We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, big room, awful front desk guy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites on South Beach Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites on South Beach Miami
Ranked #106 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, big room, awful front desk guy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Location of hotel was excellent and the rooms were good. 1 block away from nice restaurants and beach. It is a bit older and there was construction close by so first impressions were not great. The size of the room and comfort of beds were nice so it is a great value. What dropped the rating was the first guy we met from the hotel.

The front desk guy in the afternoon was awful. We had 3 families traveling with us and they all had similar experiences. We were the 3rd family to arrive but the 1st 2 families warned us about him before we got there and they were right. He was rude and very unhelpful. He looked like he did not want to be there and resented the fact that he had to do some work when we arrived. It was so bad that if we saw that guy working and had a question we actually went to another hotel to ask our question. On the other hand, the girl working in the morning was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get top floor if possible. We were on bottom floor and we heard the people above us walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Eric, thank you for the honest review - I am very disappointed reading your comments about the front desk in the evening hours, typically our most often praised quality is the staff and it's attentive nature so this is surprising to the least, but we appreciate your feedback! I will be using this review as a training tool for the next meeting with our staff so that I can point out the inconsistencies on our end with hopes that we will improve in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    197
    76
    20
    19
See reviews for
103
160
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our time in Sobe and loved the attention we received from the staff there (Rosie in particular). The valet service was great and reasonably priced for the area ($20 a day with in/out). The room was well equipped with everything we needed. The beds were also very comfortable. My only knock was the noisy A/C unit in the room (it was hot and humid so turning it off was not an option). If they figure out this out then it's a five rating for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vamosalbiceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review! If you could email me at sales@thekenthotel.com and tell me which room you stayed in we'll have that A/C checked out and fixed in no time! I assume it's just father time letting us know that we need to change that unit, but this is a simple fix, so if you could let us know it would be very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were on holiday in Orlando and wanted to visit Miami....after spending night after night on the Internet looking for accommodation that would suit a family of three adults and four children,we came across these.
We booked a one night stay there,giving us two days to visit and do the tours.
We arrived before book in time and the staff went out their way to help ,storing our bags,letting us use the facilities to freshen up and then sort out parking for our hired car.
Rooms were bigger than we expected,clean and with a safe,fridge,small but enough kitchen area,ample storage space ...we had won a coconut with this choice.
Area was ideal for what we wanted to do.....visit Miami Ink( street behind us) .....visit Dash -the Khardasian shop ( street behind us) ..and with kids in the party ,a visit to the beach was a street the other way in front of this place...
Excellent location .
Thanks for all your help.
A great place that we as a family ,would happily recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mark, thank you for the great review and the details on your room amenities,!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Most of the staff was very helpful & pleasant. The room & beds were clean. There was plenty of room, however no place to store your clothes. you had to leave them in the suitcase. For that reason, they should have 2 suitcase stands, when 2 people are staying.There was some mold around the bathroom window in the shower. Overall I would def recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Karen for the great review - we have come across guests in the past who have requested more storage options/space in their rooms, we are currently working on finding the most efficient furniture that we could to add to the room to help solve this problem, I expect this to no longer be an issue in the very near future! Once again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would say average to very good .The staff was friendly, the room was clean, it was like a studio apartment. the extras you got from SOSB were:
Quiet area yet close to everything!
You could walk to post office, shops, and the beach,
Subway was right next store, the room came with a refrigerator and freezer! that was a bonus on the hot Miami nights.
I think its a great choice for the price, I have stayed at 10 or so different places on SB so check my other reviews. the only thing negative was one morning there was a lot of moving furniture or something going on above us, guests? housekeeping? and there was construction next store, but that is not this hotels fault. CONS: no fitness center or pool some people don't use those anyway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chantesinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, being such a seasoned traveler like yourself we appreciate knowing that we made a positive impact on your opinion of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was wonderful! We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms are a great size, clean and has everything you need.The location was in the middle of all the things south beach has to offer. The price was great and the staff was helpful and very welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Cant wait to come next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is perfect ! The location is a stones throw away from Ocean Drive & right in the heart of Collins Ave. The rooms are just like they are in the pictures (i had room 15) & they are clean, tidy & very well priced. Staff & service was excellent. Cannot recommend it enough & will be staying here again in May 2014 !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareBear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Suites on South Beach Miami, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Clare,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#105 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#127 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#96 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#89 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites on South Beach Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites on South Beach Miami

Property: Suites on South Beach Miami
Address: 1330 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4209
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites on South Beach Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Suites on South Beach Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites On South Beach Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel On South Beach Miami
Suites South Beach
On South Beach Miami Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing