal experiences. The hotel promotes "gaythering" and socializing with activities and curated programming. The hotel does not charge for any of the activities like Yoga, meditation, language classes or group discussions but donations to the facilitators or instructors are appreciated to cover their own expenses. There is not much "cookie cutter" going on here: All the rooms are unusually large by South Beach standard (300 to 437 square feet) and have King size beds, 40 HDTV's, Showers with red "welders curtains", original artwork, science lab desk with metal chair, 300 thread count 100% cotton linens, and even a sleep sound machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gaythering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing