We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
135
219
80
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
219
80
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on south beach small kitchen security gate ocean drive full size fridge valet parking central location collins avenue location is great walking distance to the beach sitting area beach towels microwave block sobe miami action
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 481 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

To be in the heart of South Beach, this hotel disappointed my expectations greatly. Upon our arrival, our room had a strong clorox smell that was horrible. The bathroom smelled like an entire bottle of clorox was used to clean it at one time! We killed at least 4 roaches during our stay here. We never completely unpacked our luggage for this reason. There were roaches near the bed, one in the bathroom and one in the kitchen......and all of this occurred without us bringing any food into the room. There was also a HUGE dragonfly buzzing around the light fixture in the kitchen. The door lock malfunctioned the entire time we were there. To get it to work, we had to turn the knob several times. These are things we were met with during our stay unfortunately. Despite these areas of concern, toward the end of our stay the cleaning crew must have changed what they used to clean the place because it began to not smell so much like clorox which was great. If this hotel can get rid of their roaches, insects, clorox smell, and malfunctioning door locks, they would be a nice place to stay that's not expensive. We do not plan on staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Playa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - I apologize if the housekeeping staff used too much Clorox to clean out the bathroom, this could have been a simple case of over pouring. I would like to inform you that the hotel does contract a pest company to service our property every 2 weeks, if you go through the reviews for our hotel on this site you will see that roaches and bugs in general are not a problem, being that we are located in an area that has numerous restaurants nearby (literally next door) and that Florida is a tropical state we can expect some critters every now and then. The door lock problem was most likely a one time issue, everything has a risk of breaking down at any moment, it simply is bad timing when it happens to someone personally, but we have a very attentive maintenance staff that if an issue is reported it will be fixed within 24 hours. I urge you to contact me should you wish to speak in person and in detail, once again I apologize for any inconvenience that these issues caused you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights. Clean room, nothing fancy, in the middle of south beach. Don't expect great views or quite AC. Easy walking to the beach entrance, shops and restaurants. Close to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. The front desk staff was really friendly. It was noisy as you can hear people passing by your door (laughing and talking), or doors slamming. I would recommend this hotel to younger people which want to have a good time and don't want to spend a lot of time in their room. Not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sigrun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review - Generally, our property is not very noisy, but it is true that due to the atmosphere in South Beach and the nightlife in general it tends to attract a younger crowd which can lead to noisy guests...I do not think this should limit the type of clientele in Miami Beach as this can range widely between differing weekends. We do hope you reconsider and give our property another opportunity! If you could email the room number of your unit when you stayed at the property (sales@thekenthotel.com) I will gladly follow up with my maintenance staff to take a look at the A/C in that unit and repair whatever issue might be causing too much noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Location of hotel was excellent and the rooms were good. 1 block away from nice restaurants and beach. It is a bit older and there was construction close by so first impressions were not great. The size of the room and comfort of beds were nice so it is a great value. What dropped the rating was the first guy we met from the hotel.

The front desk guy in the afternoon was awful. We had 3 families traveling with us and they all had similar experiences. We were the 3rd family to arrive but the 1st 2 families warned us about him before we got there and they were right. He was rude and very unhelpful. He looked like he did not want to be there and resented the fact that he had to do some work when we arrived. It was so bad that if we saw that guy working and had a question we actually went to another hotel to ask our question. On the other hand, the girl working in the morning was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get top floor if possible. We were on bottom floor and we heard the people above us walking around.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Eric, thank you for the honest review - I am very disappointed reading your comments about the front desk in the evening hours, typically our most often praised quality is the staff and it's attentive nature so this is surprising to the least, but we appreciate your feedback! I will be using this review as a training tool for the next meeting with our staff so that I can point out the inconsistencies on our end with hopes that we will improve in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our time in Sobe and loved the attention we received from the staff there (Rosie in particular). The valet service was great and reasonably priced for the area ($20 a day with in/out). The room was well equipped with everything we needed. The beds were also very comfortable. My only knock was the noisy A/C unit in the room (it was hot and humid so turning it off was not an option). If they figure out this out then it's a five rating for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vamosalbiceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review! If you could email me at sales@thekenthotel.com and tell me which room you stayed in we'll have that A/C checked out and fixed in no time! I assume it's just father time letting us know that we need to change that unit, but this is a simple fix, so if you could let us know it would be very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were on holiday in Orlando and wanted to visit Miami....after spending night after night on the Internet looking for accommodation that would suit a family of three adults and four children,we came across these.
We booked a one night stay there,giving us two days to visit and do the tours.
We arrived before book in time and the staff went out their way to help ,storing our bags,letting us use the facilities to freshen up and then sort out parking for our hired car.
Rooms were bigger than we expected,clean and with a safe,fridge,small but enough kitchen area,ample storage space ...we had won a coconut with this choice.
Area was ideal for what we wanted to do.....visit Miami Ink( street behind us) .....visit Dash -the Khardasian shop ( street behind us) ..and with kids in the party ,a visit to the beach was a street the other way in front of this place...
Excellent location .
Thanks for all your help.
A great place that we as a family ,would happily recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mark, thank you for the great review and the details on your room amenities,!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews