We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpectedly one of the world's best”
Review of New World Symphony

New World Symphony
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
South Beach Arts and Culinary Tour in Miami
Ranked #29 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New World Symphony (NWS), America's Orchestral Academy, opened its newly-designed 'campus' designed by renowned architect Frank Gehry, in February 2011 (previously, the NWS was located in the Lincoln Theater on Lincoln Road). NWS's new home is a $160 million building with attached garage located in a 2.5 acre park at the corner of 17th Street and Washington Avenue in Miami Beach.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“unexpectedly one of the world's best”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I miss the old laid back theater and moderate prices. this city couldn't afford a professional full time orchester & suddenly all this money is avialable for world class architecture of the new hall & high price tiks - before we recycled gems that we had ... if can catch a concert u will get world class performance & architecture: not 2 B missed

Helpful?
Thank friedkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    43
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I feel we are blessed to have the NWS here in Miami. It is great to watch these talented young musicians in the beautiful venue designed by Frank Gehry. No matter where you sit you will have a great experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank patrickce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great evening out.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at New World Symphony. We stayed outside in the park, for free. We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and excellent sound from the speakers as well as the education we got about the writer of the symphony ahead of actually hearing it. I would suggest grabbing some dinner at nearby Lincoln Rd and enjoying a picnic with your friends or loved ones as you enjoy the concert!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BRRiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great place to spend part of an evening out. The facilities are modern and the space where the symphony performs is small and intimate so you get a different experience. We attended a night where they performed part of three different concertos and the conductor gave an introduction and explanation of each before they started, so it was very entertaining and educational.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 22travelMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Building only”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is amazing as you would expect from Frank Gehry.
We missed out on a concert but did the conducted tour which was so interesting .
To hear the reasons behind the design of this fabulous building made it all come alive.
We had 10 minutes in the concert hall which was great as we heard a bit of a rehearsal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Docent at New World Symphony, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We're so happy that you enjoyed your docent-led tour of the wonderful Frank Gerhry New World Symphony (NWS) building! NWS is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, and there is no better way to appreciate the significant contribution that NWS has had on the Miami Beach cultural scene over the past quarter century than to attend an indoor concert, an outdoor "Wallcast" or to go on a guided tour of the building. Guided tours are conducted, by appointment only, on Tuesdays & Thursdays at 4 pm and Fridays & Saturdays at noon, at a nominal cost of $5 per person. Book online or at the box office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New World Symphony also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to New World Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing